We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in town!”
Review of The Historic Pioneer Restaurant - CLOSED

The Historic Pioneer Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Montrose, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best value in town!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Since we stayed in the attached hotel we received a 50% discount on all of our meals. Considering the fact they have huge portions, and are already one of the least expensive restaurants in town it was a great value.

We ate almost all of our meals here, and would do so again if we returned. For breakfast I recommend the chuckwagon meal (eggs, french toast or pancakes, and your choice of meat), and for lunch/dinner the club was great as was the chicken sandwich with veggies and ranch.

The only thing I didn't like was the french dip which was super fatty, but it still didn't stop us from returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jasmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    158
    101
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearns, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST - EXCELLENT”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

During a recent trip to Southern Utah during Presidents Day weekend we had an experience with dining we would like to share. On Valentines Day we stopped in at Wildcat Willies for lunch. We stood out in the waiting area for several minutes before anyone came to seat us. Once in the restaurant, it took forever for anyone to acknowledge we were there or take our order. Once our order was taken it again took quite a long time to get our food. On Sunday we stopped back by Wildcat Willies to give it another try; hoping that the first visit was just a fluke. Well, once again waited along with three other couples to be seated, once seated no one asked if we wanted coffee for breakfast or take our order; we ended up walking out and going to the Pioneer Restaurant just across the street. As we walked in the door we were immediately greeted and seated and asked what we would like to drink, our order was taken as our drinks were brought and our food came in a very short time. We had breakfast and I suggest the Pioneer Skillet (Excellent), all of our food was very tasty, the service was OUTSTANDING and the prices are very reasonable. At Wildcat Willies if you wanted meat with your breakfast it was an additional $2.99; at the Pioneer it is included. I highly recommend the Pioneer Restaurant not only for the excellent food and service but also for the atmosphere of an establishment that cares about the customer and providing QUALITY CUSTOMER SERVICE that makes you want to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WALT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryanna V, Guest Relations Manager at The Historic Pioneer Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Walt,

We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to better serve you. Here, we work together as a team and our customers are our first priority. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the freshly made food. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We were there over NYE weekend and we were surprise on how dead the restaurant. We finished our hike out at the park. We went to the restaurant I have to say there was nothing impressive with the menu. After looking at the whole menu if you wanted a semi healthy option this is not the place to go. My boyfriend enjoyed the chicken fried steak. I settled for a small side salad. I'm not normally picky with food but it would of been nice to have either a wrap option or something healthier than just a burger or club sandwich.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomieMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent breakfast”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Coffee was hot. Breakfast was good. They even had a spinach and feta cheese egg white omelette. I was impressed. Hotel guests get 50% off (in the offseason at least)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJBautista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for desert”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Pioneer Lodge guests get a 50% discount on their bill. I only had desert at the restaurant. It was quite tasty. I don't know about the dinner or lunch offerings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Pioneer Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing