We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage
Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Cottage at Night
Cottage Arbor Patio w/ Outdoor Shower
Cottage Arbors
Ranch Views
Ranch Stallion 'Bear'
Ranch Fall
Mini Donkeys w/ Gayle
'Wisteria Lane'  @ Cottage
Cottage
Finura saying Hi
Ranch Fall
Front of Cottage
Cottage Yard
Yosemite Valley 47 scenic miles from ranch
Cottage Setting in Summer
Covered Patio off Bedroom w/ Arbor, Swing, & Fountain
Cottage Porch Summer Morning
Sign @ Old Hwy & RoundHat ranch road- turn down ranch road to RoundHat Entrance .4 milee
Entrance to Ranch Road off Old Highway
Road to RoundHat Ranch
Ranch Cottage Rd. inside Ranch - Sign at Left
Front Gate to Cottage
View of Ranch Entrance
Big Oak Swings and Views
There are 2 miles of walking trails about the ranch
Ranch Walking Trail
Ranch Walking Trail
View toward RoundHat Ranch
Ranch views
Ranch Views
Ranch Sunset
Abby and Panda say Hi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Zoe M
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This ranch is a must stay. All the previous reviews say it all. The location is serene and offers complete piece and quiet, except for the bird song. I am sitting on the swing on the patio watching and listening to the humming birds as I write this and it's the most amazing experience.

There are 27 horses, 2 donkeys and a roaming turkey as well as all the wildlife. The cottage is emaculate and we found ourselves rushing back from Yosemite just to relax in the cottage.

Steven and Gayle are loving and very helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone to stay, you will be blown away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the ranch
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfradyfsm...
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven near Yosemite.”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at the Round Hat Ranch. The mini Donkeys Libby and Jewel were cute and very friendly. Beautiful Peruvian Gaited horses were everywhere and there were walking trails all over the place. We used it as a base for exploring the surrounding area (Mariposa and Yosemite). The cottage comes fully equipped with all the modern conveniences. Make reservations early because it's very popular. You will enjoy this wonderful place We sure did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pouillyfu...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the humming birds.....”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Round Hat ranch after a week in San Francisco. It was the perfect peaceful spot after a busy city break. Stephen and Gayle were excellent hosts who allowed you plenty of space but were sociable neighbours. Whilst it takes 90mins to drive to Yosemite this was not a problem as we just enjoyed alternate break days in and around Cathey's Valley. BBQs, humming birds, donkeys, ground squirrels all made for a excellent stay. The ranch house is well equipped, very clean and there was a lovely attention to detail. Nearby Mariposa has everything you will need for a relaxing break. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanCornub...
Cornubia, Qld
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical stay in paradise”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights at the Round Hat Ranch in Yosemite/Catheys Valley and our only complaint was that the time went too too quickly! Steve and Gayle were the most hospitable and gracious hosts we could have hoped to meet! The ranch is about 25 minutes out of Mariposa which is a surprising Oasis in the wilderness with eateries and shops to accommodate any want. The cabin at the ranch offers every amenity you could want including a full kitchen and laundry. The donkeys and horses love a pat and the freedom and privacy the cabin offers is amazing.
The picturesque setting of this ranch is breathtaking and the peace and quiet of the area is refreshing. As with all other reviews of this property, there are no negatives of any type to report and the only complaint we had was that our stay in this ranch was far too short!
We cannot recommend highly enough the Round Hat Ranch as a holiday must for travelers going through this area!
Watching the sunset from the hill behind the ranch was a beautiful experience as was watching the humming birds feeding from the feeder at the cabin. If not for our travel plans and restrictions we would have loved to stay another night or two with Steve and Gayle who were great conversationalists and hosts. We spent just on 21 nights traveling around America and this stop was, without doubt, the most memorable and enjoyable of all of the places we stayed! We found it very hard to drive out of the gate when it was time to leave and hope that we have the opportunity to return to this magical place again at sometime in the future.

Our sincere thanks to Steve and Gayle for a most memorable holiday experience and remember, when you do come to Australia, you have people to visit and a place to stay ANYTIME!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility, the feeling of being in your own home abroad, the hosts hospitality, the horses, donkeys and wildlife we saw etc, etc.
Liked least: There is nothing not to like about this ranch.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A romantic and serene getaway!”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days and 3 nights and had a wonderful time! It is so peaceful and secluded, with plenty of animals nearby. The mini-donkeys and horses were so friendly, we spent time every day before heading into Yosemite just petting them and loved it! We also loved having breakfast on the patio table, which was so serene- you could hear roosters in the distance, crickets, frogs, wild turkeys walking around right outside the cottage and gobbling! But not to worry- none of the animal sounds were ever loud enough to wake us up, just enough to make you feel like you are indeed on a ranch and away from the hustle and bustle of reality. :)

The cottage is immaculately clean and very nicely decorated, and is very thoughtfully supplied with so many things you wouldn't normally expect for a cottage, like coffee, tea, condiments, zip lock bags, dishware and cookware, and more. The cottage is close to the Pioneer Market grocery store in Mariposa, where we bought food for our stay and walked around the cute unique stores there on our way back from Yosemite. There is free WiFi with good connection in the cottage, although we did not have phone service in the cottage or throughout most places in the Yosemite region with AT&T and T-mobile- Verizon has service there according to the owner. The owner, Stephen, was very nice and allowed us to check in early and took the time to show us the ins and outs of the cottage.

We absolutely loved coming back to the ranch and relaxing at night after a day in Yosemite, and even stargazing with how clear the sky is! It is worth the drive, which like the other reviews mentioned was very scenic and enjoyable anyway. It took us about an hour without stops and hour and 15 minutes with stops to the gate of the park, and we don't drive slow, so I am not sure how people did the drive in 45 minutes, but it is still worth it! I have already recommended this place to many of my family members and friends and would recommend it to anyone for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ranch serenity and animals!
Liked least: Distance from Yosemite
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sujin H
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect anniversary”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed two nights after raining in the beginning of Nov, so we worried that all the colored leaves are gone. But it was still red and yellow! It was not too cold for hiking, but we wore warm like ski jackets. The farm is exactly same as the picture of the fall. And the lovely cute little donkeys were plus.

The owner Steve and his wife are very kind. Willing to inform you the weather and places to go:) Even emailing didn't over 1 day.

The cottage itself has everything in detail: cozy bed and soft warm bed sheet set and towels/all the kitchen utensils and seasonings/heaters and AC in each room/fast free wifi/and nicely picked furnitures.

We spent few hours in the morning to take our anniversary pics(they came out great with blue sky and yellow leaves) and spent rest of day to hike from Yosemite village to Mirror lake. By the way, we spotted a bear on the way back from the Mirror lake to Curry Village and I used the voice Steve told me to when encountering a bear. It worked pretty well. It was a good lesson, Steve.

Gas station is very close, and the restaurants and grocery store is on the way to Yosemite. The restaurant ratings are mostly good too.

We keep saying that we couldn't have better anniversary than this, Memorable, relaxing and private. We are looking forward to be there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scene of the ranch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F
Slaithwaite, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Space and tranquility”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I won't repeat the many positive comments on other reviews as they already give a clear perspective of this stunning accommodation. If you want plenty of space in which to relax with accompanying sounds of humming birds, woodpeckers and many other birds ...this should be top of your list. Breakfast on the large patio area with the buzz of the humming birds' wings at the feeder, is a great start to the day.

The accommodation is very well equipped and the owners have even thought to provide items such as food wrappings etc. that you never think to bring. The cottage has excellent laundry facilities. There are also air conditioning units in the lounge and bedroom. However, both rooms also have ceiling fans and, as the windows all have screens, we found it very pleasant to be able to open the windows and just use the fans. Wifi is also included and is very good.

The owners, Steve and Gayle, are great and available without being intrusive. Steve is around the ranch early mornings and evenings to feed the horses and it is well worth catching him for advice on the area. We've had an excellent week here and feel thoroughly relaxed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and tranquility
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing