We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, rooms small”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, rooms small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April into May. The owners were not around but the person they had filling in was very nice and helpful with restaurant recommendations and logistics. The house is very pretty and the grounds full of flowers.
The room was nice enough, and clean enough but very very small. I guess you are not in this town for the accommodations we are here to see Zion National Park. The bed was comfortable.
There is a guest refrigerator that you can get water from and also keep any left overs etc. This was a nice thing to have but the water was gross coming out of the refrigerator. The filter was probably in desperate need of changing.
The breakfast part of this bed and breakfast was to go to Oscar's Cafe with a voucher that they give you. This was the best part of the stay. Oscar's food was fabulous.
All in all it was an OK stay and I wouldn't say don't stay here but I would think for the $$ you could find some place better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Softball4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    47
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
205
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The owners, Mark and Joe, are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area especially Zion National Park. The house has been decorated with a lot of thought and is beautiful. Our bedroom and bathroom were exceptionally clean. The breakfast at Oscar's cafe was delicious and so much to choose from. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front deck in the evening watching the world of Springdale go by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I went to 7 different hotels/motels/b&b's before landing here. When I walked up to the door I was greeted by the beautiful Bella, a sweet and friendly dog. From there I knew that's were we were staying. The place is incredibly charming and cozy. Joe was very attentive, patient and friendly. We ended up touring all rooms. Most are small, and slightly outdated- but its an intentional part of the charm. We fell in love with their newest room at the top of the property. It was roomy, new, fresh and posh and still charming with cool antiques. My boyfriend had one complaint that I see as a plus- no tv. Which is understandable but you don't need one when you have a hammock, free coffee, tea, hot coco and a beautiful yard with a water fountain..oh yea and also mnt. Zion! Joe recommended everything (almost like free consierge services) such as bars, restaurants, the best hikes and he even lent us walking sticks. One thing however- I would give breakfast at Oscars 4 stars if it didnt come with the package, just not as impressed. Over all it was a wonderful place, a regular hotel could not compare and it blows any other b&b out of the water. The price for what you get is unbeatable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

On a three week road trip in southern Utah and northern Arizona, we stayed in a lot of budget motels, all of which we really enjoyed, but were really basic. This place, however, was like a little paradise for a price comparable to a few other places we stayed. We reserved in the most affordable accommodation, the Hiker's room with two single beds. Not a lot of space, but we loved it. The backyard garden is a wonderful place to enjoy the evening with a patio, swing, hammock. A block from downtown and all of the restaurants and shops in Springdale. The breakfast in the morning at a nearby restaurant was amazing!! The owners are hospitable and helpful. Loved, loved this place. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights a couple months back and it was truly wonderful! The garden cabin is romantic and cozy with artistic antique rustic decor. We loved it. Mark and Joe are charming and helpful hosts. The hearty breakfast at Oscar's is a perfect start for a day of hiking in the incredible Zion National park!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernlights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were on a pleasure trip to Zion National Park. The weather was in the 110 range during the day, making the middle of the day almost unbearable. Fortunately we had a wonderful spot in town, run by Joe and Mark, two very gracious hosts. The B&B is centrally located, and while our room was a bit small, it had a wonderful ambience with the addition of being able to use the living room, porch, and a large refrigerator with freezer in the main house. Good restaurants were close by, as was the shuttle stop to take us into the park. The A/C in the room was nice to have for our afternoon break. Had the weather been a bit less steamy we would have enjoyed the outdoor sitting area and hammock. The personal touches to the rooms reflected the attention both Mark and Joe gave to guests. The breakfast voucher for Oscar's was also nice, with a broad selection of choices which a small B&B cannot do. There they had newspapers as well, giving one the chance to linger a bit unless trying to beat the heat!

Room Tip: We preferred our room at the back to avoid any noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is bursting with character and charm. When we arrived there was no one home but the door was left open with a little note saying to make ourselves at home in our separate cottage. This pretty much sums up the laid back owners! The cottage was quaint, small but beautiful. There are about 4 cottages around the garden and they all looked lovely. There's a lovely large hammock to chill out in and guests are welcome to hang out in there living room and tea area. It's located in the heart of Springdale, but there are no noisy neighbours. We feel asleep each night to the sound of crickets. The owners must love angels as they are everywhere! You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Breakfast is served in Charlie's restaurant and is included in the price of the stay, here you can chose from nothin on the menu so it actually works out better than if they served breakfast! Oh and Charlie's is a stones throw away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenbegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.2 mi away
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Historic Pioneer Lodge
#14 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Property: Under The Eaves
Address: 980 Zion Park Blvd, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing