We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eating”

Mountain Room Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: At The Mountain Room Restaurant, you will take in astounding views of the nearly 2500 foot high waterfall. The menu offers perfectly cooked steaks, sustainably caught seafood, and mouthwatering pasta dishes. The restaurant is open year-round.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best eating”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

See main review of the Yosemite Lodge.
Very good restaurant and service was excellent.
Courteous waiters, clean and inviting room.
Reasonable prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheTessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    255
    114
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Work Retreat in Beautiful Yosemite”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place for a sit down dinner. Not a long wait, staff very accommodating, food very tasty and large American portions. Not a lot of options in the park, but this is a good one!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoodKarmaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Watch out for the gluten free menu”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have to agree with many of the reviews pointing to the same thing: mediocre food at high prices. Being this is the only sit down restaurant, unless you packed a gold brick for the Ahawahee, you’ll be eating here after a long day of hiking. The entrees at the Ahawahee appear to be about $15 to $25 more.

To start the meal I had a foo-foo mixed drink ($10) that was mostly vodka with no taste of the other ingredients.

The salads and soups are priced separately, so we skipped that.

My trout almandine (frozen) was good with fresh crisp vegetables and rice. For $21 it would have been nice to have another touch to the dish.

The trouble was my wife ordered the hamburger patty, chips and toppings off the gluten free menu. Either it was not prepared correctly or a side dish was added accidentally as she was up all night. Her other meals that day were what we had brought, so we are sure they were the offender.

Among the positive comments, the crème breulee for dessert was perfect and the service was very friendly and fast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Not a cheap eat but we loved the atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food was lovely. The included breads were all gone in double quick time....yumm!!!!! The kids meals included ice cream that my ice cream manic 6 year old couldn't get through. View out of picture windows was lovely. You can't make reservations so turn up at 5pm and wait until you are seated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Limited choices...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a scenic location, but we were seated near the kitchen, so there was no view.

Because of the location if you want a resturant meal you have only a few options. We visited in mid-September and it was packed. Service was unsatisfactory, but not because they weren't trying. September is supposed to be outside peak visitation, so I can only imagine what it must be like in peak times...We had a 6:30 reservation and were not served until 8:30. We did get drinks and appetizers sooner, but the entrees came at 8:30. The waiter was almost literally running from table to table. He tried hard and was very nice and helpful. The kitchen couldn't keep up either. BIG problems! Staffing levels likely an issue, and poor management of the kitchen probably key.

We were eating such full meals that by dinner I went with salads and soup. These were OK, but really pretty much lost interest by the time they arrived.

For a second night we went a little earlier, and service, although slow, was better.

My suggestion: you might either stick with the cafeteria or get your dinner in the bar. The bar is slow enough just to get a drink, but it's not as frantic as the Montain Room. The cafeteria has zero ambiance, but you can get in and out quickly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soars37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Room Restaurant also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Mountain Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing