We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Springdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Matt and Trista are wonderful hosts. My husband and I loved this B&B. At checkin we received an information sheeet containing the details we needed for our stay. The room was very clean, functional, nicely decorated and VERY comfortable with a wonderful view of the mountains. Most days we left very early in the morning. Not to worry, Trista would place a wonderful breakfast in our room the night before: juice, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit and granola bars/dried fruit for later. The two 8:00 breakfasts we enjoyed were served in a dining room that encouraged guests to talk to each other. We would all talk about what we had done and what we wanted to do. Trista shared her extensive knowledge of the town and Zion park with her guests. She offered to make dinner reservation for you, if necessary. The food was delicious. Savory one day. More sweet the next. Trista even invited our daughter (employed at the park) to breakfast. What a hostess! Trista was very open to requests/questions. She treats you like a guest in her home. Convenient off street parking. TheCanyon Vista is near a shuttle stop. Park your car at the B&B and ride the free shuttle through the town and park. Just relax, no need to drive. I highly recommend the Canyon Vista B&B.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    41
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
261
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Trista- one of the owners of this splendid B&B was warm, friendly, and very laid back making our visit to Zion and Springdale relaxing and comfortable. Their B&B is just about 2 miles from the south entrance to zion and a few feet from the Springdale shuttle bus (which is free for commuting to Zion). The B&B has off road parking suites and standard rooms. We stayed in the Pa'rus Room which has a private exterior entrance (as each room does). THe room was equipped with a coffee maker, small frig, mini kitchen sink, and microwave. Huge bathroom with jet tub and shower. There was no TV reception but plenty of movies to select from at the inn keeper's residences above. This B&B accommodates early morning departures with continental breakfasts and a full hot meal served family style in the dining room each day at 8am. We enjoyed homemade biscuits and boysenberry jam and potato egg fritata. The second morning we had blueberry almond baked French toast, yogurt and granola and chicken sausage- all was fabulous. Our hostess was able to check us in and print our boarding passes on SW while we were off hiking away in the park. She offers to make all your meal reservations and was spot on for dinner/lunch rec'd in town. The inn keepers can make suggestions for hikes, running trails etc... The home is lovely with huge prich for the suites in the front and large outdoor patio in the rear for others with plenty of shaded seats. Horses are on the perimeter and Red Rocks in the backyard - don't forget your bathing suite bc there is an outdoor jacuzzi. I would send any friend or family member here and I will return!

  • Liked — location, room setup and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hammocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Tripadvisor have forced me to change my original review in which I questioned the validity of the negative reviews for Canyon Vista. Fortunately my wife and I knew we could ignore such reviews when booking our last stay in Springdale.

We have just spent four nights at Canyon Vista. It’s the second time we have traveled 6000 miles to stay there. There will be a third time too. We love it there. It is a B&B in the proper sense of the term: you get beautiful and clean accommodation, a real breakfast and so much more! It is a family home with four immaculately presented guest rooms with differing features, providing flexible arrangements for individual needs of singles, couples or families. We’ve now stayed in Kinesava and Pa’rus rooms, with Kinesava being spacious enough for a family, and Pa’rus ‘intimate’ for a couple. It’s the detail that makes the difference at Canyon Vista. There are so many little special touches, from the freshly cooked ‘gourmet’ breakfast prepared and served by Trista at 0800 each morning, to the abundance of fittings and equipment in each room (you’ll find so many useful things thoughtfully tucked away in the room). You get the best form of entertainment, that provided by friends and relatives (and not from the TV), brilliant starlit skies, and Canyon Vista’s stunning location on the fringe of Springdale. If you really are too exhausted after a strenuous day’s hiking you can relax with a DVD or video, but there is no TV reception, and what a blessing in disguise that is! I’ve never seen such trash forced on the American population as by US TV stations. It’s just another example of quantity taking preference over quality. When will Americans appreciate that small can be beautiful? Canyon Vista is not a big facility, although it has ample parking, hot-tub, patios and terraces to sit on, a yard extending to the river for kids to play in, scenic views in each direction, a bus-stop nearby for free bus-service into Springdale and on to Zion Park. If you can’t find something, or you think you are missing something, simply ask and we know your hosts will do everything to ensure you enjoy your stay. They also have great recommendations on where to eat, sights to see, and ‘secret’ trails and points of interest only known to the locals. Make sure you socialize with your fellow guests at breakfast. It’s a great opportunity to make friends, learn how to make the most of your stay, and enjoy some excellent food.

We know Trista and Matt are great hosts. And it is nice to know Matt has a sense of humour, something lacking in those negative reviewers of Canyon Vista. In every respect this B&B easily lives up to its 4.5 Star rating. My wife and I thoroughly recommended Canyon Vista B & B!

  • Liked — Somewhere I know will be perfect to relax in
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentlandpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

Zion National Park is an incredible place to visit -- great hikes, great scenes of beauty. and more. If you go there and like B&Bs, definitely check out Canyon Vista B&B. I can't say enough about it. The rooms (we booked two: one for me and my wife, the other for our daughter) were lovely and comfortable, with every amenity -- including a small fridge and microwave. The food was delicious, the company fun, and perhaps most important, the innkeepers --- Trista and Matt -- were two of the most genuinely warm and welcoming people we've ever met. We've been to a lot of B&Bs over the years. This one rates right up there in the top 3.

Bruce, Lynne & Jessica

  • Liked — The company and convenience
  • Disliked — Not a single complaint
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bk1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 8 and 11) stayed at Canyon Vista for 3 nights when we toured Zion, Bryce and the North Rim. It was probably one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at (and we've experienced quite a few in a number of countries!) for the following reasons:
- the location was ideal for Zion and the views breathtaking;
- the accommodation we had was spacious, comfortable and had all the amenities we wanted;
- the hot tub was great (even though we should have done it in the cool evening rather than the afternoon!);
- Trista's breakfasts were varied and delicious and my son's food allergies were catered for;
- Trista was warm and friendly and provided good advice on what hikes to do (and also lent us very useful walking sticks for the Narrows) and what places to eat;
- When we needed to leave early for a morning horse ride, Trista kindly provided breakfast earlier so that we didn't have to go with an empty stomach and when one of us went for an early morning hike and could only get back later in the morning for breakfast, the breakfast could be kept till then!

Zion is a long long way from us but should we ever be there again, we will definitely stay at Canyon Vista. We would certainly be recommending it to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhpmsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I gave the Canyon Vista a low rating to alert people that there are much better places to stay in Zion. It is not really "terrible," just very disappointing.

We arrived in 106 degree heat at 3:30 and one of our rooms was not ready. Trista did not tell us when breakfast was and we forgot to ask. When we went upstairs the next morning at 7:15 the door was locked and no lights were on. We left and bought food in the grocery store as we wanted an early start for hiking in such heat. The shuttle buses start running at 6:00 a.m.

That afternoon Trista told us breakfast is at 8:00 (in response to a note I left her). An 8:00 breakfast is not compatible with the needs of hikers who want to get going.

The rooms were nicely decorated. But there was evidence everywhere of a compulsive economizing that made me feel unwelcome. No TV. No Kleenex. Not even any soap! Well, there was a single bottle of liquid soap in a ceramic container. I was terrified I was going to break it moving it back and forth between the sink and shower. The toiletries consisted of 40 oz containers of cheap shampoo and conditioner. Our paper towels in the kitchen area ran out.

There is no view of the river from the property. There might be upstairs but we did not want to sit on the porch where Matt and Trista were relaxing. Matt is not too friendly.

We enjoyed the video selection (not extensive but we don't watch many videos so it was OK for us). Trista made a lovely breakfast the next day and it was beautifully presented.

We got no discount for missing a meal. The place is way too expensive for what you get.

I would even take a conventional hotel with a swimming pool over the Canyon Vista next time. That old Roger Miller song with the line "no phone no pool no pets" kept going through my mind after the Canyon Vista. OK, it was not nearly that bad -- I just feel like a chump for spending so much there.

Helpful?
2 Thank californiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We only stayed 2 nights but wished it were longer. We stayed in a different room each night due to someone's previous booking and our late one. That was no problem at all and actually it was nice to see 2 of the 4 rooms. Both rooms were clean, large, nicely decorated and fully stocked with micro, coffee pot (and coffee), and refrigerator - mini kitchen with a table. Nice if you are traveling by car. Wonderful breakfasts by Trista. Matt and Trista can both give helpful tips about the area.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — View is in the back - our room was in front
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cville08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Lodge
Driftwood Lodge
#7 of 16 in Springdale
756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast

Property: Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2175 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7779
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in nature's grandeur at Zion National Park (and away from crowds), this riverside property offers rustic-elegant suites with luxurious duvet bedding, beautifully-crafted furnishings, private baths, well-equipped kitchenettes, dining and sitting areas. Canyon Vista offers awe-inspiring views of Zion National Park's towering peaks; beautiful landscaping, waterfall, spacious orchard, swings for two, river-side and suite-side patios, outdoor Jacuzzi, indoor jetted tubs, and an intoxicating serenity. Breakfast is when (and what) you want; and our gracious hosts will go out of their way to make your experience exceptional! Reserve one more day than you planned, and you'll be glad you did! Welcome (in advance) to Canyon Vista Lodge—Bed & Breakfast—Zion National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed And Breakfast
Canyon Vista Hotel Springdale
Canyon Vista Lodge - Bed & Breakfast Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing