We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury camping is the only way to camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband suggested Serena Elementaita for a 2day trip and later decided to take us there for my birthday on the last weekend of June. Now, as a rule, I DON'T CAMP. But this was nothing like camping!! It was excellent!!! The hotel had an awesome pool, great food and stunning scenery.
By far the best thing about it was the room! We got the Flamingo suite which came with a living room, 2 bathrooms, walk in closet, huge balcony and bedroom and an out of this world jacuzzi which I could simply not get get out of for hours.... not to mention the amazing direct and close up views of the lake. The room was surely exquisite. I almost didn't believe I was in Kenya :).
The food was cooked well but a small complaint I have was the thrice a day set menu. It would be good to have a small buffet at least once a day for variety. Also it can get a chilly in the evenings so difficult to dress up fancy :-). Also huge numbers of lake flies in the evening (but not in the room) which I guess is part of the camping experience. Its also quite a drive from Nairobi- actually closer to Nakuru than Naivasha.
The staff are very helpful, polite and prompt- especially with our requests and nothing was too much of a bother for them. A gentleman who supervises the dining area (sorry but for the life of me I just cannot recall his name) was very friendly and always asked us whether we were enjoying our stay.
All in all-the best birthday gift ever, the best luxury camp I've been to so far.

Room Tip: Flamingo Suite all the way!! The best room in the camp by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandVaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family of 6, 2 parents and 4 nearly adult children stayed at this camp for 2 nights. this was the 3rd of our 4 camps on our safari and my least favourite. However this is really only personal preference. the camp is of a high luxurious standard and the staff friendly and welcoming and the food great. I prefer a smaller more intimate experience and this was more hotel like. Lake nukuru is rated for their flamingos or which there were not many and the rhinos which we was plenty. The camp is also much newer than the others we stayed at with a lovely pool area.

Room Tip: its a hike to room 19
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel28120527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This luxury tented camp is a great place. Accomodation is luxury, people are friendly. The food, buffet style, is OK but the same as everywhere. In the evening , but not at night , the frogs can make an incredible noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sreinyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the camp and it exceeded all our expectations. We have been to other luxury camps and some were very nice, but this property is the best we've experienced. The "tents" were like 5 star luxury suites; very well appointed, amazing bathrooms, patios overlooking the lake, etc. The dining facilities and common lounge were similarly luxurious and classy, food was great and service from everyone was first rate. There was a nice pool area, away from the other common areas, which was well used by the few children there. (It was just far enough away from the lounge & dining room that we didn't hear the kids playing.) There was 1 massage therapist on the property and both my wife and I booked a service. The massages were very good. We drove to Lake Nakuru national park which was approx 30 minutes away. I had thought that we would have been closer to the game drive, but the quality of the accommodation much more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for a work retreat. The camps are not your average tents They are luxurious with rain shower and a bathroom the size of an average bedroom. The bedroom is huge with a nice outdoor patio.

Service is excellent and every detail is taken care of. You can always expect quality service and luxury at Serena group of hotels and this one does not disappoint.

The bush dinner was entertaining and the rest of the meals were great as well. We had enough privacy to hold our meetings. Lake Elmenteita is nearby and you can see the Flamingoes during season. At night we heard the grunting of hippos nearby as they come out to feed after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for campus numbered 1-10 if you want to be closer to the lake and get a view of the flamingoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Elementaita Serena is really worth a visit. Lovely setting on the shores of Lake Elementaita. Beautifully designed camp, spacious, tasteful, luxurious tents, excellent food and ever attentive service. A highly recommended get away, perfect for birding and wonderfully relaxing.

Room Tip: The Flamingo suite is absolutely stunning ... But the standard rooms are all well positioned, simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We are Kenya residents and visit the Elementaita area a lot. The Serena camp was lovely - beautiful tents, good food and service, and lovely location. We will definitely go back. I took a beautiful morning horseback ride around the lake. I would say only two drawbacks. At night you can hear the traffic from the road, not a big deal, but reminds you that you are close to civilization. Second is a bigger deal. The pool is lovely and FREEZING.... (Very common in Kenya). Come on, Serena, get some solar panels and heat the pool up a bit. You can afford it and it would make it more pleasant.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
9.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
917 reviews
5 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
80 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
2.1 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eagles Point Camp
Eagles Point Camp
#5 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range: $462 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing