We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stopover.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Stopover.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and clean. Loads of towels. Rugs need replacement. Parking spaces too narrow. Attached restaurant very basic, offers 50% off menu price for guests. Close to Zion. Given the comparative price it's a good deal.

Room Tip: Lower level convenient to car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harveymarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    461
    165
    53
    44
See reviews for
333
475
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I drove up to Zion on Thursday. Had a Top Down trip scheduled with gear rentals and shuttles reserved. I got a late lunch at the hotel restaurant and hit bed early for my big hike.

I woke up at 10pm throwing up. I continued with stomach issues until 3am. Dehydrated and weak I was not able to make my hike.

I went down in the morning and informed the manager of my issues and that because of the hotel food I had to cancel my entire trip and felt I should head home. He said that because the room was booked through Priceline he couldn't do anything about it. He told me to call priceline. I called Priceline who called him and asked for a refund and he refused.

I lost the money on the hotel, gear rental, and shuttle because of the Pioneer Lodge restaurant.

I made the 8 hour drive home pulling over 7 times on the interstate to throw up. 36 hours later I'm finally able to hold food down.

Hotel was nice. Management is terrible. Why a manager would not refund a night that wasn't used because of food poisoning from their hotel is way beyond me.

Will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d10de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Best stay during our one week trip across southern Utah, northern Arizona, western Colorado!!! You get what you pay for. Huge apartment-like room with ALL the amenities. Full size fridge, stove, dishwasher. Two full bathrooms; one with shower tub, en suite with shower stall. Two queen beds in bedroom, queen hide-a-bed in the living room. PLENTY of power outlets. Lots of lighting. Restaurant across the parking area that offers 50% discount to motel guests - great breakfast for less than $10. Friendly staff. Springdale is a small town, so you can walk to everything - supermarket, souvenir shops, post office, etc. Very convenient to Zion National Park and Coral Pink Sand Dunes state park.
The only thing lacking was perhaps a full size coffee maker rather than the little hotel style machine that they have.

Room Tip: If you need full kitchen facilities, or even if you just don't want to feel like you're in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingstonsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Great clean nice rustic decoration rooms, with small kitchen, and great central location. Nice staff, 1/2 price discount at resturant, nice pool,jacuzzi and laundry room.The only small negative is tight parking but, close driving entrance to Zion Park, it worth it especially when u spend all day hiking.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chatyo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We are staying at the Pioneer Lodge right now, and we love it! Our room is very clean and the decor is appropriately rustic and new-looking with a comfy bed. The meal we had last night at the attached restaurant was delicious and 50% off. The staff in the restaurant was especially friendly and nice. I won't hesitate to recommend the Pioneer Lodge to everyone, and will stay here again if we have the chance to come back to Zion National Park. It's a couple of minutes from the gate!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthego919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Remodeled motor lodge. Rooms are clean and nice size. Beds were comfortable. Price was great. When staying in the motor lodge you get 50% off the restaurant on site. Has a microwave and frig. The best thing about this place - LOCATION. It is just a few blocks from Zion National Park. During the busier season, you can take the shuttle from the parking lot next door to the park. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced rooms along with great customer service make this hotel my first choice when visiting Zion National Park. Great location in the center of Springdale, within walking distance of numerous restaurants. The 50% discount on meals at the attached Pioneer Restaurant is an excellent value, especially for the large breakfasts. Fantastic views from the second floor rooms in either building (have now been in four different rooms here.)

Room Tip: Most second floor rooms on either side have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ho3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing