We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to stay near Zion National Park in Springdale, Utah”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Pearl Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay near Zion National Park in Springdale, Utah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

My family was planning a trip to Zion National Park and on the recommendation of another friend we made a reservation at the Desert Pearl Inn. The photos on the website looked good enough, but they did not do justice to this Inn. First of all, it is a fabulous location - right near the entrance of Zion National Park and walking distance to restaurants in town. There is an in town shuttle that will take you to the park entrance, where you can catch the Park shuttle. The hotel is relatively new, so everything was clean and new looking. We were told to request a room with a river view. When we checked into our room, we could not be more thrilled - we were on the first floor and right outside the room was a patio with several chairs and then the Virgin River - it is such a beautiful location. The rooms themselves are fabulous - sort of contemporary western - wood floors throughout (I have a dislike of gross hotel carpet!) natural tile bathrooms ( we were in a suite, so we had 2 enormous bathrooms!) and soo clean! the hotel staff was always willing to help and answer questions. Make sure you eat at the Whiptail Grill - don't be scared away by the gas station location - the food is fabulous - best meal we had. Also, Bit & Spur and Parallel 88 were great meals. Stay away from Wildcat Willies for breakfast - we waited almost 30 minutes after we ordered for our breakfast and the restaurant was not even crowded! and make sure you walk The Narrows when you visit Zion (rent water shoes and walking stick from Zion Adventures! It makes a big difference)! For an adventurous off-road experience, take the Unimog jeep tour from Zion Adventures!! Would definitely go back to this hotel - it is a winner!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denisenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    300
    35
    21
    15
See reviews for
900
1,106
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We were a group of 10 traveling together to Zion and our travel agent recommended Desert Pearl Inn. The rooms are spacious and sleek. We even had a kitchen area and our rooms backed up to a lovely river. Only downsides were getting sprayed by sprinkler system while startgazing at 10 pm and also they didn't assign our rooms next to each other, But all in all, the stay was near perfect and we thought the rooms were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyBaskingRidge_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

We chose the Desert Pearl for our stay for July 25-Aug. 1. We had read reviews on TripAdvisor and looked at their website, etc. We were very pleased that the hotel met or exceeded all of the good comments that had been made, and we did not experience any of the few downsides that were mentioned in some reviews.

When we made our reservation (about 2-3 months in advance,) we let them know we were celebrating our 30th anniversary and we would prefer a second floor room (thank you to Tripadvisor advice). We were given room 402 - a second floor room on the end of the building- and there was a bottle of wine with two glasses waiting for us upon our arrival! Our check-in was prompt and friendly. We did not contact the desk for anything else, so I can't comment on other services. We stayed there for five nights and had absolutely no problems and no need to contact tyhe desk. Staff we did encounter (grounds crew, room cleaners) were all very friendly.

The room was just as shown in pictures on their website - spacious, modern, vaulted ceiling, great balcony with an excellent view of the red cliffs and babbling stream! The kitchenette includes a sink, fridge, microwave and toaster oven (Cuisinart) that was immaculately clean. There were also dishes, glassware, etc. for preparing light meals. We ate 2-3 meals per day in our room, including a frozen pizza, toasted ham and cheese sandwiches, toast for breakfast, etc. Preparing meals in the room saved time and money so we could get out and hike in Zion Canyon each day. There was also a nice, small laundry room that we ended up using since with the heat and hiking dust, we went through more clothes than we anticipated!

Most days we went for a morning hike, then back to the Desert Pearl to enjoy the spacious, refreshing pool and hot tub, a short nap and then back to the canyon! When we were there, temps were over 100 degrees each day, but the pool water was very refreshing and was not allowed to get too warm.

The room was very quiet, we heard almost nothing from any other room. The balcony was large, with privacy walls, chairs and small tables, and was a great spot to have breakfast or to relax in the evening with wine and cheese. The trestle wood balcony and trim was beautiful and the entire decor inside and out was very nice; modern and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. The room also had a small table and chairs for meals. There was plenty of space for all of our gear.

If I wanted to make any suggestions for improvement, it would be the internet- there was free internet, but it was not wireless, and it only had about a 24" long cable, so you had to sit at the desk (which was very large and convenient) to use the internet. You might want to bring a longer ethernet cable so you can sit elsewhere in the room if you wish.

This was one of the best and most relaxing vacations we had ever had - thank you Desert Pearl!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glacial_erratic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

After reading the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, I had high expectations for the Desert Pearl. And thankfully, the hotel met all of my expectations. It was a fabulous place to stay! We stayed for 5 nights in a second floor poolside room with our 3 children (aged 8, 10 and 12). The room was huge, and nothing like your basic hotel room. Our 2nd story room had vaulted ceilings, a great balcony and a mini kitchen with a brand new toaster oven and dishwasher.

It was so nice to come back from a day of hiking to our cool air-conditioned room where we could relax or go for a dip in the pool. There were a lot of families staying at the hotel while we were there, and the pool area was the place to be in the afternoons.

The owners of the Desert Pearl obviously take great pride in their hotel, as everything was so well-maintained and attractive. The landscaping was gorgeous - you felt like you were staying at a world-class resort when you were relaxing by the pool.

We absolutely loved our stay at the Desert Pearl Inn and will never visit Zion again without staying there!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is our 3rd trip to Zion... First stayed at Flannigan's - nice lobby but the roms, buildings seemed a little old and ran down; next visit we stayed at Pioneer, nice clean room, but no place to sit on the deck. 3rd stay @ Desert Pearl...and as the saying goes 3rd time is a charm. I won't stay anywhere else while visiting Zion in the future. The grounds are beautiful, quick and friendly registration; Rooms are large and a perfect fit for the area. We had an upstairs King / Pool side and enjoyed watching the "show" in the pool each afternoon. No trouble with noise in the mornings, or evenings from the pool. Comfy beds, great bathroom - clean clean clean ! Nice to have a fridge, d/w, toaster oven, dishes etc. Also a laundry on site ($1.75 wash/ $1 dry). Great location, shuttle stop out front. Small coffee shop had fresh baked muffins, quiche, fruit etc. in the am with a 10% discount for hotel guests. All good .. tonight is our final night and I am sad to be leaving this perfect get-away.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kimvossjezwinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Fancy a visit to Zion , then the Desert Pearl Inn is a must. The views from the hot tub and swimming pool are fantastic. Rooms perfect and location great. 24hr service. Couldn't ahve stayed anywhere better...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel this month. Everything about the hotel is first class. I especially enjoyed the beautiful pool and whirlpool after hiking at Zion each day. The studio rooms are outfitted with everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suppo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.3 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Pearl Inn

Property: Desert Pearl Inn
Address: 707 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Springdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Pearl Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique motel on the river's edge just 3/4 mi. from the entrance to Zion National Park. All artfully appointed rooms & suites are nonsmoking with numerous upscale amenities and excellent views of Zion's majestic cliffs from every private terrace or balcony. Our large outdoor swimming pool and hot tub will soothe away sore muscles after a day of hiking. There is free WiFi throughout the property, as well as. a centrally located guest laundry. A shuttle stop is conveniently located at the front of the inn adjacent to our on-site restaurant 9 east serving lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Pearl Hotel Springdale
Desert Pearl Motel
Desert Pearl Inn Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing