We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went to Zion for a hiking trip with four friends. We booked two rooms for three nights. This hotel is a great place to stay. The rooms are spacious, very clean with contemporary décor that matches the atmosphere of Zion National Park.

The Driftwood is on the FREE shuttle route so you can park your car and take the shuttle to the park or to various establishments in town. The shuttle does stop running after 8:30 or 9 pm so if you are into late night dinners, it might not be convenient. However the town is small so you could just walk back and have a nice stroll.

Breakfast is hearty but always the same (scrambled eggs, ham, waffles, potatoes) with yogurt, fruit, cereal and bread selections. Two types of juice, coffee and tea. I agree with other comments that the breakfast was sometimes cold, but I used the microwave to reheat to my preference. We planned two very strenuous and long hikes so having a breakfast such as this one was great. We would have paid at least $15 pp for a heavy breakfast such as this.

Customer service here was superb. Julie and Christian at the front desk were very polite and helpful. They accommodated our request to have the bill for two rooms split 5 ways.

The hot tub was wonderful to come home to after grueling 10 mile hikes each day. The hot tub was very clean and hot!

Rooms had a refrigerator, microwave and K-cup coffee maker, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Every room had a view of the meadow and/or mountains. The frig took about 36 hours to really cool off. They should keep it running or at least turn it up 24 hours prior to guests arrival.

The beds were comfortable with soft linens, two different blankets for cool or warm sleeping and lots of great pillows.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the meadow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    185
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
198
333
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabin John, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms in our building faced the pool and garden and after a long day of hiking in Zion the hot tub was fantastic and much appreciated! The canyon wall vistas from the Lodge, hot tub, and breakfast room and outdoor patio are spectacular. Breakfast was good - hot eggs and sausage and waffles along with cereals, breads, fruits and beverages. The bedroom was clean and functional - microwave and refrig were nice extras. Our only wish was to have a window that opened - the room got stuffy and warm and the A/C was very noisy and not easy to regulate. Bus to Zion Park was right outside - very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CabinJohners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Originally we were disappointed that we could only get 2 of our 3 nights at Zion Lodge in the park but that changed when we checked into the Driftwood for our last night. The accommodations were much better than the park at the same rate and the Driftwood rate included a hot breakfast. It was clean, quiet and the views were beautiful. The restaurants in Springdale are much better than the Red Rock at the Zion Lodge. Since you can only bring a car a very limited distance into the park, unless you are staying at Zion Lodge, you may as well enjoy the Driftwood and the town and just make use of the shuttles. I wish we had stayed all three nights at Driftwood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
249 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This motel is in a nice location just outside the town. However you would need to drive to restaurants. The room was very nice with a balcony overlooking a meadow and rocks. We did think this motel was quite overpriced though.

The pool area was nice and there was also a hot tub. The breakfast was o.k. We stayed for two nights - on one of the mornings the scrambled eggs were just warm and the coffee was awful. However they were fine on the other morning. You can sit outside on the patio with lovely views.

Our one gripe was that we thought we had mislaid one of the keys which was only a plastic credit card type. We were told we would be charged $5 if we could not find it. Luckily we did find it. This is the first time ever there has been a charge for a missing key and we thought this was excessive. After all it was not even a proper key. This experience made us feel they were money grabbing as we had spent $200 on the room.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony overlooking the meadow. The rooms in the other building look over the sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Driftwood Lodge. Our suite was comfortable and spacious, and the patio with a view of the mountains was breathtaking.. We sat there each evening and drank a glass of wine, admiring the view and watching the horses. We appreciated the refrigerator and coffee pot, and liked having a sofa to sit on to watch the news. We had originally wanted to stay at Zion Lodge, which was full, but are so glad we ended up here. The free shuttle to town stops right in front, and we used it each evening to visit local restaurants for dinner. We loved the location. We always choose hotels that include breakfast, as this did. Breakfast was adequate, but the same every day. Note to hotel: no need to cook the scrambled eggs until they are hard and dry. That's a minor criticism, and we'd definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although at the end of Springdale furthest from the National Park entrance, this is a great place to stay. The free shuttle bus stops just outside, and at this past of its run is almost empty. Folk lodging nearer the Park often have to wait for the second bus since by that point the first is often full. The rooms are large and well-equipped, and there is a hot tub and heated outside swimming pool. Breakfasts are generous and the staff very helpful. Springdale offers plenty of dining options, all within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Court of the Patriarchs has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went with another couple and stayed in the family room ( it was two bedrooms, one bathroom, and two separate doors out to the patio). We got this room from calling them directly. The views were great. There is a pool and hot tub. Next to the pool is a small laundry room which we used to wash some of our clothes. Free breakfast was included and it was wonderful- eggs, waffles, ham, fruit, yogart, and cereal. People there were wonderful. We stayed there two nights while we explored Zion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briggsatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
1.4 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#4 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing