We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bed bugs bite!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Salt Lake City
1 review
“The bed bugs bite!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 107. I was bitten by bed bugs and am lucky to be having an extreme allergic reaction. Now at least I can lessen the risk of infecting my own home with them.
When I mentioned to the staff that I was bit, they acted like the had never had bed bug complaints (not true- there are several other reviews online) and not only that but they were replacing all the bedding with brand new bedding (that tells me they knew they had a problem).
I actually found 2 of the creatures in my bed so it is a 100% confirmation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolcurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    465
    171
    55
    45
See reviews for
343
478
59
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Pioneer is located right in the heart of Springdale however to far to walk to the park. Right next to numerous restaurants, laundry, ice cream shop, pizza/noodle place, retail stores, art gallery, grocery store. They even have a decent breakfast place that will give you 50% off if stayiing at the hotel. I did not use the pool and hottub so can't really say anything about it. The one thing was the internet connection sucked. I got a connection about 50% of the time and was no rhyme or reason why i could not get on given the fact that they have like 5 different networks based on what my laptop kept pulling up. Good comfy beds, nice showers, bathroom area so cant complain but always do a bit of work when I'm out of town and like to have an internet connection. I guess I just don't understand why in 2014 some place has bad internet.

Great location and great price otherwise and would recommend this place as a budget friendly hotel for travelers. I stayed in the 223 which is on the north side of the hotel that points to the south so not much of a view however my buddies stayed in 201 which faces north/northeast and had stunning views.

I guess the view does not matter though as I am typically out the door in the park canyoneering by 7 and not usually back in the room till after its dark.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edsbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The room was ADVERTISED as a canyon view, spacious room. Not a very good view from room but where the lodge was situated, it was nice. The room was quaint, carpet needed help. Wi fi would not work. The place was within walking distance of shops and restaurants and close to the park. Staff was friendly and check in went smoothly. There were children next door and you could hear right through the walls........Turned the tv up to overcome the loudness. It was an ok place, a little steep on the price for what you get though.

Room Tip: There were a lot of other hotels near by that I think I would have checked out if I would have known
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked a room using a 3rd party vendor ( credit card points) and checked in on a Sunday Night at 5 pm. RSVP and check-in were smooth. Our room, #6, " next to the picnic table", was an oversized closet.

The picnic table was mainly for use by employees taking their break as there was no view except the back of the staircase and plenty of ashtrays and a well used gas grill.

That being said, it was a nice oversized closet. Comfy bed and clean, hot shower. 50% off breakfast was appreciated, food and restaurants in general are rather pricey throughout the whole town.

Parking spots are at a premium, I counted more rooms than parking spots.

Room Tip: don't settle for # 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murfturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We arrived late at about 8:30 and the front desk was already closed. They had left a note on the door with our name and room keys, so we could check ourselves in. The room was comfortable, spacious, and included a small kitchen and nice little desk area. Our only complaint was that the wifi was unreliable. This may not be important to a lot of the visitors coming to Zion, but for us, it was our last chance to sync up before several days of camping in the park. My husband was able to turn on a hotspot with his phone and used that for wifi instead. The location of the hotel is excellent and given the prices for hotels in Springdale, we thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and clean. Loads of towels. Rugs need replacement. Parking spaces too narrow. Attached restaurant very basic, offers 50% off menu price for guests. Close to Zion. Given the comparative price it's a good deal.

Room Tip: Lower level convenient to car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveymarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I drove up to Zion on Thursday. Had a Top Down trip scheduled with gear rentals and shuttles reserved. I got a late lunch at the hotel restaurant and hit bed early for my big hike.

I woke up at 10pm throwing up. I continued with stomach issues until 3am. Dehydrated and weak I was not able to make my hike.

I went down in the morning and informed the manager of my issues and that because of the hotel food I had to cancel my entire trip and felt I should head home. He said that because the room was booked through Priceline he couldn't do anything about it. He told me to call priceline. I called Priceline who called him and asked for a refund and he refused.

I lost the money on the hotel, gear rental, and shuttle because of the Pioneer Lodge restaurant.

I made the 8 hour drive home pulling over 7 times on the interstate to throw up. 36 hours later I'm finally able to hold food down.

Hotel was nice. Management is terrible. Why a manager would not refund a night that wasn't used because of food poisoning from their hotel is way beyond me.

Will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d10de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing