We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, high prices”
Review of Whiptail Grill

Whiptail Grill
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $17
Cuisines: Southwestern, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: A green approach to fine food with a casual atmoshpere and price. Featuring Southwestern, Asian, Burgers, and Vegetarian fare. Everything housemade and prepared fresh daily. Beer and Wine menu available. Enjoy the large covered patio seating and the spectacular surrounding views of Zion National Park.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, high prices”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Funky looking place. Wire top tables don't get wiped off very often, nor do the menus. Ikk.

Menu contains basically American-Mexican selections. But the carne asada tacos are the best! Comes with 2 large ones that could be shared. Salsa fresca on them was tasty! Black beans as small side were delish! Salad of baby greens were soft and fresh with very good salad dressing. However, salad should be on a separate plate so thar the corn tortillas of the tacos don't get soggy!

And we're from Arizona and have eaten plenty of all of those things, made by real Mexicans.

Two plates of Carne Asada tacos, appetizer of chips and salsa (different but just OK) and one lemonade, plus tax and tip was $50!!! Expensive lunch for 2 people.

I had to chase down someone to get and pay the bill as the 2 people waiting tables were consumed with cleaning up after a large group of about 20 people who just left.

But we loved the food so much, we'd go back next time we're visiting Zion Nat'l Park.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R3luctanttrav3l3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    447
    106
    33
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky, but average”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited based on the Trip Advisor reviews. The place in funky - an old converted garage, with outdoor seating. The seating faces the road, so it's noisy. Service was great, but we didn't find the food that good. The fish tacos were chipolte/bbq flavoured, than authentic Mexican ones. My husband had a pizza, which was overloaded with BBQ sauce. The restaurant doesn't serve anything but beer or wine, which was disappointing (we were craving margaritas after a long hike in Zion!). It's an alright spot for a casual meal, but I was disappointed after reading such positive reviews, and would recommend other spots in Springdale over this one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihearttravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great service, great food, and funky location in an old petrol station. The shop next door sells some cool retro gear. We went here twice during our 2 day stay because we liked it so much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank janjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very good food at a reasonable price.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Service is not top notch, and the choice of beverages very limited (no cocktails, just beer and wine), but the place looks great, and the food is good. While not totally funky, the menu tries some things, which changes from the hord of burgers and pizzas in Springdale. The city will never be a foodies destination, but this is a safe choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenoitChartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really good food - funky space”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Kind of a funky location - converted gas station - but the roof over the old gas pump area provided enough shade to make it comfortable. No issues with traffic noise. Very attentive waiter. Delicious wraps, sandwiches and salads. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiptail Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whiptail Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing