We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias - CLOSED

Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Amazingly tall, ancient Sequoias. A must see, especially if you have time to walk the trails and really see all the trees.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    311
    75
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic, not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited Mariposa Grove on September 1, 2013 on the way out of Yosemite NP and glad we did. Hike the trails or take the tram, but don't miss seeing the trees. It is hard to believe the trees can get that big. Do not miss. Would visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank campinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Giant trees are a MUST to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Be prepared to take a long walk through the park and allow yourself plenty of time to stop and admire the beauty and awesome trees that await your visit. You will not be disappointed no matter the time of year. You get to see how HUGE these trees are and Inspiring. You also have the opportunity to take a walk back in time and understand why those people fought so hard to save the beauty for generations to come and enjoy the majestic beauty here.

Great for all ages, but challenging for handicapped or elderly due to the terrain.

You cannot truly appreciate the beauty unless you walk the trails, however, if handicapped you can at least enjoy a few spots from tours and get a glimpse of the beauty. Please take time to fit this beauty into your travels, you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Honda4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
394 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A marvel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went here the week that the Yosemite fire started, I was worried I might not have another chance. I was glad I went, the trees are so amazing, stunning really.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WhirledTraveler4Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Information on the Audio Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've been to both Mariposa Grove and to Sequoia National Park. We went to Mariposa first, and while the tour is not cheap at Mariposa, the information provided was fantastic and well worth it for our time at Sequoia. Giant, beautiful trees to treasure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing