We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Big Trees Lodge Dining Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Portsmouth Pride of the south
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had read mixed reviews prior to our visit but as we were staying in the hotel it was convenient. The room is lovely and the service good. The meals were excellent and such a lot of it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank galsgottheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    276
    111
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento, ca
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Historic dining room with average food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I had dinner at the Wawona Hotel in late October. No reservations are necessary at this time of year. We were seated quickly. If you are seated near a window you may experience a slight draft as the windows are older and may have warping allowing some draft. Since Wawona Hotel is a historic hotel it has some limitations as to what it can do to modernize itself.

We were served quickly and the bread was homemade and was a corn muffin with cheese and spice. Very nice. My wife had a vegetarian pasta and it was tasty and in a large amount. I had the shrimp and garlic with fettucini noodles. Again the serving size was large. However, this dish was disappointing. Although the ingredients were fresh and properly cooked, the flavoring of the sauce was almost non existent...bland. I had a conversation later with a young lady who picked up the plates and served the dessert about the shrimp dish. She said that it is one of the dishes she does not like and if asked tells patrons not to order it. Our waiter did not say anything. She said that the two best dishes, from her experiences, are the flatiron steak and the pot roast.

We decided after the dinner that we probably would not eat dinner at the Wawona Hotel again. However, if you are staying there and it is dinner time you have limited choices were to eat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would have happily paid for my breakfast, had it not been included in the price of our room! Such a sweet deal!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank smcrawford38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice on the veranda”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for dinner having walked around Mariposa.

I was bit concerned that they would not let us in for dinner as we looked a bit scruffy. However, this need not have troubled me. The man at the desk could not have been more helpful and got us a table within 30 minutes and we waited on comfy seats on the veranda drinking cocktails. He was also very helpful when I could not find the ladies toilet.

We had dinner on the veranda. The portions were enormous so make sure that you are feeling hungry. The food was good.

We really enjoyed our evening here and it felt quite special.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food for in-park dining”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Yummy burgers and garlic fries! The service was super-friendly and attentive. And a perfect hot fudge sundae to finish. Very good American food!

Helpful?
Thank Seamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Trees Lodge Dining Room also viewed

 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Big Trees Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing