We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faux pioneer feel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faux pioneer feel.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. Layout was good. Bathroom/kitchen combo. Fridge, microwave, paper towels, sink. We expected more of a cottage feel but there was a faux wood wall and the rest was a plaster stucco. The bed was huge logs which was really cool. It was good for the price as well. Our room, a king suite, had some major repair issues which appeared as water damage on the ceiling. Definitely kind of a drawback.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLindy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    479
    183
    58
    45
See reviews for
362
490
61
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yackandandah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I read all the other reviews about the smells and the poor ratings but I have to say there were no problems with this hotel at all. It was clean and comfortable. The bed and bedding were comfortable , although the pillows could have been renewed. The room was a little smaller than other hotels I have used but it was adequate, the tv was older style but worked. There was excellent wifi Internet connection. A great off season price with booking.com made the hotel excellent value for money. There was no breakfast included but that meant we had a freshly cooked breakfast at a restaurant across the road. The hotel was right at the edge of the Zion park so was great for a one night stay on the way to Las Vegas.....the red rocks form the very picturesque backdrop for the hotel. Cannot complain and would recommend it if you are not too fussy.

Room Tip: Outside access via stairs to second floor , go for the ground flor if you cannot carry cases up stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The good: Great location in main business district of Springdale, so an easy walk to restaurants and shops, quiet, open all year (we went in February) and very close to beautiful Zion. We got a good deal on Priceline.
Not so good: Very smelly bowl of potpourri air freshener stunk up the whole room. Yuck! Good thing I don't have allergies. Oily stains on the bedspreads, although the room appeared clean otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaciergirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The price was great. The room was nice and clean. But...
The internet was very sporadic. I was able to connect only about 1/3 of the time I tried. This normally isn't a problem for me on vacation. But a storm was rolling in and I wanted to keep up on the forecast and road conditions.
The hot tub was closed, even though it said it was open.
Parking spaces are very narrow. Look for one in the corners.
Also, even the the literature in the room says the lobby is open at 6:30 in the winter, it's not. It opens at 7:30.
I would probably stay here again, because internet access is usually nice but necessary for me. But I'll probably try another option next time.

Room Tip: Room 118 is sandwiched between two buildings and doesn't seem to have neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had two great nights' sleep here, with a comfy bed in a quiet location.

The free wifi worked well, with my only real problem that the room was quite dark. The decor is dim to start with, then there's not much lighting.

Really, the location is what makes the place. Zion NP is beautiful and this is your gateway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A very average motel for a reasonable off season rate. Older decor...dark and dingy with low ceilings. Mostly clean and comfortable. Internet was spotty. Check in guy was not overly friendly. Beds were OK; pillows awful. Overall good enough for a cheap night's stay close to an amazing national park.

If you are looking for a budget motel with convenient access to Zion Nat'l Park you will get what you pay for here. We were a little taken aback by the many very laudatory reviews here on TripAdvisor. They seem a little more enthusiastic than we would expect for this motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsaileus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Having a family we were keen to have a place where the children could feel safe and relaxed. The reviews I had suggested that the Pioneer lodge might be the place for this and in no way did this disappoint. A very warm (or should that be cool) welcome after a long drive from Yosemite. Very friendly and a lovely 2 room overlooking the cancan. That was before they found out about the free snack bar which meant they were constantly harassing the very patient reception staff. Room was good and did just the job for us and the parking (a real bonus) and location were fantastic. Highly recommend this place if you stating in LA.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolguyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Property: Historic Pioneer Lodge
Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing