We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY
Reserve with OpenTable
SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Switchback stop
Description: Nestled at the foot of the Watchman rock formation in Zion Canyon, Switchback Grille Steak & Fish House features hand-selected USDA Prime beef, Certified Angus Beef and a daily fresh fish menu that follows the seasons. Artfully prepared dishes, warm superior service, stunning views of the West Temple and a sophisticated southwest dining room come together for a truly unique dining experience. Additionally, Switchback offers full bar service with the area’s most extensive wine list. Banquet and catering services are available year round as well as a cozy sports grill with all of your pub favorites.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice service, the breakfast could use a little work. And the people up front could show more interest in the customer, but ok

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank todski85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    302
    154
    73
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The worst service in USA in last 2 weeks”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

While the chichen pizza and salad were satisfactory and of good size, the service was terrible and basically non existent. I had to fight to get menus, fight to get our food ordered and after finishing and our plates sitting there for 15 minutes and not getting cleared, i started to get really angry. Basically i walked out and luckily there was someone at the front desk who i could complain to, otherwise i would have walked out without paying.

Basically they are totally disorganised and/or our waitress was hopeless. There seem to be heaps of staff, as i got my watered refilled ten times, but as they cannot take orders, find the waitress or do anything else but water they couldnt solve the problems. I would never ever ever go there ever again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mattgreengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Dinner, Very Nice Staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staff was very friendly right from the minute they sat us down. We did not have reservations; they had no problem that we walked up in our hiking clothes, especially since the atmosphere is that of fine dining. Two of us are vegetarians; I stuck with their traditional pasta. Was good, not over the top great, but fine. My husband had a steak and was very pleased. Staff did accommodate some requests not on the menu from cocktails for the guys (an Old Fashioned) to a dessert for me (cheesecake with fresh fruit vs. their standard strawberries). Very simple things, but that little extra effort they went to, makes a vacation even better. They were NOT quick to say 'No', which is always refreshing. Timing on dinner and dessert was just fine…there was no rushing us along, nor did we have to wait long in between. Can't say we had any negatives to report.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calkinswolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast too late”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Breakfast supposedly starts at 7am. This would be considered late for anyone wishing to do hiking in Zion National Park.
However the doors on both days we stayed were not open until either 7:05 or 7:10am.
There were queues outside in the car park, particularly with a large coach tour group one day.
Due to having to wait to be individually seated the breakfast queue is very slow and resulted in not finishing breakfast one day until 8:30.
Nowhere else we stayed near a National Park was breakfast so late.
The evening meal we had at Switchbacks was very nice, although not the cheapest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeD363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average food overpriced”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two days in Springdale while visiting Zion. On our second evening, we decide to try The Switchback Grille. First impression was not good, we had to wait 15 minutes despite the fact that there were many open tables. We had an outside table and that is the best to say about the restaurant. My wife and I had fish. Presentation of each plate was correct but overpriced by at least $10. At $38, your specials have to be more impressive than what we had. Wine list is decent. Definitely do not recommend this restaurant at their current; all looks over content!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drarig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY also viewed

 

Been to SWITCHBACK GRILLE & TRADING COMPANY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing