We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in magnificent Zion”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in magnificent Zion”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely little town called Springdale. The town has lots of nice places to eat and to shop. We loved the Spotted Dog for a lovely meal. We also ate at Wildcat Willies which was more rustic but great food and reasonably priced. The hotel has a main front desk and a number of timber accomodation blocks. The rooms were large clean and very comfortable. We also had a balcony.
Breakfast was better than most of the other American hotels we had stayed at. You could either sit outside on the patio or inside in a lovely room with a great view of the mountains. the swimming pool had amazing views of the mountains, great for photos. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They also have a laundry which was good to wash our clothes.
The Springdale shuttle bus stops right by the hotel which was super helpful as it was a fair walk from the centre of town. The buses are free and very frequent. The location of the hotel is great and only a few minutes by bus from the Zion national park visitor centre where you get the Zion buses from (which are also free.) We wished we had stayed longer than the 3 nights we had at this hotel. Zion Nation Park is AWESOME. Make sure you also visit Bryce canyon (2 hours in the car) which was even more amazing than Zion. You wont regret staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! We think we have the best of both worlds here at the Driftwood. We are far enough from the center of town to offer our guests some solitude, so they feel that they are really "getting away from it all". Yet we are within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. And, as you say, there is always the shuttle.

We have done our best to make sure that there is something for everyone when it comes to breakfast. Our employees are here to make every person feel comfortable, and to answer all questions they may have. There are eight acres for guests to stroll around, and the views are spectacular from just about everywhere. They still take my breath away, and I see it every day!

We appreciate the review, and the time and effort you put into your comments. We hope that you will stay with us whenever you come back to Zion.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    218
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
227
366
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I stayed here one night in August as we drove through Utah on our cross-country road trip to LA, and it was great. While it seemed like the rest of the hotels in Springdale were full and crowded, Driftwood seemed like a quiet respite. (I don't know why fewer people were staying here -- it certainly had nothing to do with the quality of the place!)

Check-in was easy with a very pleasant desk clerk who asked us where we were from, what we did for a living, etc. Room was spacious, clean, and clearly recently redone, with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Bed was very comfortable.

They seem to take environmental concerns seriously here -- you have to turn on the air conditioning and refrigerator yourself when you arrive, and there are solar panels on the roof.

The bus to Zion National Park stops right in front of the property and couldn't be more convenient, and it makes intermediate stops in town if you don't want to drive. There's also a lovely picnic area on the property that backs up onto the Virgin River, with a view of the Zion Canyon walls.

Breakfast is included, and you can eat it outside on the patio which was very pleasant. Pool was clean. Free wifi. Friendly staff. Reasonable price. Good location. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they have adirondack chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Driftwood and for taking the time to review us. I had a great time speaking with you and your friend at check-in, and I am glad that you enjoyed the conversation as well. One of the perks of my job is meeting people from all around the world, and getting to know them just a little bit. It makes it even better when they are as nice as you!

You are right about our environmental policy, we do our best to conserve and recycle whenever we can. Being so close to one of nature's greatest treasures really reminds us that our resources are precious and finite, so we had better use them wisely. We appreciate your comments regarding this matter.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed all the amenities and upgrades, and hope that you will stay with us whenever you visit southern Utah. We wish you and your friend all the best, and good luck in your journalistic endeavors!

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

had 3 nights stay here. Good location, near enough to the center but far enough away from the noise. Our lodge was really good, tremendous view, very clean and well appointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. breakfast was adequate. Looking at the stars at night was the cream on top. Excellant few days stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJLunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review the Driftwood Lodge. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you on a future visit to Zion.

We agree that our location is perfect, and being away from the town center does have that added bonus for stargazers who don't want light pollution to interfere with their night view.

The new buildings in which you stayed have all the conveniences, and we are pleased that you enjoyed them. The rooms are luxurious without being stuffy, and the views are incredible. A lot of thought and effort went into the design, it is nice to know that our guests appreciate it.

Thank you once again for your comments.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I appreciated Driftwood's simplicity.

The location helped a lot. The lodge is situated south of the main town - just close enough for a short car/bus ride/moderate walk in and just far enough to escape the activity. I particularly appreciated this at night when the stars would just *pop* from my patio view at night, with nothing in the city to get in the way. Being bordered by the Virgin River (where one can sit on the banks and chat up tubers that float by) and a ranch (friendly horses included) contributed to the rustic character.

Unlike the Zion Lodge or other accommodations in town, Driftwood skipped on the coffee shop, restaurant, and gift shop. They are simply a lodge, with no other distractions. I felt like there was a lot energy put into room quality: leather couches, good beds, effective blinds, nice stylistic touches on the tile and faucets in the bathroom, vaulted ceilings, ceiling fans. I definitely took advantage of the Keurig coffee makers. Getting the little things right goes a long way in the experience.

I traveled with eight people, occupying three rooms in the Court of the Patriarchs (the newest property). All were very pleased about the quality of the rooms - after a long hike, they just couldn't wait to get back to relax. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - they were patient helping us split the bills amongst a large group.

My only gripe is, as others have indicated, that the internet signal is a bit weak. But hey, I came to Zion to drop off the grid, and the lack of internet was a great excuse to ignore the real world.

Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobmond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you and your friends for staying with us. The Court of the Patriarchs buildings are the newest addition to the Driftwood, and as you said, a lot of thought went into their design. We are always pleased when guests comment on the little touches that make the rooms elegant yet comfortable.

We love being a part of the Zion experience for travelers from all over the world. Hearing their comments helps us to appreciate just how beautiful this area is, and how lucky we are to see it every day.

We apologize for the Wifi problems, and are glad that you seem to understand that most people come here for the natural wonders, and not for the technology. However, we are looking into options that will provide better service, and hope to have something in place by next season.

Thank you for taking the time to review us in depth. We hope that you will stay with us whenever you return to Zion National Park.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a nice place. The room was really clean and the staff was very helpful and polite. We had a second story private balcony overlooking the river. The only minor complaint is the room was a little dark and the wifi was not close enough to have a strong signal. The breakfast (eggs, potatos, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, granola) had a nice selection and was really good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to the river and upstairs. You will have a nice view of the river and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Driftwood Lodge. Our employees provide great service, and everyone here, from housekeeping and maintenance to the front desk staff, appreciates your recognition.

We take all criticism seriously, and will do our best to correct the issues you mentioned. We will review the lighting in all the rooms, to see if the placement can be improved. We are also looking into options for boosting our Wifi signal, and hope to have something better in place by next year.

Breakfast has been expanded, and we are glad that you enjoyed the selection. It is not always easy to get a good variety for the menu, and we think that we have a nice balance of items to appeal to just about everyone. We thank you for your compliment.

We hope that you will stay with us on all your future visits to southern Utah.

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
240 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed here in late July and were quite pleased with the hotel and it's ameneties. The staff was nice, the rooms, lobby and grounds were clean and well maintained. The setting was beautiful and Springdale is a charming little town. If time would have allowed we would have loved to spend another night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshikn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
driftwoodlodge, Front Office Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for reviewing us. We are sorry that you were only here for one night, and hope that you can come back when circumstances permit a longer visit. There is so much to see in this part of the world, it would take a lifetime to fully explore it all. But that is why people return to Zion year after year, there is always something new to discover!

We do our best to provide guests with a great room, wonderful service, and memories that will bring a smile to their faces. Please visit us again soon!

The Driftwood Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my third trip to Driftwood Lodge since March. It's a convenient get away from the concrete and the bustle of Las Vegas. This trip we stayed in one of the newer signature rooms. Wow! What an amazing feeling. The weather was cool enough to leave the windows open (in July) at night. We could smell the grass, and hear the river! Sitting on the patio at night we saw fireflies in the pasture next door. Obviously, I love the location. The Zion shuttle stops in front of the hotel, and shopping and dining are within easy walking distance. The staff are the nicest people you will meet anywhere, and always make our stay so comfortable, from reservation, to check out. If you want to feel you are staying in the country, but like the creature comforts of a plush bed, and well appointed room, this is he place to stay in Springdale.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms do not have private balconies, but still beautiful views of the back of the prope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindainvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Property: Driftwood Lodge
Address: 1515 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7702
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
#7 Family Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Springdale
Driftwood Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing