We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Town!”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We will definitely come back again to this hotel on our next trip to Zion National Park. This place is incredible! I was greeted by the nicest, friendliest and helpful staff member named Judith who immediately gave me a list of all of the local restaurants in town, as it was New Year's Eve and she suggested making reservations, despite the fact that the town seemed small. She was absolutely right, and she suggested the Spotted Dog Cafe which was delicious! So thanks, Judith! Also, she put us in an amazing King Bedroom Suite (room 111), with a huge balcony on the second floor, looking out at the expansive Zion rock canyons. The suite had a living room area with a couch that converted into a bed if needed, a very large bedroom with the most comfy bed, pillows and linens (and our bedroom also had a spectacular view of the red rock canyons in the day and stars at night), a microwave and coffee maker with yummy coffee and a refrigerator. We just loved it!

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms with balconies facing the Zion rock canyons are pretty incredible. We...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for the wonderful review, and for highlighting Judith's great service. She always does her best to make each person feel welcome, and we are very proud of her.

Although Springdale is a small town, there are several outstanding restaurants here, and it is sometimes prudent to make reservations. We are always happy to assist with recommendations and information. This is what separates people who are just "doing their job" from those who love to help guests, and don't think of them as interruptions.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your suite, and the spectacular views from your balcony. There is nothing like Zion at sunrise or sunset, when the red rocks capture the light and hold it for those brief magical moments. We see it every day, and it still stops us in our tracks!

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope that you return soon, ans stay with us again.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 790 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had our dog in tow and so it was nice to find a local lodging place instead of one of the big chain hotels. We had a huge room and were able to park right in front of the unit. Across our small parking lot was the main road to the park. Since we weren't at the room during the day I can't speak to daily road noise, but it was quiet at night. The room was comfortable and everything worked. The bed was very comfortable and we rearranged some of the furniture to accomodate TV watching. There was a back deck with steps that led to a very large lawn. The river runs through the back of the property. We enjoyed walking down to the river and picking out a couple of chairs to just sit there. The dog loved it. The folks who worked there were wonderful, friendly, helpful and just plain nice. Amenities were pointed out and rules were explained. Restaurants were discussed as well as helping us with doggie day care. The hot tub was open but the pool was closed. It was November. The hot tub was clean, very good pressure and easy to operate. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone going to visit Zion. We plan on returning here for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We had a dog and the pet room was great. I do not know about the other rooms, but if I weren't...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! We are glad to know that your stay with us was memorable.

Winter is an amazing time to visit Zion. Not only is it quiet, as you discovered, but there are opportunities for stunning photographs that most visitors don't get. Also, since the shuttles run only during the summer season, you can drive and park wherever you like, which many people prefer.

We are happy to provide information for our guests, since many local restaurants shorten their hours of operation, and some close completely. This is just one of the many things we do to help guests plan their time at Zion, and we are always adding new activities to the list.

We are very proud of the rooms that are pet-friendly. We recently renovated them, and this has been a positive change for our guests. The grassy area behind the building is perfect for spending time with pets, and we have eight acres for everyone to stretch their legs.

We thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again in the near future.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The room was huge and had lovely, large grass area with canyon views off the back porch. Bathroom was also really nice and big and well appointed. Staff was just lovely; smart, helpful and considerate. Temp controls were accurate and adjusted rapidly, keeping us cozy. Even though it's on the main highway, there just isn't all that much traffic at night so it was really quiet. Most of their rooms are away from the road. We had our dogs with us so we get the roadside rooms.

I don't know why anyone would stay at the main park lodge. It's super snobby and pathetic by comparison. It is sooooo easy to get in and out of Zion, unlike Yosemite, that stay in the park lodge is a waste of time and money.

The Driftwood Lodge is family owned and run and just do a really great job. It was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear guest, thank you so much for the lovely review! We are happy that we helped to make your stay a great one, and hope that you return often.

We have recently updated the pet rooms, and the feedback has been very positive. Although the building is one of our older ones, we have done our best to make it inviting. There is no reason why traveling with a pet should automatically relegate guests to second best, and these rooms are proof of our commitment to make all guests feel welcome.

Our family is truly lucky to live and work in such beautiful surroundings, and we think that this awareness shows in our attitude towards our visitors. And it is always gratifying to see the wonder on people's faces when they see Zion, whether it is their first time, or their fiftieth. I never get tired of hearing about their adventures, or looking at the pictures they have taken. It is the best part of my day.

We hope that your experience was amazing, and that you stay with us again.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We ended up staying at Driftwood Lodge a bit by accident, as we had actually booked another property in another Springfield in a completely different State, 700 miles from Zion!
Having noticed the mistake, I had to cast around and didn't feel particularly hopeful of finding anything decent.
When we arrived from Vegas, it was pouring with rain. The reception staff who checked us in were really friendly and explained really clearly the best way to drive round to our room and where to park.
The creek at the back of our room was very full and fast flowing due to the rain, but the room we had was huge, with two big beds in and it was really warm (despite it being August). The room was really well appointed and maintained and I liked the "mini kitchen" in the first part of the large bathroom.
We waited for it to stop raining and then drove into town for dinner. When we returned we went and sat in the jacuzzi under the stars in the rain and it was just stunning. A real treat.
The next morning's breakfast was brilliant, loads of options and all really good and well presented, eaten on a terrace outdoors with beautiful views. We were able to leave the car there all day in Driftwood's car park and walk into town to get into the National Park.
We really enjoyed staying here and it was a welcome comfort in the rain and the confusion of booking the wrong place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caf1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear guest, we are so glad that things worked out, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are not the only 'Driftwood" in the world, we like to think that we are the best. We set the highest service goals for ourselves, so when guests compliment us, we know we are hitting the mark.

We are pleased that breakfast was to your liking as well. The selections were modified as we received guest feedback, and we feel that the menu was varied enough for just about everyone. We will continue to look for new and tasty ways to help our guests get ready for a long day of hiking.

The Driftwood is continually evolving, as we try to make our guests comfortable, and their stay memorable. We hope that you will return, so that you can judge whether we are living up to these standards.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We called and made a last minute reservation during this Thanksgiving break. We thought most places would surely be sold out but we got lucky at the Driftwood.

The gentleman on the phone assured us we would love our room but don't they always say that? We arrived Thursday afternoon, tired, muddy and banged up from our morning mountain bike ride up on Guacamole Trail. We got our key and found our way back to the cathedral of the patriarchs building.

We were so pleasantly surprised by how simply yet tastefully the room was decorated, and the view was nothing short of spectacular! All the comforts of home...! The room was perfect! Clean, quiet and close enough to hear the river. We both agreed we could just live here!

The room had a very comfy king sized bed, a deck off the back facing the mountains, 2 leather chairs, a tv and a little 'coffee bar' area with a fridge. We agreed it could have used a sink but really, who cares?

Everyone was nice, the grounds were clean and well maintained. We'll be back for sure...!

Trish and Ron

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear guests, thank you so much for the great comments, and for staying with us. It is very unusual to find a last minute room during the holidays, so we are glad that we could accommodate you.

We are pleased that you were happy with the amenities in your room. The new buildings turned out very well, and the guests have been enthusiastic in their praise. We have been busy with landscaping, and we have plans for more improvements to the guest rooms, and the grounds as well.

We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again when you visit Springdale.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of the better properties in Springdale just outside the boundary of Zion National Park. This was our second stay in as many years and will be the hotel of choice if we visit again. It is just a pity that the food quality has deteriorated since our first visit in 2012. Now the restaurant is closed for dinner and only opens for breakfast but the quality of the food is ordinary. Rather go out for breakfast in the town and enjoy a better start to the day. The rooms are good and the views are great! The staff try hard and are friendly all round.

Room Tip: Try the larger newer rooms in the Court Of The Patriachs block.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettMac_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear guest, we thank you for staying with us, and are glad to hear that you will continue to choose us whenever you visit Zion.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast, however, we must clear up the confusion about one point. There was a restaurant on our property, but it closed in 2012. Since it was leased, we did not, of course, have a say in it's decision to close. Our complimentary breakfast is served during the season, from April through October. The menu evolved during the year, and we did our best to appeal to as many guests as possible. We apologize if you did not find it to your liking, but we will continue to improve in this area, until everyone is happy. That is our ultimate goal, after all.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the rest of the property. The new buildings have been a wonderful addition, and we are thrilled with the outcome, and the compliments we have received.

We thank you for taking the time to review us. Praise and criticism are always given equal consideration, and are valuable to any company that wants to grow and improve. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit, so that you can tell us how we are doing!

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed there the last 4 days of October,2013, and was so pleased. We have stayed in high end hotels but wanted to bring the 2 dogs. the room [ 204] was recently renovated as was the rest of the property and was HUGE1 . Lovely place with back patio to 2 pastures and the Virgin River. One block south [walk it if you can] is a park where you can cross the bridge and unleash the dogs for a run or walk on many trails. Be careful if you have small dogs as there are big birds. Hope this helps, room was GREAT! Also,Spotted Dog Café was great food & SERVICE. sWITCHBACK restaurant very good. Hope this helps. I would return for sure.Enjoy!

Room Tip: room 402,if you have pets. Huge room,super clean, patio to wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for staying with us! We recently updated that room to make it even more pet-friendly, and we are glad to hear that you liked the changes. We appreciate the tips for other guests traveling with their pets, it is always good to have that information on hand.

We are pleased to accommodate guests who bring their dogs (or cats), and even though we only have a few rooms that are pet-friendly, we are of the opinion that those rooms should not be second-best. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit, and hope that you return often.

The Driftwood Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,926 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range: $111 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing