We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for dinner”

Wawona Hotel Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

We drove past Big Trees on our way to Yosemite West and we were immediately intrigued by its vintage charm. We decided to have an early dinner there on a Friday night and avoid the crowds. The old fashioned ambiance was as we expected. Our waitress, Jill, who had worked in Yosemite for most of her career, was attentive, knowledgeable and a good story teller. We would have liked to talk with her longer but the restaurant became quite full while we were there. Menu offered a wide range of options and everyone in our group of 5 was satisfied. Good range of cocktails to choose from as well.

4  Thank ngospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 834 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2017

We went in at lunchtime on a Sunday and had a delicious lunch in this historic hotel which had a lovely old world atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank jad533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We were recommended the meadow loop walk which starts from this hotel and so had lunch in the restaurant when we got back.
Before we started off the hotel receptionist was very helpful, pointing us to the toilets and the four sequoias behind the hotel and confirming where we started the walk.
The walk itself was very easy and pretty flat. You start by crossing the road and going through the golf course, then follow the signs.
It's very wooded with glimpses through to the meadow - we only saw three other couples during the whole walk so it's lovely and quiet too.
Food in the restaurant was good, we both enjoyed our meals. It's just a shame that they stop serving lunch outside on the balcony on a set date, even when the weather remains warm enough to do this- it would've been great to sit outside.

Date of visit: September 2017
2  Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

We typed in Yosemite West during our vacation so we were halfway between Wawona and Yosemite Valley. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the dining experience was also extremely enjoyable. We dined with our 18 mo old which can be very challenging at times but we did not feel uncomfortable at all. The food was amazing; we both had the pot roast which was NOT your mother's pot roast. It was absolutely delicious and I highly recommend it. We both enjoyed a cocktail and dessert. My little one had a blast walking around the big porch saying hello to those enjoying drinks. The setting is great and even though it seems that it doesn't make the "top" of the lists, it was our favorite dinner while in Yosemite!

1  Thank ashleyl782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Have to say we had a great waiter. Burger came out very raw, when we got it back it was missing the onion jam. Food was really just ok.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wawona Hotel Dining Room also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Wawona Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.