We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent rooms and facilities, excellent location and great little town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and facilities, excellent location and great little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Cliff Rose for 2 nights as part of a tour through the Rockies, National parks and beyond and we were looking forward to arriving as this was billed as one of the nicer – more luxurious places we had booked to stay. On the whole, it lived up to our expectations and we would recommend to others.

For us there were probably 3 highlights.

The first was the hotel rooms themselves. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite – 5 of us including our 3 grown up kids. There was plenty of room, the fixtures and fittings were plentiful and of the highest quality – full size fridge/freezer, proper kitchenette, full size dining table, couch seating for us all, 2 excellent sized bedrooms, well equipped with comfy beds and 2 huge bathrooms, again, nicely equipped and laid out. (In addition there is a continuous flow of free coffee and tea available in the reception area if you prefer the walk rather than making your own – really nice touch – especially as they often had a plate of free cakes on the go as well!)

The second highlight was the lodge location: right on the river and as close as it was possible to be to the entrance to Zion National Park. Less than 5 minute walk down the river to the NP Visitor Centre from where the shuttle service runs through the park from early in the morning. (You are not allowed to take your car into the park during the summer months – the shuttle is the only way of visiting). Some might say that the location would be better if (like most of the hotels and motels) the lodge was further away from the park and towards the centre of Springdale. This would certainly be more convenient for walking through the town for shopping and restaurants etc, but for us we preferred to be by the park entrance.

The third highlight was actually the town of Springdale itself. This is the third town we have visited on this trip whereby the almost sole purpose of the town is to be the gateway to the nearby National Park. (The others being Moab for Arches NP which we thought was a bit of a mess, and Page for Lake Powell National Recreation Area which we really enjoyed). Springdale is really nice! Some might say it is a bit ‘twee’ and certainly it is clearly built for the tourist rather than the almost nonexistent locals – but they have done a great job. Restaurants are varied (no chains – all independent) and all looking great. Hotels and motels are neat and tidy and appealing. There seemed to be a really relaxed, happy, buzz around the place. As mentioned above the Cliff Rose Lodge is about a mile from the town centre so it can be walked, driven or there is a free shuttle which runs from the NP entrance into/out of town continually.

The only possible downside we could mention about the Lodge would be the pool area. It was really hot whilst we were there (nearly 100 degrees) and by mid afternoon as people came out of the park, the pool area was packed – it simply wasn’t designed for the number of people who wanted to use it to the extent that we gave up and went and sat in our Air Conditioned rooms instead to recover. Not a hardship but an observation if a great pool matters to you. Couple of other small points – there isn’t enough parking space – both nights we ended up having to park by reception (probably 150yds from our room) as spaces near the rooms were already full. Finally, with the exception of the free coffee/tea already positively mentioned the only other food/drink on site is a very limited fridge in reception. I understand the lodge isn’t big enough to warrant a café or restaurant, and there is a café next door, so only a minor point – but just in case it matters to you!

Overall we were really pleased with our stay at Cliff Rose. Can’t say it completely bowled us over in the way that some other places have, but no complaints at all, and very good in delivering what we wanted/needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    326
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
622
699
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a great stay in this hotel. The room had river and moutain view. From the porch you could see hummingbirds and drink your coffee or beer.
The visitorscenter from Zion National Park is in walking distance (5 min). From there you can take the shuttles into the Park.
The people from the reception are so friendly and helpful. Take a free cup of coffee and delicious cookies.
We would stay her again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just returned from Zion, and we stayed 3 nights at the Cliffrose. The property exceeded our expectations. Is about 5 minutes walking to the Main Entrace of the park. You SHOULD ask to stay on room with RIVER VIEW, they are much better than "Parking View".
For sure is the best option to stay in Zion!

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view and in the Higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at Cliffrose after a week and a half on the road visiting other parts of Utah. The staff was very nice, the grounds were well kept and beautiful. We loved the easy access to Zion and didn't have to use our car for the three days that we stayed at Cliffrose. Our kids loved the pool, the two cats, and the scenery. My husband and I loved relaxing by the pool, sitting on our balcony, and walking the gardens all under the incredible views of the cliffs above. Our room was comfortable and perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Cliffrose Lodge.

The view from the room and patio is truly stunning - it is indeed a cliff side lodge! The grounds are beautifully kept, and every day we saw hummingbirds, deer, other birds, and even a raccoon. There is a pool for cooling off, or you can swim in the river that runs along side the property. We stayed there for a week and loved every minute of the stay. The staff were very helpful and courteous, and we received breakfast vouchers for the Cafe Soleil, which is right next door. They do breakfast variations that were great for starting each day.

The setting is fabulous - just outside the gates of Zion National Park. The park is really worth the visit - loads of great hiking. And, one thing you must do is rent a bike from the Zion Outfitters (just outside the park) and ride it down the canyon (you can put the bike on the bus rack if you don't want to ride up the canyon). It is truly magical to coast down and see the canyon walls from the road.

The only criticisms we have is that the bed we had was a bit soft for our liking, and the air conditioner in the room a bit loud. But there are very minor compared to the exceptional location and overall quality of the space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrodlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was our first time visiting Zion and lodging with Cliffrose Lodge and we we were totally happy with the accommodation as well as the park! The Riverside suite is very spacious and very clean. The lodge's location is conveniently situated near the park entrance so we didn't need to take the shuttle but instead just took the path way next to the river towards the park...which was approximately 200 yards away. We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location? Virtually at the entrance to Zion NP and flanked by the Zion Canyon Walls. Awe inspiring views in any direction. The grounds were extremely well maintained with flowers everywhere accompanied by loads of hummingbirds.

The property backed-up to the river and wading and/or chillin by the babbling water was a very nice vibe addition.

We stayed in the 1BR + Murphy Bed and LR, Kitchen and were extremely comfortable. great value!

The folks running Cliffrose are very friendly and helpful. I'll stay again when I go back to Zion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.2 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Property: Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Address: 281 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springdale
#2 Family Hotel in Springdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style resort with 52 smoke-free rooms, suites, and villas in 6 buildings surrounded by our 5 acres of manicured lawns, perennial flower gardens, towering evergreens, large shade trees, and bordering Zion National Park along the Virgin River. Our deluxe Riverside 1 and 2 Bedroom suites and 3 Bedroom Canyon Villas offer a truly luxurious experience and all of our rooms feature modern amenities and updates for exquisite accommodation options for every budget. Seasonal heated outdoor pool, year round waterfall hot tub, amazing views of Zion National Park from your balcony or patio, plush pillow-top beds, free wireless internet, fridges in all rooms, and all rooms, suites, and villas are no smoking. Located only 200 yards away from the National Park Visitor and Shuttle Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffrose Lodge And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing