We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCEPTIONAL LUXURY AND GOURMET PARADISE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
WINDSOR,UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL LUXURY AND GOURMET PARADISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

My partner and I have just had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful new tented lodge.

The Flamingo Suite is absolutely magnificent- every detail has been thought of from the kingsize four poster bed, the jacuzzi and double walk in shower to the large secluded balcony overloooking the Lake with flamingos and an array of wildlife in your direct view. The attention to detail and capturing of the colonial era is perfect !

The added bonus to this sublime luxury is the dining experience with every one of the four courses of all our lunches and dinner being absolutely superb..

We were fortunate to see rhinos/ lions/ buffalo / jane cat/ Rothschild giraffes and an abundance of zebra/ pelicans/ flamingos etc. The other advantage is that this splendid tended camp is a mere 2 hour drive from Nairobi .

We will definitely be back and can not recommend this new Camp enough !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    32
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
95
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived late evening after a visit to Naivasha en route from Nairobi.

Our room was massive with a wonderful four poster bed and a chaise overlooking the lake.
It also had a large old writing desk which was perfect for my wife who is a writer!

the bathroom too was tastefully done and imaginative with 2 sinks a separate WC and a shower room with 2 different type of shower heads. One a rain shower and one a regular!

The space within was also large and allowed 2 people to use the bathroom simultaneously without getting in the way or obstructing privacy. Good!!!

The common areas such as the lobby,dining and bar where again spacious and loaded with old artefacts from the British Era...very interesting.

Food was good and vegetarian options were very welcome.

Overall I was impressed with the construction of the place, but as a sanctuary it did not do much for me. The evening game drive was great for birds and buffalo and many types of antelope but is not as exciting as Nakuru or Naivasha. This is definitely a good place to relax between Samburu and wherever else one might head down south from there.

Staff is very friendly and go out of the way to help so this is definitely a plus in their favour.

I would begin a safari with this place or use this as a stop over from North to South.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our whole experience at Serena can be coined up in one word - "bliss". This is one outlet that does not disappoint. From the sheer luxury in the lounge and dining experience to the comfort in the tents. Lovely setting, amazing double-head shower with double sink bathroom, super king size four poster beds, exquisite paintings, beautifully crafted hardwood furniture, spacious verandah's and lovely lawn lay out. I am sure that as the gardens mature it will even be more beautiful. the food and service was also superbly prepared and served using the very best. The sleep quality was second only to my own bed at home! Comfortable pillows and choice of linen complements the whole package. Ideal getaway for couples.Serena you have have another feather in your cap. Well done!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake though the quieter ones are no's 1 to 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Caroline294207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Tent and luxury are not two words that normally go together but somehow, the Serena has but them together superbly. Some of the winners: hard wood floors, beautiful hand crafted furniture, palatial bathrooms with double shower heads, loads of hot water (thanks to solar!), well designed interiors (e.g. amazing art), exquisite gardens, exceptional levels of service, excellent food, abundant bird life. With only 24 tents, it was also very quiet. All in all, we were blown away.

Room Tip: The Flamingo Suite has the best view of the lake, the flamingos and the Conservancy. We stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fqtrvlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel had only been open a few weeks. Its the most amazing hotel that I have ever stayed in. The rooms were fabulous, lots of space. The food was by the nicest that we had in are 2 week time in Kenya. The staff were very helpful. The extra attention to detail was amazing. Shame that we weren't staying longer or that the hotel didn't follow us from Kenya.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

This property had only been open for 6 weeks when we stayed, but they have ironed out most of the problems. Situated right on Lake Elmentaita in a private reserve which means there are no hordes of tourist buses chasing the animals! 24 Bandas, beautifully appointed, big comfortable bed with mosquito net. Service good, staff very attentive, food good with a small choice in the daily menu. Good also for the independent traveller who wants to explore the reserve in their own car.

Room Tip: all rooms the same, spreading away from the main part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
5.0 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
19.0 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
The Sleeping Warrior Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pelican Lodge
The Pelican Lodge
#5 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp

Property: Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Address: Soysambu Conservancy, Lake Elementaita, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing