We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in October. Easy access to Zion and walking distance to restaurants and shops. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and ample. Rather than a typical continental breakfast we were given vouchers for Oscar's, a terrific restaurant next door. Food was amazing, pricey and free for us staying at the inn. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    48
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
212
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

love Under the Eaves. We stayed in their upstairs suite and were very pleased. Recent remodeling and lots of care and consideration went into furnishings. The location is central to Springdale, UT, the southern entry to Zion National Park. The hosts were warm, welcoming and accommodating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mark & Joe were very helpful in selecting hikes both in and outside of Zion, recommending restaurants, providing a refrigerator just for guests, and being flexible with housekeeping based on our needs. There are well kept seating areas for guests both inside and outside n the yard. They always seemed to be available to answer any questions that we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermC9258TZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Owners Mark and Joe just seem like such pleasant, contented people. Joe did the decorating, which is cluttered and shows the same fascination with found objects that I have. Room 7 the Garden Cabin was the artist's studio of the previous owner and has that charm, set out in the back of the Garden - Mark & Joe's creation. We didn't much test Joe and Mark's tour guide skills as were pretty worn out from the Kaibab and Bryce, but that didn't keep Mark from volunteering Frontier Plunder a shop just down the street where they bought many of the treasures they use to decorate their establishment. The prices really are good and the goods are beautiful and old. We ended up dropping about $900 on a Navajo saddle blanket, a Hopi pot, and half a dozen pieces of turquoise and silver jewelry all made by hand and dating from the 1930's. It is the only shop we entered in Spring, one of only two we visited during our entire vacation - and we went back a second time.
The only glitch in under the eves is the somewhat cumbersome system for reserving a room. Online it isn't a real time process, so be sure and express interest in a couple of rooms in case your first choice is taken. A phone call can also help, though even there I'm afraid Joe "lost" my first reservation - so make sure you get your emailed confirmation - though we were subsequently upgraded at no extra charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A most charming B&B with seating in the pretty garden to watch the sun light up the mountains at sunset. Our room was snug but lovely, great shower and comfy bed. Mark and Joe were welcoming hosts, happy to chat, and with lots of local information, which was good as we came down for breakfast to receive confirmation of the Federal Shutdown. We still had a great day hiking Eagle Crags trail and driving up Kolob Terrace to the reservoir. We would certainly stay again when we return to see Zion open!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived in Zion twelve hours before the government shutdown. Although we were shut out of the Park, we were not shut out of a great vacation. Joe and Mark went out of their way to make sure we had more than enough to keep us busy and happy. They printed maps and outlined hikes, suggested scenic drives to rival the sights in the Park, and helped with restaurant choices. The inn is lovely and comfortable, the gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is served across the street at a quaint cafe with delicious dishes. Watching the sunset on the front porch each evening was an added bonus. We plan to return to Springdale as much to visit Zion National Park as to stay again with Joe and Mark at Under the Eaves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmfromcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The area outside of Zion National Park is breath taking and beautiful, and our stay at Under the Eaves has been well worth the trip. Mark and Joe are generous with their time and knowledge of hikes, restaurants, scenic views, etc. The nonsensical shutdown helped us create an unforgettable and fun adventure in this area. Stayed in the cabin room, #7, a lovely and cozy cabin with plenty of room for relaxing, inside and outside the room. Common rooms have nice places to relax with tea or coffee, and to review maps and brochures to plan your day. Bella, the resident dog, is calm and sweet. Come on up, Springdale and surrounding towns are open for business! Lynn & Lisa

Room Tip: Cabin #7 offers privacy and comfort, with relaxing seating areas inside and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Property: Under The Eaves
Address: 980 Zion Park Blvd, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing