We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must-See” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room

The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Village Drive
Transit: Stop #3 on complimentary Yosemite Valley Shuttle route.
Description: With towering 34-foot high ceilings, enormous pine trestles and granite pillars, the chandelier-lit The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room is as spectacular as it is inviting. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served each day as well as our legendary Sunday Brunch. The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room offers the finest dining in all of Yosemite National Park.
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must-See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The place is a must-see if you're in Yosemite Valley. You will stand in awe when you first see the building and the restaurant, as they are both so majestic and beautiful. Because there were ten of us for dinner to celebrate a birthday, we had a great time. The food is good, no one was disappointed nor was anyone over-the-top excited about it. No doubt, we'll go back again because of it's ambience and specialness.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    504
    274
    118
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here for lunch. The people we traveled with said you had to have lunch at the Ahwahnee. The food is very average and the service is average. We always felt like our waiter thought he was doing us a big favor.

Helpful?
Thank kas25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful dining room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate dinner here during out stay in Yosemite. The service was great, both servers were very friendly. We ate later than the shuttles ran (we stayed at Curry Village) because we hiked all day and the server helped us get a ride back. There is a dress code, I wore jeans and a shirt, it was a hiking trip so that was the nicest I had and it wasn’t an issue. The food was so good. I ordered the lobster pizza with spinach and a margarita. It was VERY expensive so I wouldn’t eat there more than once but it atmosphere and the really good food after a long day on the trails made it a nice treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luckysgirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great, Food okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came for our Anniversary and the atmosphere didn't disappoint--however, not only was the service terrible, our food was just so-so. Our waitress was a nice lady, but she must have had something on her mind as she didn't know the menu, got our orders wrong, forgot our salad, re-filled the wrong drink--and rejected our Gift Card which I had just loaded the day before! My husband had a pasta dish and I had the steak. It was tasty enough, small portions for sure, but very nothing to write home about. If you go, go for the atmosphere, not the food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbgtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Avoid the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, and found the food to be remarkably bad, especially considering the expense. Any home town diner can prepare better than this. The cooks (I can't call them chefs) seem to have no pride at all. Vegetarians are advised to not even consider this hotel. For example, one of our evenings consisted of a private dinner for about 15 and the vegetarians were simply served a bowl of overcooked vegetable chunks. On another evening, for $37 I ordered "pulled pork on pasta". The pasta was an undercooked, congealed lump with a small covering of nearly flavorless pork.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room also viewed

Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to The Majestic Yosemite Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing