We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Valentine Get-a-way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My husband and I make a trip to Zion every Valentine Weekend. This past year was our third year, and our second stay at Pioneer. We both love the Pioneer Lodge, the food, and the staff. We have email questions, and have always received a prompt response. The Pioneer Lodge has everything we were looking for, and the rooms are the most welcoming and comfortable in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at. We plan on coming up every year for that weekend, and we plan on continuing to stay at the Pioneer Lodge!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Janappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
There are newer reviews for Historic Pioneer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

948 - 954 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

My family of four (with two children ages 10 and 8) stayed for two nights at the Pioneer Lodge in late March 2008. We found the reviews on this property to be accurate and our experience was mainly positive. Check-in was easy and the staff is very friendly. There is a coffee shop in the lobby with two big leather chairs and an inviting fireplace that was ablaze during our stay. It also has one or two computers with internet access (first 10 minutes free for guests).

The room, with two beds, was small but certainly livable for two nights. The beds were very comfortable and after our hiking adventures everyone slept very well. The lodge's location is right in the middle of Springdale and very close to a Zion Park shuttle bus stop. It is an ideal location for proximity to the few shops and restaurants in town.

The only complaints that we had were: 1) there was something amiss with our refrigerator and it made a constant humming noise. We unplugged it at night so that was not a big deal; and 2) the noise from the parking lot and stair/hallways. The lodge is basically a U-shape around the parking lot and noises from car doors and conversations are easily heard in the rooms. Also, the exterior corridors are noisy as people walk past the room. The first night of our stay there was considerable noise. It was much better the second night. I'd recommend requesting a room towards the back of lodge (away from the entrance) for a quieter stay.

All-in-all, we had a nice stay; but I'd consider trying another motel on any return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank netfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Excellent incredible front desk service, clean and bigger rooms. The food was great. It is good to have coffee shop and restaurant on the premises.
The large swimming pool and hot tub were the best.
We were surprise with the gift bag when we checked out. Walking distance to the Zion National Park. We endup meeting with owners, they were very friendly and provided excellent hospitality services. My family had memorable stay at Pioneer Lodging.
Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holidayand I am extremely picky about the services and amenities. Perhaps the most convenient if all you want to do is National Parks, then this is an absolute must.... Bharat & Ullas.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bbmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

Awesome place, reasonable for Sprindale and right in the center of town. Try to get a second floor view of Zion, just beautiful! Rooms are clean, cozy and nicely decorated (for that style) and the staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BirdsongNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Fantastic stay here, loved Zion and Springdale and this place was close by everything and excellent value for money. Lovely spa and pool, our room was clean and comfy and the restaurant served great breakfasts! Dinner wasn't bad at the restaurant, but not great either - we had a lovely dinner one evening at Zion Pizza & Noodle Co., a short stroll away, worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We give Pioneer a thumbs up. Staff very friendly. I like that they do not use bedcovers but nice blankets. It shows things are clean. Had Jaccuzzi suite which was a good soak after hiking.
We spent 3 nights in there. See www.tabhauser.com and click Zion Park, 3 Adventures Days. (No advertising or sign in needed) I talk about the hotel and places we ate as well as hiking we did. Thanks for advise on this forum

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tabhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a great place to stay for access to Zion National Park, the entrance of which is about a minutes drive away, you could walk it, but the main attractions for Zion are still a little way further inside the park.

We loved the room, it was rustic and cosy, with very comfy beds, that seemed like you needed a ladder to climb into them, but were great once in. The room had a fridge and microwave in, which was handy. There are quite a few places to eat in Springdale, but the restaurant attached to the lodge is very good. The salad bar wasn't great, but the hot food was tasty and portions were vast. The hotel has a pool (open from April onwards I think) and a hot tub. We also paid a little extra for a Canyon View room, and the view can be seen in one of the photos I've attached. It was a lovely view although we didn't spend an awful lot of time looking at it, being too busy inside the park!

To summarise, I would definitely recommend staying here when visiting Zion National Park.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittenPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodman, Lodge Manager at Historic Pioneer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2008

Thank you for your wonderful review of our lodge! We hope anyone that visits our property can feel at home with us and we try very hard to meet each guest's needs. In order to better serve our guests, we no longer charge extra for Canyon View rooms.

We feel so lucky to be able to live and work in this amazing place and are happy to see our guests enjoying Zion as much as we do. We value guest reviews on TripAdvisor greatly and look forward to any suggestions to improve the experience of future and returning guests.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: $106 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing