We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 1950's No-tell Motel, good for an anecdote or two.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Terrace Brook Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We drove in to town and needed one night over, so went on price: most were around 100 dollars but I negotiated this one to 65 bucks and thank goodness, it was not worth even that. This is a 30 dollar room left over from the 50's: a heater/cooler unit that makes more clatter than heat, singl pane glass windows so you better close the bathroom door at night to stop the chill, old linen and towels. The Free Breakfast was toast and cheerios, the Free Internet did not work. The manager was a nice guy but was working with a lost cause. Recommendation: hire two bulldozers and 4 trucks and clear this site for timeshare condos--the view out the parking lot is quite fine.

Room Tip: Keep Driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxcontax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 245 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

Right around the corner from the entrance of Zion National Park, Terrace Brook is a good place to stay. Nothing too fancy, but clean and friendly staff. You're outdoors most of the time anyway, so why pay for an overpriced room? Good value for money!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
Thank Dutchygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We made an unplanned trip to Zion NP in the middle of May 2011. Although it was mid-week, the only accommodation we could find was at Terrace Brook Lodge.

Check in took an absolutely age and the rate offered was astronomical however, since we had driven down from Yellowstone NP, we were desperate for somewhere to lay our heads.

We booked for two nights and were given accommodation over the office block, not in the main motel building. We were given a "suite" with a kitchen area, lounge (with a dated and worn leather sofa), and bedroom however the whole place was dated and worn and had an unclean feeling about it. My husband and I have stayed at many independent motels and most of the time we just want somewhere to rest our head before we're up early either for activities or on the road. As such, we don't mind somewhere basic but Terrace Brook Lodge took this to another level.

The toilet in the bathroom didn't flush properly and on a couple of occasions I was worried it was going to overflow. The toiletries were a mix and match as if the owners had collected them from their stays at other hotels. The outside wooden steps up the room were rotten and slippery and it can only be time before there's an accident on them.

We then decided to stay another day in Springdale and given that we still could not find accommodation elsewhere, we asked to stay on another night. However, the room we had was not available and the owner showed me to a room in what appeared to be a converted breeze block garage which only had a window in the corridor leading to the room and therefore no natural daylight in the bedroom - and for this he still wanted the same price as he'd charged me for the "suite". It was at this point we made the decision to stay at the Comfort Inn in Hurricane 20 miles away.

About the only thing going for Terrace Brook Lodge is its location to the entrance to Zion NP. The hotel is right in the middle of Springdale in walking distance of shops and restaurants, and of the shuttle bus stop up to Zion NP. However, even those pros could not keep me staying for a third night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Smiler_jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This was one of the few motels with rooms available....we were unsure how far along we would be in our traveling, so we had not looked into making reservations ahead of time, plus it was fall break for the local schools, so it was very busy. Carpet was stained and very worn, curtains were torn and dirty, shower was extremely tiny, deadbolt did not work. We are not extremely picky in our motel choices; we don't require posh surroundings but do expect clean, comfortable, and well maintained rooms and this did not meet any of those requirements. The bedding was very dated and worn but sheets were clean and bed was comfortable. Although we were in room # 3 close to the office and the road, it was quiet. Free breakfast was a couple choices of cold cereal and toast, eating area was very small so we ate in our room. Sorry to say, we would not recommend this motel; extremely overpriced for the condition of the room.

Room Tip: Springdale is right outside of Zion NP, so would highly recommend making advance motel reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcomp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The service is slow. The room's power plug came out and the electricity short-circuited. We asked the man to come in to rectify the issue and he told us we have too many appliances plug in to the room, we only have one heater, one TV and two laptops. After all has been fixed, we are not allowed to use the oil heater but was given a noisy fan heater. Will not recommend this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sai Mei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We ended up here because we had tried 5 other places and they were full. This is what happens when you are "winging" it. At the end of the day, all we wanted was clean, quiet, comfortable and we got that. I can survive torn carpet and to be fair, he did tell us that the room was like that. Didnt bother with the so called breakfast and like a few of these motels, I cant see why they bother. Fortunatly that there are some very good coffee shops just down the road. Had a washing M/C so we were happy. We did not have any trouble with the wifi. Probably overpriced for what it was, but beggars cant be choosers I guess

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here because it was the only place left in town. It took about 15 minutes just to book a room. After we had booked, we looked online and found their online price was cheaper, we asked for the same price as online and they refused. The breakfast was nothing more than toast, coffee, and donuts. Some repairs in the room were completed with duct tape. The carpet was disgusting. This is one step above camping at 10 times the price. Do not stay here if at all possible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Pioneer Lodge
Historic Pioneer Lodge
#15 of 17 in Springdale
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#14 of 17 in Springdale
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montclair
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Brook Lodge

Address: 990 Zion Park Blvd, P.O. Box 217, Springdale, UT 84767-7799
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Springdale
Price Range: $125 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Brook Lodge, Utah is located only one mile from the south entrance to Zion National Park on Highway SR9. The beautiful setting of the Lodge offers a park-like atmosphere and panoramic views of Zion Canyon. The Lodge is with easy driving distance to mountain skiing, Las Vegas gaming, year-round golfing, water skiing and some of the most spectacular geological attractions in the world. Make Terrace Brook Lodge your home base to see Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, North Rim Grand Canyon and Lake Powell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Terrace Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Brook Hotel Springdale
Terrace Brook Motel
Terrace Brook Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing