We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful pastoral getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage Cottage at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage
Cottage at Night
Front of Cottage
Cottage Arbor Patio w/ Outdoor Shower
Yosemite Valley 47 scenic miles from ranch
Poppies in Merced River Gorge into Yosemite Valley begins 27 miles from the ranch
Cottage
Covered Patio off Bedroom w/ Arbor, Swing, & Fountain
Cottage Setting in Summer
Cottage Porch Summer Morning
Cottage Arbors
'Wisteria Lane'  @ Cottage
Cottage Yard
Sign @ Old Hwy & RoundHat ranch road- turn down ranch road to RoundHat Entrance .4 milee
Entrance to Ranch Road off Old Highway
Road to RoundHat Ranch
Ranch Cottage Rd. inside Ranch - Sign at Left
Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Front Gate to Cottage
View of Ranch Entrance
Big Oak Swings and Views
There are 2 miles of walking trails about the ranch
Ranch Fall
Ranch Fall
Ranch Walking Trail
Ranch Walking Trail
View toward RoundHat Ranch
Ranch views
Ranch Views
Ranch Views
Ranch Sunset
Finura saying Hi
Mini Donkeys w/ Gayle
Ranch Stallion 'Bear'
Abby and Panda say Hi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
AKA1465
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Beautiful pastoral getaway”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had an excellent stay at the RoundHat Ranch. We booked it based on the amazing reviews, and it did not disappoint. The cottage is located on gorgeous grounds surrounded by horses, donkeys, wild turkeys, bunnies, and ground squirrels. Gayle welcomed us to pet the donkeys and horses if we were so inclined, which we were! Stephen and Gayle were very friendly and left us to enjoy their cottage in solitude. We visited Yosemite on 2 consecutive days. While the drive to the valley is a bit long (1-1.5 hrs), it's a gorgeous drive and went by quickly. We enjoyed coming back to the cottage and cooking meals for ourselves on the grill outside. You can also head into Mariposa, which is about 20+ mins away if you don't feel like cooking after a long day of hiking. I highly recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean Y
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome getaway, amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Roundhat Ranch is tucked away in an amazing little corner of California. The land is beautiful and sparsely populated. The cottage itself is right by some horses and donkeys, turkeys were free roaming the area, and bunnies were running wild throughout the fields. If you come, definitely arrive earlier in the day, to enjoy the view before the sun sets.

Stephen was very nice and helpful, and the cottage itself is cozy, well furnished, and very comfortable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney...
1 review
“Perfect, quiet get away for 2”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We were looking for a quiet place to unplug and relax and RoundHat Ranch was just that. The cottage was comfortable, beautiful and stocked with everything we needed. Our only complaint is we couldn't stay longer

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escgypsy
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband booked 3 nights here at the end of our 10 day Western High Sierras hiking adventure. When we drove up the driveway to the cottage, it was love at first sight .... and walking inside, we knew we were in the right spot. Tastefully decorated , well stocked throughout and the beds were amazing....we got the 3 best nights sleeps of our trip. Roundhat Ranch is a 45 minute drive to Yosemite, it's very peaceful ,with plenty of room to walk and enjoys the horses and landscape, it's perfection.
Steve and Gayle the owners were incredibly accomdating and helpful throughout our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussielov...
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Vacation Sanctuary”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Celebrating 30 years together brought us to Roundhat Ranch's cottage for a special escape. We feel so fortunate to find this gem. We came to explore Yosemite National Park, but got so much more by staying here. Yes, it's a 45 minute drive into the park, but it's worth it! The cottage has it all! Roomy living room, huge comfy bed, stocked kitchen, charming bathroom, and two porch areas. The place is kept immaculate and flowers everywhere make it gorgeous. Walking around the ranch was fun to visit with the stunning Peruvian Paso horses. The owner Steve was a wealth of information on the park which helped us to enjoy the park for our limited time. My favorite time was at night savoring a glass of local wine in the porch swing and getting a morning greeting by our pair of burros! Keep in mind it's only a short drive to Mariposa for good meal options and a neighborhood grocery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and sizeable”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived late at the ranch but spent the morning checking out the place and eating a good breakfast in the gorgeous out areas. The bed is really out of this world and was such a good experience after a long day hiking in Yosemite. The area is gorgeous and spacious - perfect for a romantic get-away. We did not meet the owners but got all our information through emails and the communications was very good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the property
Liked least: A bit different finding the place after dark
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hfracalos...
Davison, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the RoundHat Ranch for our and could not ask for a better place to relax and come home to after long days sightseeing. Stephen was a great host and answered all the questions we had or just waived when he was out feeding the animals. Which gets me to the next point all the horses and donkeys were very friendly and we spent lots of time just visiting with them. Close enough to parks and towns to where you can get the essentials.

Definitely worth checking out!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing