We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pelican Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pelican Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Pelican Lodge and were blown away by this out of the way lodge. The "tents" were actually stone cabins with thatched roofs. It is brand new and very nicely decorated with a verandah and views to the lake. The guided walk to the lake was very informative if a little pricey (along with the rest of tourism in Kenya). The meals were fresh and tasty and they managed my gluten free diet well. Would definately reccomend this place, about 68kms I think to Lake Nakuru which we did in a day trip don't miss that, its amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    14
    3
    9
See reviews for
33
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This AMAZING Lodge is tucked away close to Lake Elementaita, the drive there cheats you until you step into this hidden paradise. Once there, we were served some chilly drinks can i just say yuuuum yuuuum yummmy - what a way to receive your guests. Very friendly faces from the door and lunch was ready waiting for us. I must say great planning in advance which means we were never hungry, every meal was served at the specific time we requested. Reliable staff who went the extra mile to make us feel at home. Although overwhelmed by many other guests they still managed to wait on all of us.
The rooms were MAGICAL the whole lodge interior design is to die for!! Very vibrant and unique pieces. We learnt that most of the furniture was actually locally made. Even the complex itself - kudos to the owners for giving the local people jobs and an income by using their skills. Seriously i wish i could take the room home with me, the bed was SOOOOOO comfortable and the outside showers were amazing!!! There is a first to everything here.
The food was lovely and the drinks prices were actually affordable unlike other lodges i have visited near that area.
OHHHH how could i forget the breathe taking sunset - warm lavender, the orange glow and the blushing clouds canvasing the sky. Sadly we learnt a bit too late that they do arrange for romantic dinner's at the shore of Lake Elementaita. This i have to do, so Pelican Lodge look out for me, i shall be back soon. Keep up the magnificent work.

Room Tip: You have to get the honeymoon suites. The sunset and sunrise from those rooms (3&4) AMAZZZZING...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BreeBree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely piece of paradise with a lovely ambiance over looking the lake. The food was good and service was quite fast. The rooms were impressive, elegantly designed, very comfortable and homely. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a luxurious out town holiday spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magana_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

what a beautiful getaway for any occasion. I went there for my birthday surprise and wasnt i wowed by the whole beauty of the lake and the lodge. magnificent scenerios and 1st class rooms, i stayed at the honeymoon suites and believe me it was worth the money. ill defiently make an effort to make it my once in a year location.

Room Tip: select the honeymoon suites u will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEMwangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at pelican was luxurious. The checking in was so professional and fast. The meals were great but unfortunately no much choice. The waitress milka was very attentive and friendly she took great care of us. The highlight of our visit was having breakfast by the lake. That was a beautiful experience. Our room had a magnificent view of the lake.The decor in the room was warm and cosy. The bed very comfortable. The outside shower was quite an experience. I would certainly recommend this lodge. For improvement though - breakfast ends at 0900 which is too early and dinenr ends at 2100h which again is too early. an extra hour would do!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in Pelican Lodge in Aug. 2012. It is near to the beautiful lake and in the night the atmosphere is really nice and romantic, the rooms were good and big, my room had an open shower which was amazing to me. food wise it's ok not much variety, but location and hotel rooms are excellent.

Amar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but still try to go for Room 1 to 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmarWakharkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

After booking on phone and via email in advance and getting a confirmation, for a night at Pelican lodge, we excitedly headed out to Lake Elementaita early that morning. halfway along the journey, i get a phone call.... with the same lady telling us that they have "given out our room".. Really?? It was very disappointing. I would never even consider recommending them again. Lucky for us, we are locals and we were able to keep going and find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank mamatotoNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
23.6 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
2.9 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Lake Elementaita
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Lodge

Property: The Pelican Lodge
Address: Nakuru - Nairobi Rd, Lake Elementaita 00502 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an Exclusive, Luxurious and Outstanding lodge with ten cottages six doubles and four twins, three of them with outdoor showers. Located at the shows of Lake Elementaita, each cottage has a large balcony and a spectacular view of the lake. Overlooking Soysambu Conservancy. The sunset view from the lodge is a site to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pelican Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing