We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in a wonderful little mountain town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel partly because they were one of the only properties that had an vacancy when we were planning our visit to Zion and the other part because they were just a bit cheaper. Some of the other TA reviews made it seem like this property was mediocre, but I can't disagree more. Springdale itself is a charming, beautiful, and eclectic mountain town and we were really pleasantly surprised about this town due to it's convenience to Zion National Park. We had a great room with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was the normal hotel bathroom with a toilet and shower in one room and sink outside. The countertops were granite and higher in height which we appreciate since we're both 6+ feet tall. The room was clean and very inviting. The management at the property was really nice and we didn't have any issues with service. There is a yummy restaurant attached to the hotel that serves an AWESOME breakfast. The view of some of the mountains outside the hotel is beautiful and it is really enchanting there. I felt this was a great stay and would recommend it. I would book at least 3 months in advance if you're particular about your room. They have two floors and just make sure you let them know if you can't climb steps so they'd put you in a bottom floor room. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jermsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I add my voice to others who have expressed praise for this lodge. Our family of five stayed in December 2012. The room was delightful with everything we needed. Ben was friendly and helpful. Great value as well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Apertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

as close to the park and shuttle as you are going to get. Very reasonably priced. Rooms were clean, beds comfy. Microwave and frig. in room meant I could stash food. Would def. stay here again. Since my review needs to be longer in order to meet requirements, I will tell you that it is also close to all sorts of restaurants. Wildcat Willies has the best marguaritas going. Also good breakfast to fill you up before an early departure into the park.

Room Tip: try to get a second floor "canyon view" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MW128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely place to stay during our visit to Zion National Park.

The rooms have large, comfy beds and the interior is like a ski lodge which makes it super comfy.

There's a safe in the room, TV, microwave, fridge and a nice sink area and bath tub with halogen lights to warm you up.

The lodge is surrounded by the beautiful mountains, and the park is just a minute or two's drive from the motel-style lodge. Lots of places to eat or shop nearby - it's in the town if Springdale which is really pretty.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our time here. Close to Zion NP. Rustic wood feel is really nice. Great air con, heat lamp in bathroom, good wifi, safe in robe, comfy beds. Quiet and cosy. Would stay here again quite happily.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank placidscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We love Sprigdale and we go there several times a year, but we'll never stay at Pioneer Lodge based in our experience. Our car broke down on our way to our latest planned trip to Springdale. We were stranded on the side of the Interstate 3 hours away from Springdale. I had called Pioneer Lodge earlier in the day to confirm our arrival and even notified them of our expected time of arrival. However, when our car broke down en route, we had no way to get to Springdale that night. I called Pioneer Lodge to apologize and explain the situation, but they said they didn't care and charged us one night for a late cancellation. I asked if we could avoid that by booking a room for another time, since we visit Springdale often, but I was told "no, we will charge you a one night no show fee". As if the bill for the car tow and repair wasn't enough, Pioneer Lodge charged me a no show fee.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Trimanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

In the middel of our trip in the Western part of the USA the Pioneer Lodge offered a perfect place for a three days stay and rest. Comfortable rooms, the cosy evenings outside on the veranda, the pool and the beautiful scenery of Zion Park were perfect to unwind from all the impressions we had sofar. The service was great, especially when later on our trip we discovered one of our passports missing. At calling the PL staff had already found and stored it and later offered all help to have it shipped to a hotel further on our journey.
Jan.Hilde.Julian.Remi

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter at the back of the car park, with the back at Zion Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 16 in Springdale
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Pioneer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Pioneer Lodge

Address: 838 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#12 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: $96 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Pioneer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Pioneer Lodge and Restaurant is centrally located in downtown Springdale near the entrance of Zion National Park. We have 40 beautifully appointed rooms in rustic western decor. There is a jacuzzi suite, a one bedroom apartment and a 3 bedroom apartment. On location we have a full service restaurant, open 7 days a week serving excellent quality meals, an Internet Cafe/Espresso Bar and gift shoppe. There is a outdoor pool and jacuzzi. We have guest laundry facilities. Our property has been totally renovated in 2006. We pride ourself in excellent customer service with a relaxing home away from home attitude. We have a 4 diamond rating with AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Historic Pioneer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Pioneer Hotel Springdale
Historic Pioneer Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing