We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view, decent rooms, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, decent rooms, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Beautiful view and grounds, although we stayed too late in the season (mid-November) to take advantage of them. Large room with two queen beds (softer than I’m accustomed to but comfortable), good control of the room temperature, good plumbing, coffee pot, hair dryer. Large flatscreen TV hooked to DirectTV – networks are all in 4:3 SD so you may need to adjust the aspect ratio to your liking. Bathroom sink in view of beds, so difficult not to disturb companion, but shower and toilet are private.

Free coffee in the lobby (and the rooms) and a convenient coffee shop, Cafe Soleil, next door (with many “to go” breakfast choices). There are only two places to smoke, at the outside fire pits, and the closest was a few hundred feet from our room. My wife almost got trampled by a deer on one of her evening smoking forays.

Since I do most of my travel on business, I always rate the internet connections. However, I doubt much business is done from this lovely location. But here goes. The free wireless connection was straightforward the first night, although some of our devices (laptop, iPad, iPod, and iPhone all worked) had to be logged in again with name/password after awakening from a sleep. It was very difficult to get a connection the next day, which we finally decided was a network problem when none of our devices would connect. It recovered later in the afternoon. Speed varied, sometimes grinding to a complete halt. My speed test gave 150 ms ping lag, 0.76 Mbps download, and then couldn’t complete the upload test (lost the connection during the test). Ten minutes later I got 322ms, 0.26 up and 0.02 down. Then 394 ms, 0.393 down and 0.236 up. Lost connection completely in the afternoon (for entire lodge); front desk apologized and connection was back in the evening.

Both persons at the front desk were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have a nice view of the grounds and cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weary_traveler_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    346
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
647
744
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The room and setting were really nice and comfortable. We were in room 124 and our only realy complaint was the noise from the unit above us. You could hear every step, luggage being rolled in, etc... We couldn't hear their TV (if it was on) or any voices, but with the nicely done remodel there was no sound proofing done between floors. Shutters between the bathroom and the main living area didn't provide any privacy for the bathroom user either - but that's not such a big deal. Location to the park was great - Cafe Soleil next door was a great breakfast too. I would stay again but request a 2nd floor room next time.

Room Tip: 2nd floor? Or a unit with no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALK1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had some trouble with our original hotel. Luckily we still found a room at the Cliffrose. Even though it was Thanksgiving evening they took good care of us and ensured we had a great stay. The rooms as well as the other facilities (pool, Jacuzzi, garden) were really nice and created a quite relaxing atmosphere. Also it is just the perfect place to stay when visiting Zion National Park. I would stay there again in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Cliffrose Lodge for 7 days in October as part of a 5 week tour of the national parks, working our way south from Yellowstone. After 2 weeks of desert we were stunned at arriving at this oasis of mediterranean flowers and plants, watered from the river, with hummingbird feeders on our balcony and lush gardens all around, great views in all directions and a short walk to Zion national park. The cost was also very reasonable. Reception staff and owners were always very helpful, guiding us to good restaurants in Springdale, which is full of great shops, though the supermarket was a little disappointing.

Aideen and Denis Jones

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Cliffrose is a great place to stay when visiting Zion. You are literally steps from the Virgin River and the Watchman is watching over you. The grounds are gorgeous, we were there in the fall so most of the flowers were past their bloom but there are still several lovely spots to sit, drink in nature and listen to the river go by.

We had a riverview room and the balcony was quite roomy. On my next stay I will request a ground floor room so that I can just step off the patio and onto the beautiful grounds.

The rooms are very nice, updated and comfortable. We had a sitting room with nice couch and chair and flatscreen tv. The bedroom was equally tasteful with another flatscreen tv. The only thing they are missing is a fireplace.

One of the best things about the hotel, and what earns it a five star rating is the location. You can walk to the visitor center and into the park from this hotel! In the summer you can catch the shuttle from the visitor center and spend your whole vacation without once getting into your car. The Cafe Soliel next door is a wonderful spot for coffee and sandwiches. The Spotted Dog across the street is a nice place for dinner. You are even walking distance from the Imax theatre and small sundries shops!

The staff was very nice and the whole place has a warm, friendly feeling. I just can't recommend them enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loric1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Fabulous setting with balcony view over peaks of Zion National Park. Great location - one of the first accommodation as we came out of the park. Very efficient, welcoming reception with free coffee etc all the time it was open - lent travel charger for a day with no fee. Arrived early and room available. Spacious room, clean, spotlessly clean. Warm in day but had aircon (slightly noisy) but cooled down at night as wind increased outside. Lovelhy swimming pool and jacuzzi. Garden had access to river and deer in garden during evening were not bothered at all by guests walking by - fantastic. Great access to Zion National Park which was a highlight of the tour. Springdale had everything you cold ask for - walk up and down or get the free shuttle buses. Hotel had great cafe next door and Thai restaurant over the road so really no need to go anywhere if feeling lazy. Overall, absolutely excellent and fully recommended.

Room Tip: Riverside King Suite excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashotah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of October and then moved into the park. Although staying in Zion was great, I wished we had continued at the Cliffrose. It is literally a 5 minute walk to the Visitor's Center and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. The pool is huge and was 87 degrees and the hot tub was gorgeous. I was dreaming about using that hot tub after a couple of our hikes. Our room was very nice, as was the staff. There is a great cafe right next door where we had good breakfasts. The town of Springdale is cute with lots of good restaurants just minutes away from the Cliffrose.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynNashotah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens

Property: Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Address: 281 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#2 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens offers an epic location to experience everything Zion National Park has to offer. Our property literally borders Zion National Park along the Virgin River. Resort amenities include a heated outdoor pool, waterfall hot tub, riverside hot tubs, riverside beach, event space, and 5 acres of manicured grounds. All of our rooms, suites, and villas feature luxurious modern amenities. Outside you will find private outdoor balconies or patios. The Cliffrose is an ideal hotel for couples, families, friends, and solo trips. Just like Zion National Park we are also open all year. More than just a place to spend the night you can unpack once and have an experience of a lifetime. During your stay our friendly and attentive staff are always there to make your experience memorable. Remember that parking, coffee & tea, high speed wireless internet, and 24 hour business center access are complimentary. We do not charge resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Lodge And Gardens
Cliffrose Hotel Springdale
Cliffrose Hotel And Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing