We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, cozy rooms and cute little town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge for three nights as we visited Zion National Park. It was a great experience! The rooms are a bit small, but very cozy and comfortable. The rustic decor was very cute. The rooms were clean and included coffeemakers and refrigerators. The location is perfect for visiting Zion -- during the summer there is a free shuttle bus that runs to/from Zion and through the entire small town of Springdale. You can leave your car and hop on the bus to visit the park. There is a swimming pool and hot tub with fantastic views of the Zion cliffs. In the motel lobby, there is a coffee shop/internet cafe that serves Seattles Best coffee. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We tried the Pioneer Restaurant for breakfast and dinner -- it serves adequate food. There are lots of restaurants, shops, and art galleries within walking distance. We will definitely stay there again if we are lucky enough to return to Zion.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmnsahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stay one night at the Pioneer Lodge and my experience was superb. The room was spotless and everything appeared to be new or in fantastic condition. The tables solid wood tables and stands looked like new, and the room dressings were top quality all the way around.The bed was fantastic and the coverings were fluffy and like new. I stayed in room #118, which is arranged in a studio format with a king bed and kitchenette with the bathroom at the far end. A beautiful room in every way. The attached restaurant has very tasty food and primo service. Try the Pioneer Skillet for breakfast....healthy, with massive amounts of steamed veggies and unbelievably good. The gals who run the place do a fantastic job. I did a 5 day trek through Southern Utah and stayed in a different motel/hotel every night. The Pioneer Lodge was, far and away, the best place I experienced. And, the town of Springdale is quaint and relaxing. The small town atmosphere and pleasant people are refreshing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heavyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at Pioneer on our last 2 days of a 10 day busy vacation. This was our relaxing time. This hotel is one of the cutest hotels I have ever stayed in. The room was very comfortable (albeit small for our family of 4 with luggage) and clean. There was a fridge and a microwave - which was unexpected. The pool was spotless with fresh towels at all times of the day. We appreciated the 10% discount off meals when eating at their restaurant too. The front desk staff was helpful and check in/out was a breeze. I enjoyed getting coffee at the coffee shop and sitting on the front deck reading the paper - the view made for a wonderful start to each day!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacylee617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the Pioneer Lodge. We came in late and our key was taped to a side door as they front desk was closed. The room was a bit small for a family of 4, but clean and neat. The kids used the pool and it too was clean and neat. We appreciated the in-town location and breakfast in the cafe. Nice comforters on queen beds and stylish rooms. Loved that the room included a mini fridge and microwave. Smart design of sink and mini-appliances. Convenient and Mom-approved.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbzfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Room was spotless, comfortable and a nice size. Also well kitted out with a fridge and microwave. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great for Zion Park, with great views from the hotel balcony. There are several good restaurants within a very short walk too, although much of Springdale is within walking distance.
Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AScotsmanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Pioneer Lodge while visiting Zion National Park. The location is perfect and the hotel staff very nice and knowledgeable. The rooms are compact, but very clean and well-organized.

The restaurant attached to the hotel was something else. While the food was adequate (nothing special) the service was horrible. We waited 15 minutes for our server to stop chatting with another customer and bring us our bill (she had her back to us the entire time) and finally had to ask the hostess to bring us our bill.

The Pizza and Noodle company just down the street is a terrific casual place for dinner with excellent food and no problem with the service.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed at the Pioneer Lodge this year whilst touring Arizona and Utah, the service was excellent as was the quality of the rooms. The pool was clean and well kept with fresh towels provided for guest use. The view from both rooms and pool was outstanding. In the 3 week touring we are both agreed the The Pioneer Lodge was by far the best accommodations we found and we would whole heartedly recommend it for anybody traveling in the area of the Zion national park.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Goldwingb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
772 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: $87 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing