We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yosemite National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yosemite High Sierra Camps
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a great experience! Hiked into Tuolomne Meadows Camp and was met by a beautiful waterfall with an ice cold pool to cool off in. Great food, friendly staff, and a great sunset. They even gave us wood for a group campfire that night. The tents are functional and clean, with a wood stove for heat (which we needed). We shared ours, which worked out well.

Water shortages prevented showering, but otherwise it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Not24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
34
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, TX USA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The camps worked beautifully! I loved having a wonderful dinner and breakfast made for me each day, with the optional lunch ready for me to pick up each morning. The tents were just fine and made it so much easier to hike knowing I didn't have to carry my tent or set up/take down each day. Staff was friendly and resourceful. Went to each of the camps and found each one to be just what we needed.

Room Tip: Singles are assigned based on gender (when available) and couples assigned with one other couple. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorrieHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I entered the lottery in November and was successful in getting 4 places for a 5 day/4 night guided hike in August. After many years of unsuccessful lottery applications, I think it helped that I was flexible in dates (I gave them a 2 week window) and I included the option of the Ranger Guided hike. The 5 day Guided hikes are somewhat easy to get, the 7 days sell out more quickly. You only pay a small premium to have the guided trip.
Our expereince was wonderful, Jana was a fantastic Ranger guide, and we got along very well with the other 6 people on our trip.
First night was Vogelsang, then down to Merced Lake, with a lay over night, then up to Sunrise camp and then out to Tuolumie Meadows.
I'm a regular hiker, but the circuit was a bit challenging, the heat and rocks and elevation gain and losses make it somewhat challenging, but the comfort of the tent camps makes it all worth it. YOu need to bring a sleep sheet, and your personal gear, so you'll end up carrying a pack around 20 lbs, which is much better than a 30 + pack. Vogelsand and Sunrise camps have wood stoves in the tents, making them toasty warm, and Merced is low enough to be warm.
The food was very good considering it comes in by pack mule, and is plentiful and healthy.

Room Tip: They book you in, Vogelsang and Sunrise are particularly beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank familySeattleWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Dear DNC Customer Service,

My husband and I walked into Merced High Sierra Camp in Yosemite NP during a lighting, hail and rain storm this last July 30 - we later heard it was the storm of the decade. As holiday hikers we weren’t planning on being a part of that sort of excitement.

Your staff was amazing. Brady(?) couldn’t have been more gracious, transforming a miserable experience into a warm and happy memory for us and many others.

As you can imagine, wet leads to cold. Your staff got large amounts of hot water for tea and hot chocolate out for all, they stoked the fire in the mess tent and went out to find those stranded by high water and bad weather. There were quite a few guests who needed to be wrapped in blankets and set in front of the fire upon arrival.

At one point the whole camp was flooded with a fast moving stream of hail, water and debris. The staff had prepped a few of the tented camps for guests at this point, but the storm flooded all. As soon as the rain stopped, your crew cleaned each tent out.

Your chef made an unbelievably delicious dinner that night (steak), and a great breakfast the next day. All of which we enjoyed thoroughly.

We can’t thank you enough for the gracious hospitality we received. If your camp had not had the hard working, diligent crew it has, there would have been a lot of stranded, miserable, hypothermic guests.

Thank you for providing us with a chance to enjoy your terrific staff and a beautiful part of America.

Room Tip: Good luck if you can get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

There are no en-suite baths, no electricity, no WiFi, no heat, and you have to walk several miles to the next camp. By putting up with these conditions you get to see some wonderfully beautiful scenery -- lakes, mountains, forests, wildlife, etc. You do not need to carry your food or bedding -- each camp has tents for sleeping and a small staff to prepare fabulous meals. For us it was an experience of a lifetime just to see such wonderful sights and be so close to nature.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phlewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yosemite National Park
3.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,581 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,049 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.1 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
10.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite High Sierra Camps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite High Sierra Camps

Property: Yosemite High Sierra Camps
Address: Tenaya Lake, Yosemite National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Yosemite National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Yosemite National Park
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite High Sierra Camps have been a popular destination in Yosemite National Park since they were first established. Because of the demand, we’ve created a lottery system for reservations. Applications are accepted in September and October for the following year. We email winners in the spring. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite High Sierra Camps Hotel Yosemite National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing