We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hetch Hetchy Reservoir

Hetch Hetchy Reservoir
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's quiet and peaceful, even in the middle of the summer. Walk on the dam to cross the valley, through a tunnel and you can hike as long as you like. Beautiful scenery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    24
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“really neat little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

You cannot get into the water here because it is San Franciscos water source but they views are gorgeous! The park ranger was informative and very friendly. Lots of trails and beautiful views to take in, in this hidden little gem of a park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherylWx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“See it if you have time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a nice, easy hike to Wapawa Falls. We ate lunch at the falls. Saw our only black bear of our trip to Yosemite on this hike, right off the trail.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Neglected cousin of Yosemite Valley”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We decided to drive to Hetch Hetchy reservoir and stopped by the information center just at the gate of Yosemite valley entrance to ask about things to do at Hetch Hetchy. The ranger looked at me with a puzzled look, as if asking - really! you want to to go to Hetch Hetchy!
The drive was fun, as there was NO traffic on the roads. Once we reached the dam, we liked the views, although there was very little we could do there. There was only one waterfall we could see at the time we went, but we weren't interested in hiking there as we had done our fair share of hiking in Yosemite.
So overall, i now understand why the ranger gave me that look - Hetch Hetchy is actually the poor neglected cousin of Yosemite valley. I think it was one of those - seen once and done - type of place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xs2xa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, United States of America
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“REALLY over-rated. Very pretty, but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We read the quote, and you will too, if you go to Yosemite. John Muir said " ...it is a wonderfully exact counterpart of the great Yosemite." etc. But he said that BEFORE the dam was built-- and maybe he exaggerated a little as well. It would be worth the drive, sans dam; but if you only have a little time to visit Yosemite, spend it in & around the rest of the main Valley, not Hetch Hetchy. It is no 'duplicate' at this point. See Glacier Point, Taft Point, the Mist Trail, Mariposa Grove, etc, etc.. And the drive along the Merced River toward Mariposa is wonderful as well. skip Hetch

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nixster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hetch Hetchy Reservoir also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Hetch Hetchy Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing