We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of Yosemite!”

Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tewksbury
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of Yosemite!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We all enjoyed walking thru the grove. Sadly, it was getting dark so we could not enjoy the whole place. We did get to see several huge redwoods though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBuryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    311
    75
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“200..what?”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

seeing trees older than my great grand parents alone was enough to excite they may all look alike but look closely and some of those roots amazing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank faithomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice short relaxing walk for GIANT trees”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I did the Lower Loop as i was short on time. It was a nice relaxing walk, and i even managed to spot some deer from afar! The Giant Sequoias are a sight to behold. Different from other parts of Yosemite. Worth a stop if one is not planning to visit Sequoia National Park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Addict4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's a must on your list if you only have a few days in the park. Impossible to capture the size and majesty of these trees and there's helpful info as you walk around the add to your appreciation

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank anamcara28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Walking with Giants”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We walked through the lower grove on a hot June day (Temp in mid eighties) and marveled at the size of these trees. we got to the parking lot around 9:30 am on Friday and it was starting to fill up fast. We strolled past the Fallen Monarch and were amazed by the root ball of the tree. we looped all the way up to the "Faithful Couple" making it through the "California Tunnel tree" and some other awesome trees as well. The trail was dusty and dry, but we brought water and were all set. It took about 2 1/2 to 3 hours to do our loop, it was well worth it. There were some giant pine cones as well that were probably a foot in length. I would image on a weekend the grove would be overrun with people but sharing is part of experience. Like any place, if you want to see it without crowds, get there early. It took about 30 to 40 minutes of driving to get here from the valley on some windy roads. My wife enjoyed the views, but I was too focused on staying on the road to look around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_the_Litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing