We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the desert!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2010

What a wonderful find! This was our second trip to Springdale and Zion. The last time we stayed at two highly rated properties, which were ok, but we were looking for something a little "special" this time. Boy, did we find it! This property is so unassuming from the road that at first I was thought I had made a mistake. I'm glad I was wrong.

The grounds are truly beautiful. Just like all of the hotels in Springdale, this one has great views, but the gardens set this property apart. In addition to having your own balcony or patio, there are several tucked away places to relax in the morning, afternoon, or evening. We especially enjoyed our evenings sitting down at the beach listening to and watching the Virgin River. Deer would come down to drink at dusk. There are 3 fire pits on the property which guests can use to build their own fires. One is down on the beach. It's like camping, but with a nice, comfy bed to return to. That's my kind of camping!

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are hotel/motels style so nothing fancy there, but they are clean and comfortable. The large flat screened tv was an added bonus. Also, our room, 22, was very quiet. I always worry when someone is above us, but we only heard our neighbors when we were sitting on our patio and they opened their balcony door. The room had a coffee maker but the free coffee in the lobby was so good. Much better than you can get from any of those in-room machines. No included breakfast but the breakfast buffet at the Spotted Dog just down the road is the best deal in town. We tried it the first morning and went there every day.

But here is the thing that really made us we realize we had made the right choice. After hiking all day in Zion, we would walk the short path along the river back to the Cliffrose. As soon as we hit the property line, we would all let out a relaxing sigh. It was like we had found our own oasis in the desert. Peaceful and relaxing. Wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,620 - 1,626 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

We had a room that faced the gardens and pool with the gorgeous mountains beyond that. Beds comfortable and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AspenGal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

When we first stayed at the Cliffrose for one night three years ago, I chose our accomodations based on three key features: an easy walk to the Zion National Park Vistors Center, where one boards the park shuttles; a swimming pool; and the availablility of a large family room (riverside family suite), with a sofabed in a separate 'sitting area' in addition to two queens. We immensely enjoyed both our fleeting glimpses of the park, and our time at the Cliffrose, and my family insisted we come back some day and spend more time at both.

So this year we spent three days at the Cliffrose and my family complained that it still wasn't enough time. Zion is fabulous, with some incredible scenery and hikes (the Narrows in particular). And the Cliffrose was once again a delight.

The Cliffrose is an unimposing place as viewed from the main road through Springdale. The registration office is by the road, but the complex has several other buildings set down along a slight slope to the Virgin River, each with parking in front. A couple buildings have been added since we were last there, and they appear very nice, but the wonderful gardens which give the rest of the complex a delightful 'oasis' feel haven't matured yet around the newer rooms. In any event, my family insisted on staying in the same room we'd had the last time.

This family room was extremely spacious, with a partially separated 'sitting area' effectively a second bedroom. This sitting area had windows and a sliding door opening out onto a large deck, with nice views of the cliffs beyond the river, but also some pleasant shade from foliage. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, and my wife requested, and received, the cotton sheets she'd liked so much the last time we were there. The kids LOVED the big wide-screen, HD flat panel TV, which offered a zillion channels (including HD) via Direct TV. A refrigerator was provided. The bathroom was very spacious. Our particular room was unfortunately next to the laundry, which we didn't remember being an issue on our last visit; but perhaps due to the addded load of linens from the new buildings, the staff had everything going in the laundry by 7:45 AM -- too early, really, since some noise did transmit into our room. We were a bit bothered that our room's AC unit, located in the sitting area, didn't seem to circulate and cool off the main bed area as well as we recalled previously.

The pool and spa were only a few steps away, and they were wonderful after a hot day hiking and sightseeing in the canyon. The pool isn't huge, but it was never crowded at all in the evening. Likewise the in-ground spa. The pool is nominally only open until 9PM, which we were concerned about (we were too busy to enjoy it during the day, and 9 is ridiculously early in the summer, in a place where daytime temps can reach 100), but no-one chased us out when we stayed in beyond that time in the evening. They do however cover the pool overnight. The spa is open 24 hrs.

The Cliffrose does not offer any breakfast items, though they do have very good coffee available in the office in the morning. However there is an excellent small restaurant (Cafe Soleil) immediately next door, and we ate all our breakfasts and one dinner there. (Our other dinners were at the Zion lodge, in the park).

There is a convenient path from the Cliffrose along the river to the visitor center, and it only takes a couple minutes to walk the distance. The property extends down to the river with good access, a great place for inner-tubing in the modest current.

Overall we had a great time, and there is no question in our minds that if and when we visit Zion yet again, we'll be back at the Cliffrose.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Runner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was my third trip to Zion National Park and the accommodations at the Cliffrose Lodge were wonderful. We had a two bedroom suite, which was fairly new. The suite was spacious and exactly what we needed, with two bathrooms, a living room, and kitchen with dining table. The grounds are very nice and you can walk to the entrance to Zion within about 5-10 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank othotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Overall one of the best hotels that I have ever laid my head down in. It was the last few days of our 12 day trip doing all the National Parks in AZ & UT. That's why I ponied up for the 2 BR suite w/ kitchen-livingroom. Room #42 has a fantastic view of the 1000' cliffs accross the river. No road noise at all. If you love flowers like my wife & I do, well you will love this place. They seem to only plant things that bloom...of course flowers but it seems that just about every bush & tree had some kind of bloom as well. Hummingbirds galore! We really did not want to leave & go see Zion. We did, but made sure to be back to hop in the pool & simply to hang out on the patio when it cooled down in the afternoon.
A great little resturtant/art gallery only 75yds away at the top of the hill serves fantastic breakfast sandwiches that are to die for as well as beer for the afternoon.
This hotel has just about everything I need...good mattress,great atmosphere with a killer view, cool as hell little town, a major national park at its front door,on site laundry, a nice pool, a flowing stream that you can play & swim in, good free coffee & hot choc at the little lobby...and beer nearby!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofaman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the new cottages set back from the road down near the Virgin River. There was a nice path along the river for a short walk to the Zion National Park. There was no road noise, all we heard was the nice sound of the tumbling river. It was very clean and luxurious. There were two bedrooms, one with a king size bed while the other had two queen beds and a flat screen TV; both had quiet ceiling fans and very comfortable beds and pillows. There was a large sitting area with a large flat screen TV and a leather sofa which was open to the big dining room and kitchen. Full kitchen with granite counters, a full refrigerator and oven/stove. The shady deck overlooking the river had a amazing view of the mountains of Zion National Park. This would be absolutely perfect for a large or extended family. My husband loved it so much that he wanted to move into it!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

First off, I stayed 1 night -- $160. Considering the nearness of this place to the entrance of Zion (1/4 mile walk) -- this was the perfect jumping off point for Zion.

The room was extremely clean, the amenities in the room were perfect ( shower and a big bath). The view was amazing. The grounds were impeccable... they even had a little beach along the river (and a fire pit)...

It was absolutely worth it -- and for what we got and it's proximity to the park, this was a a bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,211 reviews
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Address: 281 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springdale
#2 Family Hotel in Springdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: $118 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens offers an epic location to experience everything Zion National Park has to offer. Our property literally borders Zion National Park along the Virgin River. Resort amenities include a heated outdoor pool, waterfall hot tub, riverside hot tubs, riverside beach, event space, and 5 acres of manicured grounds. All of our rooms, suites, and villas feature luxurious modern amenities. Outside you will find private outdoor balconies or patios. The Cliffrose is an ideal hotel for couples, families, friends, and solo trips. Just like Zion National Park we are also open all year. More than just a place to spend the night you can unpack once and have an experience of a lifetime. During your stay our friendly and attentive staff are always there to make your experience memorable. Remember that parking, coffee & tea, high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour business center access are complimentary. We do not charge resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Lodge And Gardens
Cliffrose Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing