We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoa...those are big trees”

Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Whoa...those are big trees”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We hiked this trail on our last day at Yosemite. Normally we would have loved this except we had been doing some amazing hikes to some BIG A_S water falls and so giant trees just don't elicit the same response. Nothing can compare with those waterfalls. Still a great hike and incredible views.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,094
    312
    75
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I love Sequoias”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is worth a stop when in the Yosemite area.
Some good easy hiking and some legitimately large Giant Sequoias. Nice for the whole family, and a variety of trail lengths to suite your needs and fitness level.

This place is no Sequoia National Park, and if you have been to Sequoia and/or Kings Canyon you might be a little disappointed. Otherwise...go! These trees are amazing. You need to see some giant Sequoias sometime in your life.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A must to go place. These sequoias will leave you without breath.
I've been here just 2 days ago and I would like to go back. This place is full of stories and silence and you will for sure enjoy you 2-3 miles walk

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing place! ”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop and visit towards the south end of the park! Didn't have time to go to any Redwood parks or separate Giant Sequoia parks so we thought we'd stop by the Mariposa grove. Truly breathtaking sights, just incredible being able to stand beside the giants! Very fun also getting to visit the Grizzle Bear Giant, which is about a mile walk into the park.

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“A walk among the majestic sequoias”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We came late in the day and had to circle the parking lot several times to find a spot, but we were glad we did. This was our first walk among the majestic sequoias- wow, they are so tall and so beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
California, United States
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing