We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveler rating
387
53
20
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
387
53
20
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reefs fish sea life muck diving camera room every meal take care wakatobi staff big stuff boat crew remote location bali airport jetty bar buffet style world class restaurant staff ocean front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 478 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

Wakatobi is our favourite resort for so many reasons. Their attention to detail is out of this world. They remember everything from past visits. The picturesque resort has the most beautiful sunsets especially off the pier. They are one of world’s largest privately protected marine reserves so you won’t be disappointed with the diving here. I absolutely love their home reef, it just keeps getting better.
We recently sailed here from Australia which made it our third visit.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank karencS3548PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

I don’t even know where to begin! This place is truly a gem. Everyone was talking about their next trip back before even leaving the resort. I think the only regrets we and others had was not staying long enough and/or not getting to stay on the Pelagian.

The service was absolutely phenomenal. Every single staff member, from gardeners to management worked together to make everyone’s stay the best possible experience. Some of the sweetest and most service oriented people you will ever meet. Our dive guide for the week, Yusuf, was friendly, quick to point out the creatures we otherwise would have missed, figured out what we liked to see and made a point of helping of us have the best possible dive experience. Ybram, the food manager, was quick to help me work with my food allergies and other people who had special diets (gluten free, vegetarian).

The food had excellent variety, with consistent quality, always offering fresh fruit, salad, options to try Indonesian dishes, tasty soups, western comfort food fun surprises, etc.

The water was reverse osmosis so it was so nice not to have to worry about being careful with water constantly.

The dive team was very well organized and the corals and fish truly phenomal. The diving is mainly about corals and small fish so don’t go looking for big creatures- not many of them around typically- but the beautiful vibrant colored corals and number and variety of fish do not disappoint. So many anemones and anemone fish, nudibranchs, lion fish, crocodile fish, butterfly, angel, parrot, grouper, starfish, Christmas tree worms, crabs... We saw our first Pygmy seahorses (several types), a cuttlefish, several two spot lion fish and pipefish, including a very rare one. The house reef is great for both snorkeling and diving- we saw the biggest eel we have ever seen night diving on the house reef and a large day octopus while snorkeling during the day in addition to turtles, lobsters, and lots of fish. The currents can be very strong at times and must be taken into consideration when diving/snorkeling. We didn’t have a lot of experience with currents prior to this but the dive guides were very good about explaining the plan before going down.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and nice. The ocean bungalow had a private hammock and lounge chairs and a porch with couches and beautiful water view. We enjoyed relaxing in our room and wished we had more time to enjoy them. The longhouse has a beautiful view of the sunset so it’s fun to go down and watch it at the end of the dock where they also have a bar.

There are more options for activities besides diving (kite surfing being one of them). We didn’t take advantage of them due to limited time but we saw several people kite surfing and it looked fun.

If you like to wear shoes, you may be disappointed but I personally found the shoeless experience a fun twist and it was actually convenient not to have to wear shoes everywhere when diving.

We didn’t stay on the Pelagian this visit but it is on our list when we return. We got to tour the boat and the rooms are very nice, with a small number of rooms available (10 people max), and the dive sites sound really cool with some muck diving included and some different fish you can’t see at the resort.

It’s pretty special to have such a high quality place so far away from major cities and development. The food was delicious, the rooms were nice, the stars fantastic (do take time to enjoy the stars), the diving incredible and the service excellent. Overall wonderful stay! Can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lorena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

We have just spent a family holiday in the most sumptuous place you can imagine . Everything about Wakatobi for us was perfect. The accommodation was wonderful, the food was great, service levels that where second to none , the conservation of the area was insightful but most of all, the diving was out of this world .

Endless dive sites, incredible corals, amazing minute creatures participating in the beautiful eco systems that keep the coral alive.

As a family of 6, we had 2 guides , ourselves we had Silvia, and the children had Liza. We also dives with Sari and Terry when our normal guides had days off and the transition was seamless . They had been briefed on our likes and ability and nothing changed

As a group we had dived once before, but their patience, care and skill ensured our week was one where our confidence levels in the water soared and our knowledge levels increased dramatically of the environment we were lucky to be in. Both are a fantastic asset to Wakatobi , and

The dive crew were amazing, particularly on dive boat Wakatobi 6. All the gear would be there for you , all washed, prepared and then they helped you into it . At the end of the dive, they would de-rig you in preparation for the next one. Special call out to Ono and Bisria, they where brilliant

In the restaurant, they couldn’t do enough for you . A wonderful buffet every night and real care on trying to deliver vegetarian food for my wife. Every day the excellent front of house, Eko, would double check if their was suitable choice of vegetarian food, and if not , what would my wife like for lunch or dinner. Great service

The concept of Wakatobi is interesting, as it says on the website, you can’t go back in time but you can change now. Educating the local villagers , providing opportunity and education whilst allowing others to enjoy the area is a good balance

I would highly recommend Wakatobi for a diving holiday , stunning location, incredible service but overall super people ensuring you have an incredible experience through your visit

Thank you Wakatobi, it was special

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 66bradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

If you love tropical island holidays, that’s what you’ll get.
We loved Castaway Is in Fiji and wanted something similar. This was better. Food was amazing as was the service and friendliness of the staff. We travelled with three kids ages 10 11 & 12 and we all enjoyed it immensely.
A couple of things to be mindful of - there is no resort swimming pool (unless you have the budget for a villa with a private one) Not an issue for my husband and I as the ocean is just like the pictures.. but the kids would have liked one.
There were some stinging jellyfish about.
There’s not much to do on the island if you don’t want to be in the sea (I had a good book - no TV’s kiddies)
There are little tours you can organise which were fun.
We weren’t diving - just snorkeling but it was still spectacular. The reefs and marine life are world class.
It is very expensive though as you will discover upon enquiring. Getting there involves flying to Bali first then a 2.5 hr charter flight to Tomia where you’ll be transferred by boat.
All in all a lovely holiday, weather was perfect.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rachelbG9404XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

Indonesia dive staff great. Western dive staff are a stuck up group.
The stuck up group manager to make this dive holiday bad. It was an experience hoilday. But it was expensive.
Then the good side, good food, great service, help with transfer, lot of help with booking. All the other key things good or above.
It was a dive holiday, the western staff on the diving just ruined the complete holiday.
I hope that group of dive masters will move on and be replaced with better personal then I would have given the resort 5 stars

Date of stay: June 2019
3  Thank E518WVpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews