We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of Spotted Dog Cafe

Spotted Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Spotted Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had dinner here based on a recommendation from my sister. The menu had more upscale choices than many of the other restaurant options (basic American fare). I enjoyed the short ribs and my husband thought his meatloaf was very good. Kids liked the medallions of beef and hamburger. Large windows provided nice light and great scenic views.

We returned for the breakfast buffet and the food was high quality and great value. I loved the pancakes, husband enjoyed the biscuits and gravy.

We highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaraWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,160
    705
    261
    79
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice upscale dining in Springdale”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The setting is perfect with the large windows allowing great views of the sun going down on Zion Canyon. Good, fun menu choices. Food was really good but not exceptional. Service was exceptional. All staff were responsive. Our waiter, Cade was particularly engaging and had a genuine affinity for the area and it's history. Decor featured interesting Jim Jones paintings of Zion and the Grand Canyon area. Would recommend Spotted Dog for a nice dinner after a day of "roughing it" in Zion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris027027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gods country
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The food, service, and the amazingly debonair James, will surpass your expectations. The experience was far superior in comparison to other dining choices in the village. Cannot say one ill comment about this fine establishment.

Helpful?
Thank felching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
472 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“good meal and service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

They have a good menu. It is a little fancier than I expected for the area. We really enjoyed the food and service. It was priced like you would expect a good restaurant, Nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Setting is upscale, but food isn't”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This eatery is right before the entrance to the park. While the setting and decor indicates that an upscale experience awaits, the actual dining experience is poor. I tried the pesto pasta (overcooked), a glass or wine (a less than generous pour), and had a cup of cappuccino (weird bitter taste to it, I could only stomach two sips) and a brownie chocolate cake (hard-as-nails frosting made it evident this dessert had been waiting to be served for some time). To top it off, I became sick to my stomach after returning to the hotel room and continued to feel poorly the next morning. Needless to say, you should give this place a pass.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spotted Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Spotted Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing