We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodations, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cable Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Springdale
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodations, great location!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Cable Mountain lodge in late October and could not have been happier- everything was absolutely perfect. The vilas are beautiful and modern and absolutely emmaculate. We stayed in a poolside luxury villa. There is a beautiful bedroom and a nice livingroom with a sofabed and full kitchen. We are a family of four- kids 12 and 10.It was nice to have a full kitchen as it was the end of our trip and nice to be able to eat some meals in after a week of eating out. At check in there are delicious cookies. The registration took one minute. There is a nice pool and hot tub with beautiful views of Zion. We used the pool during the day and in the evening- great star gazing.The hotel is just outside the park- as close as you can get. You can catch a shuttle just steps away. There is also shopping right there that you can walk to- a nice little bakery. The hotel provides tickets to the IMAX theater for the Zion show- fun to see. The theater also has current Hollywood films in the evening. Very relaxing, convenient and beautiful place to stay while exploring Zion. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    207
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
448
545
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the fourth year in a row that we stayed at Cable Mountain Lodge. The first year was just my husband and I, but every year since we've had some family tag along. This year my whole side of the family went with us (14 people total). We stayed in three rooms.

Two were the wall bed suites that sleep six. They were adjoining rooms and very convenient to our situation. It was nice to have the kitchens and tables. It was great to be able to make our own breakfast instead of eating out every meal. The rooms are super comfortable. The bathrooms are huge. Made getting ready in the morning quicker since three of us could be in there using the mirror for putting on sunscreen. Great water pressure in the showers. No complaints about the rooms at all...they were perfect.

The proximity to the walking entrance to Zion is so convenient. Part of our family decided to hike up to Angel's Landing and stopped by the Cafe Soleil next door and had the "best sandwich ever" according to several family members.

We were a little saddened that the grocery store in the same complex was closing, but they still have a store in Springdale.

We didn't use the Springdale shuttle service, but it's terribly convenient knowing that its in the hotel parking lot so we weren't going to have to do extra walking to get to one after a day of hiking in the park.

Where the Cable Mountain Lodge shines for us this year is actually after we checked out. We went to leave the hotel after the other two cars of our party had gone and discovered that our power steering was making a horrendous noise. We were able to get one car to turn back around and then proceeded to try to find a garage open on a Sunday. Apparently that just doesn't exist in Utah.

While we had to deal with having my brother drive us to St. George to get a rental car we left 5 family members (2 kids included) in the parking lot of the hotel. They could have gone back into Zion but the hotel was so accommodating to them. When we finally got back to them (2 hours later) we heard of the hospitality that they provided for our family. They unlocked the pool area and set up umbrellas for them. They even brought out towels so my niece could go swimming. Our family sat in the shade playing cards the whole time. It was so appreciated!

After four Octobers in a row of going to Zion we are going to take a break and try a different destination next year, but we have plans to go back in five years and we will definitely be back at Cable Mountain Lodge!

Room Tip: If you're really concerned with getting a view then ask for one, we've never been disappoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glowmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Almost of the reviewers have said the Lodge is so close to the park entrance. A definite plus.
We stayed two nights in late October 2012, using the lodge as a base after a day of hiking.
The room was clean, and there was a full size coffee maker with real mugs. There were
also wonderful lemon verbena soap and shampoo. We had a great breakfast Cafe Soleil.
The price was fair and you couldn't beat the view. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent Choice for Zion

Overall: I cannot think of any faults for the Cable Mountain Lodge (CML): it’s comfortable, reasonably priced and well located for walking access to Zion. I recommend it. It is worth mentioning that it is more of a motel than a lodge, so there is not a main area, restaurant or any of the amenities one might expect, but this is not a complaint and I will stay here again.

Stay: My wife and I stayed at CML for a few nights in September as a base of operations to explore Zion National Park. I picked it because of reviews and the proximity to the park; we were very pleased with our stay.

Hotel: The property is arranged with separate, two-story buildings with connecting footpaths and surrounding parking. Everything looks very new and well kept: clean, maintained, nice landscaping and attractive. CML is situated at the entrance to the park (i.e., where the town of Springdale ends and the park begins) with the Virgin River acting as a nice boundary between the two and a footbridge connecting the two.

We stayed in the Judy Anne Suite, which is a large bedroom and bathroom (big shower, tub and fireplace) connected to a sitting area and full kitchen. Located off of the sitting area is a nice porch with Adirondack chairs affording views of Zion Canyon (we enjoyed the mornings with coffee and tea and the evenings with a beer and wine). I’m trying to think of any complaints or changes I would make to the room for this review and cannot: comfortable, attractive, useful space, good views, well appointed and good value for the money.

I swam in the pool each evening and it was like the room: clean, useful, plenty of towels, etc.

Staff: My interactions with the staff of CML were limited to check in and check out, but all of my interactions were pleasant and professional. Housekeeping staff was efficient, invisible and effective.

Springdale dining (as you won't be eating at CML):
• Spotted Dog – Good, but thinks it is great (higher end American food with a great wine list). We enjoyed our meal and would eat there again, but I recommended Oscar's to strangers we encountered on our trip.
• Oscar’s – Friendly and good (Southwestern/Mexican). I think it is just a matter of expectations with folks talking up the Spotted Dog and the two of us just happening upon Oscar’s without prior expectations: nice outside seating, good food, good service, etc.
• Wildcat Willies – Used it for a late breakfast and did not expect much based on touristy exterior, but the food and service were good. It served good, basic fare with friendly service.
• Café Soleil – Standard “out-west” café (coffee, breakfast and lunch).

Room Tip: Judy Anne Suite is great. Get a room on the Virgin River side for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobSmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautifully clean, very spacious. Nice flat screen TVs. Fully equipped kitchen. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Great homemade cookies. Spectacular views from the very large balcony.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbnj41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were booked to stay at Zion Lodge but on arrival at around 5pm we were told that they had no record of our reservation and that they were fully booked. Our entire trip was booked and paid up front via a travel agent. Thankfully we were given a room at Cable Mountain. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given a great room with a kitchen and sitting room area. The room was clean and the king size bed was very comfortable. The location was also handy as we grabbed dinner and breakfast in town. Consider staying here rather than Zion Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhunter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to stay for Zion National Park. The pedestrian entrance for the park is literally in the parking lot for the hotel. It could not be easier to get into the park. Of course, the surrounding area is Zion, so the views are amazing. Even if you are on the road side of the hotel, the view are great. Note: you cannot see/hear the road from your room. The rooms themselves are very nice and look exactly as in the pictures. We stayed in a King Bed room, no suite. It was simply and nicely decorated. I really loved the use of wood throughout the room as it made it feel more natural. Rooms are clean, the people are friendly. It was nice to have a microwave and fridge. It was also nice to have a hot tub after a long day of hiking! This place was romantic, but we also saw plenty of families. It works for all! While the restaurants in Springdale were all pretty good, they are also a little on the expensive side. I highly recommended Cable Mountain Lodge and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: If you like a lot of space, go for a suite. But for a couple, the king bed room was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springdale
0.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
4.1 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,983 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Mountain Lodge

Property: Cable Mountain Lodge
Address: 147 Zion Park Blvd, Springdale, UT 84767-7775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Springdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Springdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Springdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cable Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Mountain Lodge is nestled near the cliffs of Zion National Park, yet shopping, dining, and entertainment venues are conveniently nearby. The rooms offer a distinctively warm atmosphere and the caring staff is happy to share their knowledge and local perspective to help enhance your stay. This is a lodging experience to complement your discovery (or continuing re-discovery) of Zion National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cable Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cable Mountain Hotel Springdale
Hotel Cable Mountain
Cable Mountain Lodge Springdale, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing