We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, 50 percent off restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great views, 50 percent off restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a great little motel. It was very clean, great location and the views were great from the balcony. The restaurant adjacent to the motel is 50 percent off for guests, which in Springdale is a great deal. (They even had buckwheat pancakes in the morning, which was very filling for a full day of hiking.) I liked the relaxed atmosphere and when comparing the price of this to other hotels in the area, this was way less expensive and we were completely satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


We thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed guest discount at our restaurant. We strive to proved each guest with he utmost guest services. We are glad to have met your expectations. We hope to see you again soon and we hope you consider staying with us again!


Sincerely,
Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    462
    165
    54
    44
See reviews for
333
475
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kipling. SK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in the one bedroom suite at the beginning of March for four nights. We chose this room at the Pioneer lodge because of the basic kitchen the suite had, and also the reasonable nightly rate. The particular room we had was located above the lobby nearest to Zion Park Blvd. The room had views from the windows in three directions, and the semi private balcony wrapped around from the entrance side to the street side. From the balcony you could see up and down the sidewalk/street in both directions, north and south. If you wanted to enjoy the evening or people watch, there were some simple tables and chairs set up outside. Internally, this particular suite had a separate bedroom from the kitchen/dining/living room area. The living room area was nearest to the rooms entrance. The living room included a couch, loveseat, and a TV unit. The dining area had a table and four chairs. The kitchen had a full size fridge and stove, as well as all necessary cookware and tableware. There was also a dishwasher and a full sized sink. From the kitchen, there was the entrance to the first of two bathrooms in the unit. This bathroom was equipped with a tub/shower combination and a large sink/vanity. The other bathroom in the unit was located off the bedroom portion. This room had a corner shower, and is the bathroom we used during our stay. The bedroom was equipped with two very comfortable queen beds. There was also a TV located in this room, as well as a work/computer station/desk. The decor of the room was what appeared as remodelled within the last five to ten years, and was furnished with good taste in my opinion. TV had a very good selection of channels. Internet was intermittent at times, but adequate. Noise from neighbors was minimal. The property had a pool that we did not use, and I believe there was guest laundry. The restaurant on property was sorry to say only average, but you received a healthy discount being a guest of the lodge. The two young ladys working at rewception were very nice and accomodating, and I give them high marks for professional courtesy. Also in the lobby/reception was a small internet cafe/beverage bar. As a hotel guest, we were extended complimentary coffee, which my wife took full advantage of. The only issues we had during our stay was the small and tight parking area, and the vehicle noise from the street, as we were so close to it(but you would have heard vehicle noise from any part of the property anyways.) Overall a good stay, and I would consider staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Do not think there is more than one one bedroom suite at the Pioneer lodge, so the location is where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Manager was helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Hotel is close to the park & view is amazing. I preferred the upstairs room over the downstairs. Ask for the room at the far end but not when is busy or if your a light sleeper. Room is right next to pool but worth the view. There is a coffee shop in the office which is small, clean & they make nice coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

A few weeks ago we found a bed bug in the sheets our first night at the Pioneer, so we moved rooms that night and had to move to yet another room the next day. Because of the inconvenience and stress this caused, I asked the General Manager if we could get some sort of a refund or discount on our stay. He claimed that they "could not" do this as my credit card had already been charged, and it was not explained why that was. Now my wife has insect bites on her arms consistent with bed bug bites and we are finding evidence on our mattress that we brought bed bugs home with us, so we are still wishing we had stayed somewhere else in Springdale.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rojito555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Rojito555,
Let me start with an apology for what you had to go through. As you have mentioned we moved you immediately into a new room without a question, so that you are able to sleep stress free. The room given to you at night was not available the next night as we were sold out & you were made aware of the same before. Now for what i mentioned, when you go through any online travel agents like Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire,etc. you are paying them, & they pay us. So since we do not charge your card we cannot refund your card. You seemed to have understood it then. In return for all your stress of moving around, you demanded to be compensated and we did with a free dinner at the restaurant. And after investigating the room that you initially had problem in, was clean of any bedbug activity. We had our pest control people check it and they did not find any bedbugs in the room. We would love to provide you with their report if you so require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

On a recent road trip I stayed here and was very satisfied. The Pioneer is located in Springdale and is only two miles from the entrance to Zion. A great location for a road tripper. The room was clean and comfortable, the wifi was provided, and the hotel runs a restaurant and offers a 50% discount to guests. It was a great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Val S,
Let me thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our location being in the middle of downtown Springdale makes it convenient for all to visit the restaurants, art galleries, photo studios, gift shop & choclatier all in walking distance. When you stay here, we want you to get the best value for your money, we have modern amenities like flat screen tvs & complimentary high speed Wifi internet along with the basics of microwave, minifridge, hairdryer, iron with ironing board & coffeepot to get your day started, all in your rooms. We wanted to make sure you are comfortable when you stay with us. I am also glad you had chance to take advantage of our winter deal with the restaurant. We hope to see you back soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a small three bedroom suite with my sons. Quite reasonable. Very cosy, comfortable and a full kitchen to boot. Very convenient to park and it's a nice town. Only downside is a parking lot that is difficult to maneuver and turn around in, but a minor issue

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bruce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Bruce,

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience of the parking, but we are unable to expand our parking lot due to the surrounding landscape. We look forward to serving you again.


Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. We loved the Western themed furniture in the room and the convenience of microwave and fridge with plenty of counter space in the bathroom/kitchenette area. The beds were awesome and the rooms were very quiet. Parking can get full in the parking lot. It is minutes from Zion entrance which is great if you want to head in early for sunrise hike and to beat traffic. Very close to many shops and places to eat. We ate at willies and it was great food. The staff was very friendly. They also have a pool and jacuzzi which my husband loved after a full day of hiking and climbing. The only con to this place is that they don't include breakfast but for the price, location, and comfortable stay we lived without it. We will be coming back here to stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback from our guests! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning. The Pioneer Restaurant offers discounts to the guest that are staying at the lodge. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#7 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing