We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Roughing It - 1st World Style”
other travelers have booked this property
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage Cottage at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Ranch Entrance to Cottage seen from Ranch Headquarters
RoundHat Ranch Entrance to Cottage
Cottage at Night
Front of Cottage
Cottage Arbor Patio w/ Outdoor Shower
Yosemite Valley 47 scenic miles from ranch
Poppies in Merced River Gorge into Yosemite Valley begins 27 miles from the ranch
Cottage
Covered Patio off Bedroom w/ Arbor, Swing, & Fountain
Cottage Setting in Summer
Cottage Porch Summer Morning
Cottage Arbors
'Wisteria Lane'  @ Cottage
Cottage Yard
Sign @ Old Hwy & RoundHat ranch road- turn down ranch road to RoundHat Entrance .4 milee
Entrance to Ranch Road off Old Highway
Road to RoundHat Ranch
Ranch Cottage Rd. inside Ranch - Sign at Left
Ranch Setting w/ Parking to left
Front Gate to Cottage
View of Ranch Entrance
Big Oak Swings and Views
There are 2 miles of walking trails about the ranch
Ranch Fall
Ranch Fall
Ranch Walking Trail
Ranch Walking Trail
View toward RoundHat Ranch
Ranch views
Ranch Views
Ranch Views
Ranch Sunset
Finura saying Hi
Mini Donkeys w/ Gayle
Ranch Stallion 'Bear'
Abby and Panda say Hi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yosemite National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Rob W
1 review
“Roughing It - 1st World Style”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Absolutely perfect weekend get away. We loved the location, the cabin, and my wife especially loved the animals. I couldn't have picked a better place to get away from all the chaos of life. Best weekend away to date.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate Z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage on a beautiful ranch with absolutely wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

RoundHat ranch is perfect! It's beautiful, peaceful, and welcoming. It's a fantastic escape from bustling city life. Beautiful land, sunny blue skies, so many songbirds singing away, friendly miniature donkeys that let you pet them freely, hummingbirds everywhere... It is a magical place.

It's an easy driving distance to Yosemite, and Yosemite is fantastic, but I had such a wonderful experience at the ranch I decided to forgo the crowded hikes at Yosemite my second day and spent the day on the ranch.

Steve and Gayle have thought of every detail in the cottage. Beautiful floors, nice furniture, nice kitchen, comfortable bed, nice indoor and outdoor showers, and nicely decorated all around. The two patios are beautifully landscaped, and are lovely for breakfast, dinner, or just sitting outside to enjoy the weather.

Steve and Gayle are lovely, warm people and they make you feel welcome and right at home. The hosts at this type of stay make a huge impact on an experience, and they are wonderful. I only wish I could have stayed longer. (I will be staying longer the next time I come back!!)

Thank you, Gayle and Steve!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful stay!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was the first time my husband and I rented a vacation home instead of staying in a hotel, and we've never been happier with our stay. As soon as we arrived and looked around, I knew it was my happy place.
The cottage and the ranch altogether are perfectly clean and very well maintained. Visiting from a busy Silicon Valley, we especially enjoyed the quietness and privacy of the place. It felt like we had the entire ranch only for ourselves! Just imagine having a breakfast at the patio, listening to the birds, observing the ranch animals and hummingbirds flying around the feeder - a true paradise! There is a lot of beautiful horses at the ranch, and a couple of lovely donkeys, which are delight to watch. I just can't say enough how much we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The owners, Stephen and Gayle, are genuinely nice and warm people. We also had a chance to meet four of their super friendly and adorable dogs.
We are looking forward to coming back some time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne1087
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage in idyllic settings”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband organized a trip for us to Roundhat Ranch and Yosemite National Park as a gift, and this place absolutely did not disappoint!

The property is absolutely stunning: the cottage is nestled in green hills covered with wildflowers, with 25+ horses and donkeys a short walk away. While the ranch doesn't offer horseback riding for guests we were welcome to pet and interact with the animals. We were particularly fond of the donkeys, which loved being scratched behind the ears and followed us along the fenceline like puppies! The owners encouraged us to walk the property and we loved strolling around the ranch, listening to the wild birds sing and watching wild turkeys strutting between the rocks and trees.

The cottage itself is even nicer than we imagined. It's squeaky clean and manages to feel rustic and homey while also offering up-to-date amenities. There's a TV and free WiFi as well as a washer/dryer, kitchenette, living room, bedroom, and bathroom (with an awesome rain shower head). There are also two outdoor patios with outdoor seating, a super comfy porch swing, and a very nice propane grill.

If you're staying here to also visit Yosemite (as we were) be aware that you will be doing some driving. It took us about an hour and a half door-to-door to get to the Yosemite Valley Visitor's Center (as a reference point). However, the drive is so scenic we really didn't mind. The drive also took us through the nearby small town of Mariposa, where we went out for dinner one night and also picked up some groceries so we could make a few meals at the cottage.

The owners of the cottage were very friendly and accommodating, and they offered us great tips on how to get around Yosemite and what to do in the area. They were even kind about us accidentally overstaying our visit by several hours past the 11:00am checkout time - oops! We greatly appreciated their hospitality and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mohammad...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un Forgettable vacation.”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spent two wonderful nights with my girlfriend. The cottage was really amazing, very clean, neat and private. Stephen was very helpful and he is such a lovely guy who helped us by expaining everg single detail of the cottage besides the most important touristic places in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozion
Atascadero, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights and everything was better than expected. Everyone was friendly , including the horses. Would stay there again if looking to go back to yosemite

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing