We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a location..loved it..great choice by Imazine Africa”
Review of Sunbird Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Elementaita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunbird Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“what a location..loved it..great choice by Imazine Africa”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

just returned from a memorable Kenya trip; we( me and my wife) booked through 'Imagine Africa' for the whole all-inclusive tour; so first thanks will go to them for this excellent choice; the lodge located by the side of Nairobi-nakuru highway; its just about 30-40 minutes drive to the famous Lake Nakuru; the lodge starting from the reception will get more than 5*; excellent hospitality till the end; each room is located on top of rocky slope facing Lake Elementaita, so no one can complain; it was an amazing experience to see the lake even when lying on the bed; the front side of the room is covered with wall to wall big glass door so when you push the curtain away ,its beautiful scenery from your room; the lodge is located in a vast area on a rocky top with full of green, just by the side of the lake; deers are walking around; the total atmosphere was excellent; all the facilities in the rooms are available; very comfortable bed ( feeling like Maharajas due to the stylish net), spacious room and hot and cold water all the time ;the staffs are excellent with security persons are present at night and always they show the path with torch-light while we are coming back to our room in the night from dinner as all the rooms are individually located; the food was also superb with ample choices; we are extremely happy and will stay again there if we visit that side of Kenya again

Room Tip: all rooms are good but if you have problem with knee then ask for a room close and same level to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayasish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    70
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
86
85
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Only went for lunch, chose from the snack/a la carte. Food took a while as they were busy but waiter warned us of this fact. View is stunning. Lunch very good and management kindly showed us their rooms - shall definitely be back to try them out. Definitely the 'wow' factor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Approaching this lodge from the busy Nairobi-Nakuru highway, one is suddenly in a different world. The reception area, bar and dining room come first, at the top of a rocky slope looking west to the Rift Valley wall and across Lake Elementeita, one of the shallow salt lakes in this part of the Rift Valley. Carefully graded paths and steps lead down to the cottages below, each one with its own view over the lake. There is also a swimming pool. Rooms have big beds with tent-like mosquito nets, flush toilets and hot showers, beautifully decorated in a range of earth tones. There are lots of birds around the cottages and on the terrace outside the dining room, and we were lucky to see two hippos far below in the lake (full of fresh water in March 2013). My only reservation would be for people who are not 100% mobile on their legs - the walk between dining room/bar and cottages is quite steep. But the staff are very friendly and helpful and had huge umbrellas at the ready when we arrived in a rain storm!

Room Tip: Depends on whether you want to be higher up the slope (less distance to walk) or lower down which mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This lodge has very comfortable rooms, beautiful views of the lake from almost everywhere. The service was great and the people friendly. The manager of the lodge mailed our postcards for us and they arrived.
We stayed here for two nights so that we could visit Nakuru National park and the location was perfect for that.
We had one complaint. The cottages are two levels and the ones on the lower level where we stayed had many steps to get up to the lodge. We are older and we found the steps to be difficult. If this is a problem, you may want to make that you can get a cottage on the higher level.

Room Tip: The cottages on the lower level require climbing many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Out on the shores of lake elementaita past naivasha town you find this new Jewel that remains so secluded and private, great for honeymoon..Had an amazing time, the service is great, friendly staff, amazing food and the views!!!!!!! woooaah! the cottages well secluded for privacy each facing the amazing lake.. Thanks to kichakani Sunset

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Sunbird Lodge as a group of two families. Everything about this lodge was magical! Service was outstanding, the staff are friendly and so happy to help out, food was superb, rooms were clean, inviting and well appointed! Can't say enough about this place. It was the best place wee stayed during our two week holiday to Kenya. Kudos to the staff and management.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Foodieant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The views and the garden of this nice lodge are impressive. The rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, and really comfortable. The lady which takes care of the spa is so nice, and the spa treatments are quite cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosPis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Elementaita
9.8 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
831 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
76 reviews
18.5 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
Lake Elmenteita Serena Camp
#1 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
123 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Pelican Lodge
The Pelican Lodge
#5 of 9 in Lake Elementaita
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Lodge

Property: Sunbird Lodge
Address: Off Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Nakuru, Lake Elementaita 20119, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Elementaita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lake Elementaita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbird Lodge, an eco-friendly luxury lodge is located in the Great Rift Valley, one of the natural wonders of the world. We are less than 127 km (1 ½ hours) from Nairobi and a few minutes off the new and superb Nairobi – Nakuru highway on a very good, private access road at the shore of Lake Elementaita, bordering and overlooking Soysambu Conservancy. Located on private land there are no park or conservation fees in addition to our very competitive rates. On excellent roads it is only 20 minutes to the famous Nakuru National Park and only a few minutes to Soysambu Conservancy where you can experience a balloon safari every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunbird Hotel Lake Elementaita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing