We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three bedroom Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Pioneer Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Indio, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Three bedroom Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in the three bedroom two bath, living room and kitchen dining was clean and very comfortable. Close to Zion National Park and shuttle service nearby. Wonderfule time, scenic and worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HWH529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences on your recent stay in Springdale, Utah. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive review helps motivate us to excel in our services. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    462
    165
    54
    44
See reviews for
333
475
57
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I'll admit that I was nervous as I walked up the exterior stairs...the carpet is badly worn and ripped. I feared the room would be in poor condition, but I was quite happy with the furnishings and the cleanliness in the room. I liked that there was a fridge and a microwave. The deli next door is really good and convenient, too. The lodge owner should pay a bit more attention to the laundry area, the snack and the soap machine were both out of order and that room needed a good scrubbing. Close to Zion and the free shuttle stops right out front.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wb81224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November 2011. Sorry for the delayed review but I remember this place and we really liked it. The rooms for basic but tastefully furnished and clean. I especially like the wood see design of everything. The restaurant attached to the hotel is awesome, For all three meals as far as I can recall! It was Thanksgiving weekend so it was quite busy. Food tastes really good after long day of hiking in the winter... :-). If we ever go hiking in Zion again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Indeed, this accomodation has more a character of a motel than a lodge. But who cares? Rooms were spacious and clean. Service was extremely good (I had problems downloading a map for our GPS. Our host took care.). Also very good: hotel is very close to Zion National Park (2 minutes drive)!

Room Tip: 2nd level is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulfmertens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing us with feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our staff services. We strive to provide each guest with utmost guest services. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Zion National Park and be sure to try The Challenger at the Pioneer Restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Big beetle (roach?) walking around bedroom floor. Under bed skirt, along bed edges - used tissue, old food, used plaster, hair around top of shower - ugh!.. Sheets on bed seem clean.. Decor old and dingy. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Lodge was clean, comfortable, a bit dated and worn but it was a very convenient location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. No breakfast included, but an easy walk to many breakfast places. Our room was on the second floor and the outdoor stairs had ripped, worn carpeting that may be a trip hazard if you're not paying attention. They also had some major construction going on all day until sunset that was very noisy. Why pick the busiest time of year to do construction that eliminated parking spaces and was pretty disruptive? The pool was nice but had very little shade in high 90 degree weather and it seemed when housekeeping was running the dryers for laundry a natural gas smell permeated the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We landed without any reservation in the height of the season, and this was the last room available in all of the Zion area, and we grabbed it.
We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was comfy and clean, and a warm welcome from our long road trip. The video from their own site shows a true picture of what you see is what you get.
We found the hot jacuzzi to rest our roughed up feet. And that was a true treasure.
We rolled out of bed, and walked around the corner for a big breakfast at the Pioneer Lodge Restaurant, an American country dinner. We were pleased with our luck of landing here.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, with our parking space at the door, and the room was closest to the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#7 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing