We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Zion visit”
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Mark, Joe & Bella are great hosts. They provided spot on advice on local activities, hikes, galleries, and restaurants. The atmosphere is a serene environment for adults, and a traditional bed and breakfast experience. I love their simple non invasive housekeeping request forms. Oscar's restaurant provides nice breakfast selections fast to get you out and on the trail. Just a great experience. When we come back I cannot imagine staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Cottage house 4 gets the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 355 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Mark and Joe are great hosts, offering comfortable rooms and friendly service. You can enjoy the serenity of the backyard or company on the front porch in the front room. They gave us practical and helpful tips on hiking trails in Zion and advice on other national parks. The breakfast at Oscar's is great.

Room Tip: We chose the garden room which is a good option for bird watchers - looking down on the back yard an...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JackQOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2013. Great value, great hosts, quiet comfortable room. (Room 2). So convenient to the park. Beautiful setting with gorgeous gardens. From the backyard swing, I watched the sun set over Zion. Just beautiful. Mark and Joe were helpful and friendly but not intrusive, just as hosts should aspire to be. As others have noted, tea/coffee available at all times, and a great breakfast at Oscar's.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've stayed at Under the Eaves 3 times now, and each time I love it more. You can't beat the location, in the center of the town of Springdale, and the grounds of the Inn are lovely. The rooms aren't large but are decorated nicely and super comfortable. Breakfast at Oscar's is delicious. But what makes this inn unique are your hosts, Joe and Mark. They love Southern Utah and really want to make sure you have the best experience possible. They know the area inside and out, and have always given me recommendations for wonderful hikes, most off the beaten path. But among the top memories of my trips here is that of enjoying a cup of coffee (always available) on the porch in a comfy Adirondack chair, taking in the view of the spectacular red rock formations. Looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: My favorite room is Cottage #4-small but lovely, and you only have one neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operacarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Got free coffee on arrival (and afterwards), booked a small but beautiful room, stayed there for three great nights. Walls are thin (you hear the other guests), but this is normal for an old house. Got good advice on how to spend our day in the park and where to have dinner. Slept well and felt very welcome and "at home". Breakfast was at the Oscars, a cafe nearby, liked it. We will definitively come back when we are again in the area. Thanks, Marc and Joe!

Room Tip: If your budget is big enough, choose the gorgeous room under the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwesny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Under the Eaves. Both Mark and Joe, our hosts, were most personable showing great interest in all our adventures. They dubbed us their "hikingest" guests ever. Our room was modest in size but perfectly functional for us. Plus, they have a nice, grassy back yard, dining room and living room all accessible to the guests. The front porch was a shady place to check your email, observe humming birds at close range or just gaze across the valley at the mountains. We appreciated the character of the house and it's location right downtown on the main drag. There are a bunch of shopping and restaurant options within a few minutes walk. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in the "Hikers Room" in the basement of the small cottage in the background. We were looking for something inexpensive, yet clean, safe, and charming. It met all of our criteria and then some! The hosts were incredible! They treated us as if we were well established friends and gave us great advice and reviews of the Springdale area and environs. The BIG BONUS for staying there was the breakfast at Oscar's. When you stay at Under The Eaves you get a breakfast ticket for a breakfast and beverage of your choice at Oscar's, which is within walking distance from Under The Eaves. The breakfast at Oscar's was AMAZING! We stayed three nights for $95 a night, which was totally worth it, because each breakfast cost us at least $30. I would definitely recommend Under The Eaves to anyone looking for a place to stay while visiting Zion N.P. or Bryce Canyon N.P.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 17 in Springdale
1,211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 17 in Springdale
1,959 reviews
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#8 of 17 in Springdale
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#6 of 17 in Springdale
724 reviews
0 mi away
Red Rock Inn Bed and Breakfast Cottages
1.4 mi away
Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Address: 980 Zion Park Blvd, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range: $95 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing