We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wawona Campground
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Big Trees Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Valley Lodge(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel(Yosemite National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
35
41
14
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
41
14
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmariposa grovegeneral storeflush toiletslovely riverthe loopglacier pointbathroom stallsyosemite valleyminute drivebeautiful sitetunnel viewswinging bridgethree nightsbear boxcamping experiencebig treessites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 95 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We entered Yosemite by the South Entrance - so the only downer for us for this site is that it is just inside the southern gate which meant some back tracking for us. Although with such beautiful scenery not really a hardship. This is a well run National Parks site, the rangers were friendly and helpful and provided very clear instructions re local wildlife (bears and mountains lions) including last sightings so that we could take all necessary safety precautions (helpful for us ignorant Aussies). This is a long site running alongside the yosemite river as such it didn't feel too crowded, although it was apparently fully booked. One of our sites had a curious ground hog who kept us amused with his digging and sticking his head out! both sites were large with table/chairs and large fire pit. The facilities were clean and within a short walk. The highlight for us was swimming in the river (if you want to fish you will need a fishing license) it was bracingly cold, illicit ed excited giggles but left us feeling refreshed and at one with nature!

Room Tip: Pre purchase your wood for the fire and take it in with you.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Although it is located 50 minutes from the heart of Yosemite Valley, the Wawona Campground is a place that is not in the crowded valley, it has basic facilities, and campers who know how to camp. We really enjoyed our fellow campers. No noise pollution from idiots who bring their loud radios, and no loud people at night. (In Yosemite Valley campsites, you will always experience these type of people.) There is a different vibe here, and although we did see a good amount of RV campers, the sites were dominated by car-campers who set up tents. (Like us.)
I went to Tripadvisor to review this location, since we have never camped there before, and it was a good thing I did. Fellow reviewers said to bring a sun-canopy since some of the sites offer little shade. I brought my canopy and actually set it up over my bear-box which was hot as an oven when we arrived. Our site (#59 Loop C) was very, very sunny. Luckily there was a large tree that we set our tent under, but we had to keep moving our picnic table when having dinner to enjoy shade provided from the limited amount of tree cover at this particular site.
Now, having said that, there isn't much to see at this campground, and since there are many, many things to see in Yosemite, we were not in the camp that much during the middle of the day. So, the lack of shade was only a problem during the hours when we were in camp to have our dinner. (4pm to 6pm).
The only other problem with this campsite is that there are no showers. But, we knew that and brought our "sun-showers" and washed in the bed of my truck. But know this, the use of soap is forbidden at the campsite while bathing, so we would rinse, and then use Cottonelle wipes for the actual cleaning. (The nearest showers were located in Housekeeping Camp in Yosemite Valley, 50 minutes away.) Some fellow reviewers complained that there are no lights in the restrooms. This is true, so bring a mini flashlight lantern and you will be fine. Water is provided at many locations throughout the entire campsite, so you won't have to bring your own. (Or, not as much as you think you will need.)
There is a little bit of road noise at the campsite, but nothing that will annoy you. The sounds of the wind in the trees, birds, and Wawona Creek dominate more than anything else. (Until the trash truck arrives.) They allow fires at any time throughout the day, unlike Yosemite Valley, so it was nice to have a morning fire. (Not allowed in the valley.) The Wawona Hotel and General Store is one mile from the campground. (There is no campground shuttle service.) The store will have anything you need if you have forgotten something in your supplies and has souvenirs. There is also a great gift shop at Hill's Studio on the hotel grounds.
Things to do in the immediate area are: Hill's Studio and Visitor Center, the Pioneer Center, Horseback riding, and enjoying Wawona Creek. (We saw campers floating down the creek.) There is also a shuttle stop for the Mariposa Grove of Big Trees, which is free. There is limited parking by the shuttle, but not to worry, there is more parking on the hotel grounds.
Another thing to do is a drive to Glacier Point. It is a 45 minute drive, but much faster getting there from Wawona than the valley since you don't have to fight valley traffic and tour buses.
To sum up: Better fellow campers here than in Yosemite Valley; free shuttle to Mariposa Grove; a better drive to Glacier Point; bring a sun-canopy, and a blanket to put over your bear-box; and bring a sun-shower for bathing.
We had a great time. The rangers were friendly and informative at the site, and during our stay there were no bears in the area.

Room Tip: Go online to see the campsite layout and try to choose a site near the creek.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Another very well organised state park campground in a beautiful location. It is near a stream and a historical site, wawona hotel and near mariposa (sequoia trees).
I haven't given it 5 stars for the following reasons:
1. It is approx. 1 hour drive from centre Yosemite (there is a shuttle service, but it wasn't running when we visited)
2. Need to drive to nearest amenities.

Room Tip: Check whether the shuttle bus to the valley is running if you don't want to drive !
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here mid may for a couple nights. Site 27 in A loop which was shockingly pretty private considering the bathroom it was next to was closed ( we had porta-pottys instead). Saw the reg bathrooms. Clean but super basic. The ground was very hard to get stakes in which was a bit of a pain. Road was right above us but it didn't bother us it's not high traffic at night. Creek was pretty. I don't think I would just hang out at camp here it's not that great and you can see people everywhere but it was quiet and a nice place to sleep without spending a bunch. It definitely served its purpose and wasn't in the valley.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lime0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in late May. We had site 65 and were generally very happy with it, right by the river. While the site was big, the area were you could park your RV was restricted. As others noted, not all sites are leveled. This one was one of them. We made it work though and enjoyed being away from the crowds in the valley. The 1hr drive in the mornings into the valley as well as to glacier point were doable.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Ubaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews