We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zion Canyon Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zion Canyon Campground
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a tent with no electricity at Zion Canyon Campground. The tent site was clean. The sites are very close together but each has a picnic table, grill, and fire ring. The bathrooms are eco-friendly but each day you need to go to the camp office to get your 'shower token'. This allows you one 6 minute shower per day. I did not have any issues with the bathroom/shower - the bathroom and stalls were clean, I had adequate water pressure even when all four stalls were full, and warm water. The 6 minute time frame either did not exist or was ample time. My husband did have some issues with the bathroom stating that the shower pressure was a trickle when others were also showering and this trickle caused his time to run out.

The location of the campground is excellent. The shuttle stop for Zion is right next door and Springdale is an easy 10 minute walk. There is also river access in the back of the campground and campers are able to use the hotel pool.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    80
    47
    20
    33
See reviews for
86
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location can't be beat, but the place was a bit pricy, and they charged for additional people. We stayed in a tent site with electricity, and the ground was so hard that we couldn't even hammer in our tent pegs. The bathrooms were flithy, small, and they only allowed each person 6 minutes for a shower per day. I've stayed in KOA campgrounds that were much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowergirl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had booked 2 nights at the Zion Campground and cancelled our reservation and left 1 hour after arriving (we lost the cost of first night but preferred that to staying at this campground).

The price is high and the facilities does not justify it! We had no wifi signal at our site.
The site we were on was very small and it felt like being on a Walmart car park more than anything.
The nearby restroom / showers were not working.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thucydides1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days. This is very close to the park and restaurants. The shuttle stop is right out front. The river runs along the back of the property and has tubing access. We used the shower in our trailer, but after reading the reviews, we checked the bathrooms and they were clean. Perhaps the problem is solved. I would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebOnVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

great location and nice ammenities, wifi which is very important today is so poor it is difficult to stay connected and forget about down load speed. Another problem is requiring registration on line as opposed to the phone and then taking 72 hours to confirm the reservation. Explaination the manager was not working on the weekend!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eatingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed at this campground in our RV. People at check in were friendly and helpful. Got a nice site with full hookups. Showers and bathrooms nearby. Could have been cleaner but i took a shower, kept my flip flops on. Great location to Zion National Park. City shuttle right at top of RV park (3 minute walk) takes you to Zion Park Visitor Center where you can get a shuttle throughout the whole park. Restaurants right around RV park or take city trolley to another restaurant or shopping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phh9758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We recently camped here Labor Day Weekend, although we have stayed here a number of times over the last several years, and Zion Campground has become our default campground when the National Park has been filled up. I'll quickly summarize the pros and cons, and try to add my 2 cents to the many comments that have already been left.

Pros:
-Location: Very close to park, shuttle stop <5 minute walk from back of campground. Good restaurants within walking distance.
-Scenery: Nice views of the canyon from the entire campground, I especially like the riverside spots (drowns out night time noise as well).
-Amenities: I enjoyed the free wifi, pool, as well as numerous vending machines, movies for rent, and onsite laundry.

Jury's Out: Cleanliness: Some other reviews have been pretty scathing, but you have to realize that dirty bathrooms are pretty standard for campgrounds (not to excuse filthiness, but this has been my experience over the years). This last weekend, the bathrooms and showers seemed pretty clean and there are now soap dispensers in the bathrooms :).

Cons:
-Crowded: Campsites are small, neighbors will be quite close and possibly noisy.
-Lack of shade: I have only found this to be a major issue during the hot summer months.
-Price: $30/night seems a bit steep when National Park prices are half of that. Although, there are quite a few amenities on-site, so that may be a factor to consider. I don't like being charged $7/night more for 4 people (there's an additional charge per person above 2 people) that take up the same amount of space in the campground as 2 people :(.

I would recommend this place, but you have to take the good with the bad!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_ambler_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springdale hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Canyon Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Canyon Campground

Property: Zion Canyon Campground
Address: 479 Zion Park Blvd., Springdale, UT 84767
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Springdale
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private campground offering riversites, full hookups and showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion Canyon Campground Hotel Springdale
Zion Canyon Campground Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing