We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a tent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed two nights here on our safari, this was not what we booked but we were told that we had been upgraded. Needless to say it was the most luxurious tent I have ever stayed in.
Large entrance hall with wardrobe ,dressing table ,cupboard with tea/ coffee making facilities and a plate of fruit.
Huge bathroom with twin sinks,large separate toilet and a double shower room and a hair drier.
Large bedroom with four poster bed, desk and chaise lounge and double doors leading to patio with two reclining chairs.
The mosquito net around this bed was the easiest to find your way out of on the whole trip.
The tents are spread along a path so if you have difficulty walking best to ask for one close to reception .
Choice of food from the four course menu cooked to your requirements.the staff here are very attentive and the food delicious.
Beautiful views and grounds.
We would definitely stay here again.
Only negative was the bumpy road to get to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joolsnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

HUGE! Massive bathroom with double shower, 4 poster bed big enough for 4 people! Terrific level of service from the lovely friendly staff, great food, peaceful surroundings, a hot water bottle popped in your bed at night. Good base fro visiting Lake Nakura and Lake Navasha

Please Visit.... 28% of the world population of Flamingoes show it's a great place to be, they can't all be wrong!

Room Tip: We were in 5 but I think they were all much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddyjennifluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Uniquely situated on the shoreline of sapphire-blue Lake Elmenteita where hundreds of thousands of birds congregate, the small and exclusive Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp opened in July 2011. This area of breath-taking beauty, also home to many rare species of animals, is less than two hours’ drive from Nairobi. Evocatively styled to echo the area’s rich history, the camp blends aristocratic elegance with modern luxury and will offer cuisine and service of fittingly high standards.

The nomadic Maasai had passed through the area for centuries and the name Elmenteita derives from the Maasai Ol muteita for “place of dust”. Then in 1897 one of the first pioneers arrived, after walking over 1,000 km south from Berbera on the coast of Somalia. This was the third Baron Delamere, who dedicated his foresight and fortune to pioneering farming methods in the Rift Valley. He moved to Elmenteita in 1906, where he further experimented with sheep and cattle ranching, advised and assisted by the Maasai - with whom he had a great rapport. He named his farm Soysambu, Maasai for “striated rock” - Sambu is also a cow colour.

Today’s Soysambu is a 48,000 acre Wildlife Conservancy, also a RAMSAR site - a wetland of international importance. The alkaline lake’s rocky islands are the only East African nesting site for great white pelicans, while its algae and plankton provides food for vast flocks of flamingos and a multitude of other waterfowl, many of them rare. The Conservancy protects over 450 bird species and 15,000 wild animals. Rothschild giraffes have found a safe haven for breeding here, while a diverse variety of terrain shelters many species - from herds of giant elands to tiny dik-diks and cliff-dwelling klipspringers. Night game-drives offer a unique opportunity to spot nocturnal creatures including the curious-looking aardvark and elusive leopard. Walking is also allowed, with chances to experience the miracles of the bush close-up. Atmospheric bush dinners beneath the stars and spectacular sun downers over this geologically fascinating part of the Great Rift Valley are a few more of the camp’s exciting activities. Lake Nakuru National Park and Kariandusi prehistoric site are also nearby.

* Please note that access to the camp is only through Reservation or prior arrangement with management.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located around the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband suggested Serena Elementaita for a 2day trip and later decided to take us there for my birthday on the last weekend of June. Now, as a rule, I DON'T CAMP. But this was nothing like camping!! It was excellent!!! The hotel had an awesome pool, great food and stunning scenery.
By far the best thing about it was the room! We got the Flamingo suite which came with a living room, 2 bathrooms, walk in closet, huge balcony and bedroom and an out of this world jacuzzi which I could simply not get get out of for hours.... not to mention the amazing direct and close up views of the lake. The room was surely exquisite. I almost didn't believe I was in Kenya :).
The food was cooked well but a small complaint I have was the thrice a day set menu. It would be good to have a small buffet at least once a day for variety. Also it can get a chilly in the evenings so difficult to dress up fancy :-). Also huge numbers of lake flies in the evening (but not in the room) which I guess is part of the camping experience. Its also quite a drive from Nairobi- actually closer to Nakuru than Naivasha.
The staff are very helpful, polite and prompt- especially with our requests and nothing was too much of a bother for them. A gentleman who supervises the dining area (sorry but for the life of me I just cannot recall his name) was very friendly and always asked us whether we were enjoying our stay.
All in all-the best birthday gift ever, the best luxury camp I've been to so far.

Room Tip: Flamingo Suite all the way!! The best room in the camp by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 6, 2 parents and 4 nearly adult children stayed at this camp for 2 nights. this was the 3rd of our 4 camps on our safari and my least favourite. However this is really only personal preference. the camp is of a high luxurious standard and the staff friendly and welcoming and the food great. I prefer a smaller more intimate experience and this was more hotel like. Lake nukuru is rated for their flamingos or which there were not many and the rhinos which we was plenty. The camp is also much newer than the others we stayed at with a lovely pool area.

Room Tip: its a hike to room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel28120527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This luxury tented camp is a great place. Accomodation is luxury, people are friendly. The food, buffet style, is OK but the same as everywhere. In the evening , but not at night , the frogs can make an incredible noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the camp and it exceeded all our expectations. We have been to other luxury camps and some were very nice, but this property is the best we've experienced. The "tents" were like 5 star luxury suites; very well appointed, amazing bathrooms, patios overlooking the lake, etc. The dining facilities and common lounge were similarly luxurious and classy, food was great and service from everyone was first rate. There was a nice pool area, away from the other common areas, which was well used by the few children there. (It was just far enough away from the lounge & dining room that we didn't hear the kids playing.) There was 1 massage therapist on the property and both my wife and I booked a service. The massages were very good. We drove to Lake Nakuru national park which was approx 30 minutes away. I had thought that we would have been closer to the game drive, but the quality of the accommodation much more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
9.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
911 reviews
5 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
80 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
2.1 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sirville Lake Elementaita Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range: $478 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing