We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast, small rooms”
Review of Under The Eaves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under The Eaves
Ranked #5 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Bed and Breakfast, small rooms”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here in september. The B&B is located very close to a supermarket and the busstop to Zion National park. Also the liquor store is on walking distance. The rooms are basic and small, but nice decorated. However, the garden, with lawn furniture, is big and beautiful with a fantastic view on the surrounding mountains. An excellent place to relax after a hike in Zion, which is 5 minutes away by car ( or bus) from this B&B. Mark and Joe are gracious hosts. Breakfast with Oscar's is excellent. We enjoyed diner in the only Thai restaurant in Springdale.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ap B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    48
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
209
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here in a garden view room, and it was just great. My husband thought the room was small and grumbled at the lack of a TV. However, after our two night stay he decided that it was perfect for our needs. It is a sanctuary that really encourages quiet enjoyment of the wonderful garden area with beautiful views, as well as a very comfortable common area/living room that was stocked with a library of information about the park. Mark and Joe are just as hospitable and helpful as everyone says, and are available 24/7 if they are needed. The location is very convenient-the shuttle system is awesome, and their arrangement with Oscar's for breakfast is pretty much ideal. The yogurt parfait and pork chile verde omelet were delicious! *A note about our cozy room- I think I remember reading that the small cottage that the room is a part of was once a cottage located within the park. It was later moved and converted by the B&B rather than torn down. How cool is that?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the hikers room as all the other rooms were taken. it was very small but we knew that when we booked it. Under the Eaves is a fairly basic B+B but this place is not about all mod cons or 5star services. From the moment we contacted mark and jo we knew we would enjoy our stay. Mark suggested a short hike to do on our way over from Bryce if we ended up with time to spare and his directions even included advice about where to make sure you stick to the speed limit..... On arrival we were shown to our room with plenty of suggestions for where to eat in the evenings, where to watch the sunset from and most importantly what the best hikes in the park are (ie dont follow the crowd to angels landing). Breakfast is served in Oscars Cafe which has a really good mix of healthy fruit/granola type dishes as well as the usual cooked options.

This b+b probably isnt everyones cup of tea, but we really enjoyed our stay and got far more out of our days in Zion National Park thanks to the enthusiasm of mark and jo than we would have done staying at a larger hotel or inn

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrb72_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location of this B & B is excellent, and there is a lovely yard with a swing in which to relax and gaze at the view. However, the rooms are very small, and in the cabin in which we stayed, the air-conditioning unit was not very efficient at cooling the room, so it was difficult to get a comfortable temperature for sleeping. It was nice to have a choice of food at breakfast at the neighboring restaurant, but I missed the camaraderie and opportunity to meet people that you have when the breakfast is served at the B & B itself.Finally, there were no housekeeping services during our stay, so I had to empty the garbage etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhopkins36471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnderTheEaves, Owner at Under The Eaves, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
The cabin rooms have AC units that will accommodate rooms much larger than the space they are in; we have not received any negative feedback regarding their performance. Perhaps an adjustment needed to be made. In regards to “no housekeeping services”, we do provide housekeeping services and are happy to do so. We have a “privacy policy” and do not enter guest rooms unless we are requested to do so. We have received only positive feedback on this procedure. All rooms have note pads for our guests to request housekeeping services such as new towels, bed made up, new bedding, trash emptied, and any other needs. We live at our Inn and see our guests on a regular basis. We could have easily rectified any confusion had they simply communicated with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I spend last labor day weekend in Zion and stayed @ Under the Eaves for 3 nights. We totally fell in love with this cozy, comfortable and beautiful inn. The place decoration and art is stunning. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They help us to plan our hikes and borrowed us hiking sticks. There are really good books about the Zion National Park and surrounding in the common area of the inn so you do not need to worry about getting information ahead of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My husband and I went on a 3-week coast-to-coast road trip in the U.S. on August 2011.
We drove from California to MD, and camped every night. The one exception was our night at Under The Eaves.
We had a wonderful experience with our stay over there. The owners- Mark and Joe- were very hospitable, and helpful in recommending places to eat etc...
The room in the back yard was simply lovely. It was clean and charming, and the back yard had swings, hammocks, water fountains, and was very green and welcoming.

The room comes with a breakfast, at the restaurant next door (Oscar's).
Breakfast was just awesome! Very generous portions, and delicious.
We both felt like we were on our second honeymoon :)

Thanks, Joe and Mark for making our vacation all the more special and charming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NnR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at under the eaves from july 15th-17th and we had a wonderful time! Mark and Joe were very welcoming and gave us tips about nice restaurants (The Bit and Spur has the BEST guacamole!) and advise on the hike we decided to go on. The complimentary breakfast at Oscars was great! We went all in on the day of our hike and got a lighter breakfast the next day and both were delicious. The best part was probably the back garden with the hammock, porch swing and fountains. We felt right at home and would have loved to stay longer. If we ever go travelling in the states again we will be sure to come back! Thank you so much Mark and Joe!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Historic Pioneer Lodge
#15 of 16 in Springdale
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under The Eaves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under The Eaves

Property: Under The Eaves
Address: 980 Zion Park Blvd, Box 29, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springdale’s oldest Inn: Relaxing gardens, Spectacular views. Seven rooms; private baths, eclectic mix of art/antiques. Centrally located to restaurants, shops and Zion Canyon. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Eaves Hotel Springdale
Under The Eaves Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing