We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful camp, lovely location but disorganized service. Perhaps still undergoing teething problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful camp, lovely location but disorganized service. Perhaps still undergoing teething problems.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The camp is beautiful and nicely situated by lake elementaita. It is surprising that the camp is not a little closer to the lake as that would really enhance the views and beauty factor. The food is good but the service quite disjointed and slow. The staff are friendly, but seem to lack some training. The breakfast buffe was very disappointing - but the next mornings a la carte breakfast was nice! The little dinner tents are also very bare and isolated from other guests. Our first dinner had in the lobby/bar tent had much more atmosphere.
The pool area is lovely.

I did most definitely enjoy my stay but was surprised at some of the gaps seeing as it is an expensive luxury camp.

Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikilost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello kikilost

Many thanks for the feedback. Your concerns have been shared with Operations and the Camp Manager and will be addressed.

With regards the position of the camp, the site was chosen in an area which minimizes on any environmental impact. Lake Elmenteita is a wetland of international importance supporting a significant habitat for biological diversity.

The pool is indeed a wonderful area…. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    34
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
98
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed as a foursome for two nights at the start of our safari. Beautifully laid out and the rooms were enormous and very well equipped. The company we deal with, Wildlife Safari, Nairobi, had arranged, in secret, for a birthday cake for one of our group to be delivered to his room. Very impressed with the arrangements. You can't get right down to the lake but you can still be close enough to see the wildlife. The view from the seating area was glorious. It's more of a hotel than a bush camp. The service was exemplary, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I recommend it, if you like a hotel in the wild. Possibly not for avid bush dwellers but it was fine for staying in on one's way to the real bush.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you can cope with a bit of a hike from the lounge area. I would have chosen near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed one night here during our 4 night safari. It really was wonderful. . Immaculately clean, gorgeous food and the tents are full of luxury. It really is a special place. I must just mention the special little touches like. . Bringing you a hot waterbottle for the bed. . And that was just one of many. . It's a must!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was an amazing hotel in tents. The Accommodation including the communal lounge is beautiful and immaculate. Looks like a tent...feels like a hotel.

Pool was stunning and service was good. Rooms were huge (for a tent). Food was fantastic and 5 courses for each meal!

Just a few niggles....the food was amazing but wasn't always exactly what you ordered...pancakes and honey (with no honey), tomatoes instead of beans...that kind of thing...Wake up calls not at the right time (15 -30 mins late or early)...There is also a faint bit of road noise that you can subtly hear late at night...(petty I know)...but this is not a cheap hotel and these things can make a difference

But this is a really special experience and I have attached some pics that I hope show it off.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, Director of Sales at Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear SeaSpies,

Thank you for your review from your visit to the Sweetwaters Tented Camp dated September 26, 2012. We have forwarded your review to the management and our apologies for any inconveniences caused.

We also look forward to hosting you again at the Sweetwaters Tented Camp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

most glamour "camping" ever! the main "tent" was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of the lake. our tent was large and comfortable and quiet. the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was enormous. we ate extremely well and were well taken care of by the staff. the location is pretty far off the main road and in the middle of a nature reserve, which made for an extra relaxing experience. i wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was the best experience I had on our safari as far as accommodations went. The tents are better than a hotel room...very roomy, clean, the grounds are amazing, and the food was a standout. A truly remarkable place that surprised us. Calm, luxurious, and attention to detail are a few of the words I would describe the camp. Yes, it is a little spendy, but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great weekend getaway from Nairobi. Enjoyed the game drive in Soysambu nearby. Amazing sight of flamingos nesting and pelicans. A true nature bird paradise. Ask for the first suite next to the lake. It has then best sights. Food very exceptional. Swimming pool nothing special but this is a bird paradise not a swimming adventure.

Room Tip: Great for a relaxing weekend. Make sure to get a game drive and enjoy then wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
9.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
5.0 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
19.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Property: Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing