We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari stay at Lake Elmenteita” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safari stay at Lake Elmenteita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went on a safari trip with my son . The cost was approximately $3000.00 each and was obtained from Lion World Travel. We had no idea what to expect as to lodging, toilet facilities or food. When we first got there and saw the facility we were amazed at how luxurious it felt. Our group had 16 people and each person had their own lodge. People who talk about safaris often use the word tent. The only way this lodging could be called a tent is because the walls and ceiling were canvas. It was large and spacious. We did not have to live out of our duffle bags as expected. The dresser had ample hanging and shelf space for both of us so we were able to unpack for our 2 night stay. The bathroom was nicer and larger than my master bathroom in my home condo. The shower was as large as a walk in closet and had 2 shower heads. There was normal toilet facility and plenty of hot water. We also had wifi capability. The common area for dining was beautiful with ample seating and overlooking a grassy area and the nearby lake. We got to see several variety of birds and monkeys while dining. The food was good as well as the selection. The service was very attentive and polite. We had a wonderful stay, and would like to have a similar experience here in the U.S. Forgot to mention the bedroom: 2 very comfortable beds surrounded by mosquito nets. Loved the experience!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
95
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is not what I imagined a Safari camp would be like. This is high end rustic camping. An very large "lobby"/seating/bar area. Dining either in or outdoors and the tents are in some cases bigger than the average NYC apartment.
The pathway to the tents is paved stone and lovely plants and flowers. The camp is at a fairly high elevation level so it may take a while to catch your breath.
The food offerings are quite good, not as extensive as Nairobi but still very good offerings and 4 courses at dinner. Excellent service at all meals.

The camp has two massage rooms and also offers its own game drives. We took a night drive and I have to say while interesting it was not very productive as to finding animals. The spa however was well priced and helped reduce the knots after driving around rugged roads!

The entry way of the rooms/tent provides a large armoire ( ck the bottom drawers for add'l blankets and pillows). The bathroom is fantastic with a separate toilet area an enormous shower and double sinks.
The beds while ok could use with a change of mattress however the view from the bedrooms of the lake is lovely.
Turn down service is now an anomaly at most US hotels so imagine my surprise at getting it in Kenya. Now they do not put chocholate on your pillow but they turn down the bed, set out slippers and a mat and set up the mosquito netting.

Lala Salama!

Room Tip: if you have a choice of rooms stay closer to the reception area as the further rooms can be a trek e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Spending three nights in this serene luxury camp was an unforgettable experience! After a long and tiring journey from nairobi all the way to the Soysambu conservancy we were welcomed into this little corner of paradise by a cool and refreshing glass of juice which we cherished after our long journey. The view from the reception was beautiful. In the distance, on the other side of the lake we could see a hill which was in the form of a sleeping warrior(as it was famously called). The rooms were clean and were located to give us an opportunity to spot a few flamingoes. The cuisine was excellent and was topped with an assortment of breads ( which i enjoyed thoroughly).
As always serena welcomed us into nature and wildlife. keep it up Serena!!! great place to visit as a family... dont forget to carry you cameras! HAPPY TRAVELLING!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShankVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This Camp is total class. The Food, the style, the looks the staff, the bushes, everything. Really nice. i enjoyed my weekend with great friends. The reception was lovely. Pleanty of Rangers and security.
It has a Fine pool, 5 star meal on course. you get to enjoy the great wines, fresh cuts of beef, Chicken, Turkey, Lamb, Fish... blah blah whatever.. There are game rides during the day, or nights. Nature walks... wow wow wow. The rooms are Amazing - best as a couple :-) amazing shower, storage space, Wifi for internet........... just get there and discover it all.

Room Tip: Make sure you carry your ear plugs. The wind blows to hard and it can deter good sleep. Ensure you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeueAngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Camping!! Oh no this is not camping this is the height of luxury.
We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. The service was as alway very good which seems to be the standard for Kenya and the room was totally spotless.
Now I never thought I would say this about Kenya but the food was absolutely fabulous as good if not better than I have had anywhere in the world which when you consider where you are is unbelievable so if someone from Serena hotels reads this give the chef a pay rise, please.
I have attached a couple of pictures of our "tent" no one has tried to make them look better they are my pictures they are what it is like.
Ok game viewing is not great but in every other way it's a great place to stay and you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
271 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Without a doubt, one of the very best places that I've stayed during my entire life. Each room, if you could call it that, was an extremely large tent that contained an entry room, bathroom and huge bathroom. The 4-poster bed was large, firm, contained numerous pillows along with its own mosquito net that kept you safe from flies. The shower had two nozzles, one that looked like a normal shower plus one in the ceiling which was awesome; water seemed to rain down on you from atop. Toilet had its own separate room. Turndown service included putting a hot water bottle inside the bet to ensure you it was warm when you initially got in. Upon arriving with a safari group, we were met with champagne and orange juice. Wow...what a start. The main lodge was very opulent with small pools that contained local vegetation; they were beautiful. Food served was out of this world; we commented upon it for days afterwards. You ordered the four-course meals from a menu, then sat back to enjoy. Portions were properly proportioned so you were full, but never stuffed. We felt extremely safe since they had security guards walking around at all times looking out for wild animals. We thoroughly enjoyed our two-day stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonRedSoxFan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Peaceful location near the lake shore, the tented rooms are beautifully designed. You feel like you are outside, but have all the conveniences of a luxury hotel room. The set menus are good, not great, but we wish we had stayed an extra day here rather than at Lake Bogoria. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonScotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
5.0 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
19.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pelican Lodge
The Pelican Lodge
#5 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Property: Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing