We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean accomodations a skip away from Zion!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean accomodations a skip away from Zion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I traveled to southern Utah to experience Zion and Bryce national parks. We stayed at a few different hotels during our trip. We elected to stay in Springdale for its proximity to Zion and for the convenience. Because the shuttle system is in effect until about November, we figured that we might as well take advantage of not having to drive into Zion and stay in Springdale. I cannot imaging how crowded this very small town must be during the high season, but during the shoulder season it was a great place to stay.

The hotel is conveniently located near a bus/Springdale shuttle stop (which is free). The shuttles stop conveniently every 10 minutes. There are some typically touristy shops nearby and a few restaurants including the Pioneer Restaurant right on the property. Plenty to keep someone not interested in hiking occupied for a day. The hotel is adjacent to a ranch(?) with elk and long-horns - you'll hear the elk making very cool Jurassic-park sounding noises throughout the day (and night).

About the hotel - parking was straightforward. Our room was a double on the second floor. We had originally requested a king room, but they were out. The double room would be a tiny bit cramped for 4, but for 2 people, it was perfectly adequate and cozy. Decor was pseudo-rustic - very pleasant and not overdone. The beds were SUPER-comfortable, especially after a long day of hiking. There was a refrigerator and coffee-maker in the room. The desk sells large bags of ice for $1 so keep that in mind if you have a cooler in the trunk. The shower felt GREAT - wonderful water pressure and soft water that leaves you feeling a little slimy afterwards, but refreshed :) Although it was a little too chilly to take advantage of the pool, it was heated. We did use the hot tub which was spacious, clean, and adequately hot! What a gorgeous backdrop for the pool - it would have been nice to have a little more time during our trip to relax and enjoy it. The coffee shop downstairs has internet. We managed to log in from our room at no charge.

The hotel didn't offer a complimentary breakfast, but they did give us a 10% discount card to use at their adjoining restaurant (didn't have breakfast there though) and the coffee shop at the front desk. Dinner at the pioneer restaurant and the mexican place across the street was average. We went to Blondie's next door for an elk burger and a BBQ sandwich special - good. Lunch at the Zion Lodge - overcooked, pricy burger/good salmon burger, long wait (they had just closed down their "faster food" section for the winter) at lunch time, but if you wait until a little later, the line thins. Best idea for lunch is to bring it into the park or take a break from hiking and go into town. Our last dinner was at the Whiptail Grille - slow service but AWESOME FOOD - great outdoor dinner backdrop with the light dimming over the mountains.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. I think we booked the room off of expedia or orbitz and there was a little bit of a discount. I definitely would recommend staying here to visit Zion. We stayed in a hotel in Tropic just outside of Bryce afterwards - I think that it would have been too much to try to tackle Bryce (unless you were only planning a short day visit) from Springdale. Although the drive through Zion is absolutely gorgeous, it takes about 45 minutes at an average pace to get through to the road that connects to Bryce. There were a few B&B's on the east side of the park that may be more convenient if you wanted to stay central to both. There are so many small hotels/motels/B&B's in Springdale and around Bryce that it was easy enough to pack lightly and travel through.

Some other things: We also stayed 2 nights in Kanab at the Best Friends Animal Sanctuary - great place, you can even volunteer if you have the time. On the way to Zion, we stopped in Hurricane and rented a rhino to go off-roading (took off straight from the rental place) and had an amazing time driving through all sorts of desert conditions! Best of all, we did a day of canyoneering through Zion Adventure Company - totally awesome and potentially addictive. Highly recommend them and the sport - even for someone with no experience. Can't wait to do it again! I got sick and missed hiking up Angel's Landing - apparently, not for wussies. My husband LOVED the hike. Because of illness, we elected to wait to do the Narrows since it was a little chilly. That will be our next trip out!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drdonuttail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    463
    169
    54
    45
See reviews for
340
476
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centereach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Good location, nice rooms with good view, 10% off in restaurant with good affordable food, pleasant staff.......very pretty, serene rooms, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYAnnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Good spot to stay in when visiting Zion National Park as it is five minutes drive from the entrance, and also the shuttle buses stop just outside.
Hotel is good quality motel, with a reasonable quality restaurant onsite.
Room is clean, spacious and comfortable.
Check in isn't until 4 so don't get there early.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldglossopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

My Wife and I stayed during our Holiday one night in Pioneer Lodge and were surprised by the atmosphere in the rooms , so nice and warm. It is a gorgeous place to stay and the rooms are very comfortable, have all of the amenities you could need and are well taken care of. The staff is friendly and the location is ideal. The lodge is a very convenient distance from the Zion National Park entrance and is also located near restaurants and shops. All of the rooms are in view of the gorgeous landscape of Zion. If We have in future again a Visit to Zion Park we for sure will have a room in Pioneer Lodge!!.
However , the staff in the restaurant have to learn how to treat guests and how to behave in the restaurant of the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beljaards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We booked the room on a gamble, site unseen, while we were travelling from Ogden, Utah to visit Zion. After arriving, we were highly impressed with the room, the pool/spa and the staff. The location is ideal for accessing the restaraunts in the small town of Springdale and the stops for the park shuttle are close by. For eating, I would recommend the restaurant on site, the Pizza Noodle Company which is right next door and Wildcat Willies which is directly across the street. All in all this is a great place. The only thing I think would be beneficial for Pioneer Lodge to do would be to give free coffee to its registered guests in the morning. Also free access to the internet would be great too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefighter229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

The location of the hotel, the staff, the entire little town is just marvelous. The room was very good and comfortable, the pool is very clean.
Excellent from any point of view, we were impressed.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nonameBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Thank you Holly and cassie for helping make our travels wonderful. The cookies in the coffee shop are wonderful and the choice of a quick healthy breakfast was great. the room s were clean and cozy. With the shuttle service we never had to use our car. The atmosphere at Pioneer Lodge was soo cozy and cassie and Holly did every thing possible to accomodate us. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llesly1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing