We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Terrace Brook Lodge
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awfull”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Offering a room for 160$, saying it was the only vacant. In the evening the vacant sign was on, showing that he did not tell the truth. WiFi did never work. Room was aweful, eletricity in part dangerous. Breakfast was a joke in a room much too small. Forget it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reinhardinamerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    51
    54
    97
See reviews for
52
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place definetely lacks on details. The pool chairs were bronken, the paitings in the bedroom were crooked, the toilet seat cover wasn't screwed on, etc... however, if you are going to Zions and is going to spend all day outdoors and just need a confortable bed to sleep and a shower, this place is not bad for the price and location. The bed was confortable, the bedroom was clean and they had ac and free wi-fi. Again, just remember that if you are going to Zions, you really are not going to spend much time in a hotel. I was looking for an affordable place with a pool, close to the park. This was it. Definetely not suitable for a romantic getaway, but for a family or friends trying to have fun on the cheap, it's not bad.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jubisvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The back three bedroom cottage was aweful! Cockroaches, strong sewer smell in living room after using the showers, no ventilation over gas stove, smoke detectors not working, 2 of the 3 televisions were not working, numerous broken hinges on kitchen cupboards and bathroom window, and lamp switches broken. I would never recommend this to anyone!!! Run now and find another place to stay!

Room Tip: Double check resources, i.e. Local Chamber of Commerce
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Springdale hotels

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is indeed a tired old hotel and I would agree with some other reviewers that this in itself is not necessarily a problem. On the plus side the hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The wifi was also good. The downside was the couple who own this hotel who do seem to have difficulty communicating in a civil tone and certainly did nothing to make us feel welcome. In fact the man seemed to have a view that we would be trying to avoid payment even though the rooms had to be paid for in advance at registration. Having signed my credit card authorisation he then proceeded to write out details of my driving licence and credit card on the reverse of the authorisation and making me sign that too!
There are plenty of other similar priced hotels in this area - my advice choose anything over this and avoid at all costs - there is no excuse for rudeness and poor customer service!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Von1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friends and I were driving around Springdale looking for a place to spend the night and shower after 4 days of back country hiking. We stopped at Terrance Brooks and found it to be a good deal. Terrance showed my friend and I the room we would be staying in (not too often you get to see your room before you decide to book it). We then went back to the office and did some paperwork and computer work. Terrance told us "NO SMOKING!" I told him we don't smoke. Then he said "NO PETS!" I reassured him we had no animals. Then he relaxed and welcomed us to his lovely Lodge. He told us about the breakfast from 7-9am every morning...fruit loops, bagels and papadum (MY FAVORITE!). Mr. Brooks and I chatted for a while about Zion and the various hikes. He told me to go get clean because we all reeked after our 4 days of hiking. We left our room in shambles, dirt and dust and sand and grime everywhere, but Terrance was so understanding. "As long as you know there is NO SMOKING," he told us. I'll always remember his words, and our lovely stay at the Terrance Brooks Lodge.

Room Tip: please no smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

The owner is a bully and has no customer service skills at all. First of all, it took a half hour to book, repeating the spelling of the name. Then took another 15 min to confirm the reservation at the day of since we would be arriving late, repeating the spelling and intent of the call over and over.

Our shower was barely dripping water so we went to the office after dinner to let him know. He came strutting to our shower, turned it on and said "it's working". We said it's not good enough and not acceptable. We said we would like compensation. He started laughing hysterically and said "Compensation?? do you know how much is your rate??" We paid $121+tax so it's not cheap and he did not tell us that the rate was for not working shower. He also said that we should have told him this morning, not at night. That we could leave tomorrow morning and he would give us $10 back. We already paid for 3 nights. My friend pointed out that he had poor customer service skills and if he was aware of yelp, fb, trip advisor. He started pointing finger and yelling at her for black mailing him. I don't think he knows the definition of black mailing. My friend said that the conversation was over, was late and that he needed to leave the room now. He got so irate that she told him to leave. We could hear his wife in the background saying something. My friend almost called the police on him in his own motel if he continued.

My other friend unscrewed the shower head to get more water to take a shower that night. The next day when we got back from the park, the key did not work. We had to get him to open the door. He came strutting with his nose up, gave my "black mailer" friend a stink eye as he passed and opened the door. He motioned my other friend to come follow him to the shower. The shower had been fixed but he accused that one of us broke the shower head. My friend tried to explain that he only unscrewed the head to get more water but he wasn't listening. He kept on saying "you broke it!"

His wife also gave us the stink eyes as she passed that afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in lieu of camping in a tent. I should have opted for the tent.

Check-in was odd. The manager and a guest were having a debate about pricing. After waiting several minutes, he interrupted the debate to check me in. Even though I assured him that I did not smoke, he repeatedly warned me against smoking in the room.

There was a worn-out chair sitting in front of my room. Not to be outdone, every room had a worn-out chair in front of it.

Beds were clean, but flimsy. The sink drained slowly and had stains in it. The bathroom had one bare bulb and a wobbly toilet. The sound insulation between rooms is nonexistent. I could hear every word of the conversation in the adjoining room. Thankfully, it was in some eastern European dialect.

The next morning, I took one look at the breakfast offering and skipped it.

This place did receive a personal distinction -- it is, by far, the worst place I have stayed in recent memory.

Room Tip: Find a campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottJH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Historic Pioneer Lodge
#15 of 16 in Springdale
1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Brook Lodge

Property: Terrace Brook Lodge
Address: 990 Zion Park Blvd, P.O. Box 217, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Brook Lodge, Utah is located only one mile from the south entrance to Zion National Park on Highway SR9. The beautiful setting of the Lodge offers a park-like atmosphere and panoramic views of Zion Canyon. The Lodge is with easy driving distance to mountain skiing, Las Vegas gaming, year-round golfing, water skiing and some of the most spectacular geological attractions in the world. Make Terrace Brook Lodge your home base to see Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, North Rim Grand Canyon and Lake Powell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Terrace Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Brook Hotel Springdale
Terrace Brook Motel
Terrace Brook Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing